April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Little Mischief Makers

by netguy204 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Collect tools, dig holes, steal keys, and make a big mess before time runs out!

Ever lost your keys? You're the little creature responsible. Ever see a broken piece of furniture? You did that too. You're the reason the world is always running a little late and is always going to the hardware store.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#66Audio3.55
#240Humor2.65
#271Mood2.98
#321Fun3.02
#341Overall3.13
#361Graphics3.00
#479Theme2.96
#503Innovation2.76

Comments

Darkfrost says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:18am

Awesome game!
This was really good fun! Took me a while to work out what I was meant to be doing though :p Got really awesome when I found the horizontal cutter/digger thing :D

Only suggestion would be to make the movement a little more responsive, maybe just a constant velocity horizontally instead of the acceleration? Felt a little sluggish at times!

Great work! :D

eburn184 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:20am

Cute game, and fun music. It seems to be a bit inspired by Minecraft. My only complaint is that the gravity seemed a bit odd to me, but nice job overall

kirbytails7 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:33am

Very nice! I liked having the ability to place blocks after digging them up, very Minecraft-esque.

BenW says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:37am

Catchy music. It could use some sound effects though. Also I think you can just spawn blocks and destroy them to abuse the score system. Also it would be nice if there were some sort of end goal.

angrygeometry says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:45am

for some reason this ran stupidly slow on my computer. gonna try and fix this and come back to it!

jeffz says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:46am

great music, I love jazzy tunes with platformers

Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:38pm

Good one. A bit sticky on the corners of blocks, maybe trim the corners off your collision model on the player.

Norgg says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:05pm

Nice! Had to play through a few times until I'd got all of the keys, was slightly disappointed that nothing happened when I did. Sort of love/hate how bumping into an edge while jumping slows you down so you can only make it up one tile.

Lidfrid says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:14pm

i really enjoy this game, but i think this is too dispersive at some point!
Good work though :)

oldtopman says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:17pm

Cool game, though the timer is a bit high. Music is really well done! 4/5

spilth says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:19pm

Nicely put together little sandbox game, especially the music :-D I figured out that you can jump and place blocks underneath you, but it seems limiting that you can't dig to the side of yourself?

Fireblend says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:26am

Nicely done! I liked the graphics and although the controls were a bit clunky and sluggish. The concept made up for it though, with the digging and minecraft-like building mechanics. I enjoyed it :D

envy3d says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:56am

Good, different game. I had a lot of trouble finding my way around the map, but I assume that's the point.

Vic says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:06am

Good music! I had fun digging around and placing new objects :).

Evgis says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 11:52am

Pretty good game, music is fantastic. Good job!

artefon says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 1:04pm

Cool game! Reminded me of Lemmings. It would be nice to see how much blocks I've got left. The acceleration in the movements gives a weird feel but it doesn't affect the fun :)

jeffz says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:29pm

felt like it could have been faster with tighter physics.

Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:35pm

Nice, seems well put together. Only thing that might need some rework would be the controls and its responsiveness. I like the direction of the concept, and i loved the physics/momentum that occurs when building and moving upwards - hilarious :) Music was also cool!

Waffenwars says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 2:40pm

nice game, although a bit hard to find out without instructions (didn't see any if there were). I got 11 out of 12 keys once i figured out how to get the dig sideways tool. I think it would have been better to just have all the tools from the start.

toadd-y says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 3:29pm

Fun but starting to be a bit bored by game where you need to build stuffs like minecraft.

Tom 7 says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 4:11pm

Cute and fun. I liked drilling and making blocks the best, though one of the keys I don't see how to get to because I can't drill to the side (and what does the fist do?). I felt like the jumping physics were a bit off. Music fit well.

NefariousZhen says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 4:24pm

I love the music. Well done!

caranha says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 4:25pm

The sound, the game idea, the sprite, this game has a general feel of smugness on it that is very proper of a little guy wanting to cause trouble.

That said, whoever has 12 keys spread through the house should be expecting some trouble :-)

I really liked the game, and I loved the idea of the hidden flamethrower (which I didn't find my first time around). The only complaint that I have is that the player is a bit too bouncy, which makes him hard to control. But other than that, great game!

Apr 29, 2012 @ 8:14pm

good stuff man :) the bassline is the best aswell :)

dr_soda says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 8:28pm

It took me a while to figure out just what was going on in this game. I'm still not entirely sure I get what the various items are for. Is the empty hand useless? Does it do something?

I did enjoy the digging mechanic though it took me a while to realize that I was able to rebuild steps for myself. Once I figured out that I could materialize steps underneath me in the middle of a jump, the world felt like it opened up... but without that knowledge I felt like I was just digging myself into traps that I couldn't possibly escape from. I think the problems with the game are more a matter of discoverability of your powers than anything else.

Nice game!

netguy204 says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 8:38pm

dr_soda: yeah, the empty hand doesn't do anything. In my devplan it's for unplugging lamps and messing with the light switches. That didn't make it to production though. I agree on the discoverability. I need to do some clever intro level design to force the player into situations that make them think about what's in their bag.

Tourgen says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 9:21pm

great music, I couldnt figure out what the mitten tool did. I assume that's just me though and everything was working alright.

Thotep says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 9:20pm

It could be fun, but weird physics ruins it for me. Nice music though!

yoklov says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 11:11pm

Heh, very fun :). Stellar music, the physics could use some work (i'd guess the biggest problem with insisting on realistic physics is that people can't jump that high, so you'd have to turn down gravity to make it usable)

Lispers unite!

volando says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 7:04am

I liked it. I loved the music, but couldn't figure out how to use the punch thing? I would used another controls layout. I would change the tool with z and use with x. That would be my cup of tea. But had a charm time. :)

azurenimbus says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 10:51pm

I enjoyed the music and the look of the game, but had some trouble controlling my character. He seemed unreasonably heavy and slow for a platformer, and there were some collision detection problems with the blocks. All of these are easy to fix, though!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]