Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 23

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Dino Wrangler - MaskedPixel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

REGARDING MUSIC: When I entered this, the game had music, and the music was REALLY good. I didn't produce it. I had tried but failed misserably so threw in a mod file out of frustration without thinking about the fact that I DIDN'T produce it. I HAVE SINCE REMOVED MUSIC BECAUSE OF THIS. I don't feel that the skewed ratings will matter so that is why the game is still up. If it happens that this game does well, I am asking now to be removed from the top list because I did not get there on equal grounds as everyone else who entered.

Wrangle all the Dinosaurs!

The extinction of the Dinosaurs millions of years ago was inevitable until you, Alec, discovered efficient time travel. Now you must wrangle them all out of harms way!

Because Dinosaurs!!!1!!111

GamePlay:

RESTART A LEVEL any time by pressing R. Handy when you launch a dinosaur way off screen :)

You must move all the dinosaurs to the labeled planet. The level ends when you have landed on the labeled planet with all of the dinosaurs on it.

Escape to return to main menu.
R to restart he level.
WASD/Arrow Keys
Space or Control Jump.
Shift launches the dinosaurs.

There is no 'end' screen. It just plays the last level over and over... Time is a pain. Should be mostly bug free :D

View MaskedPixel's journal. | View all entries by MaskedPixel

Ratings

#82Humor3.29
#203Graphics3.42
#236Theme3.40
#245Audio2.95
#253Innovation3.31
#280Overall3.23
#308Fun3.04
#366Mood2.76
#651Coolness48%

Comments

MaskedPixel says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:42am

I needed to edit this but can't figure out how...
Some of the planets are large enough that you will need to slingshot yourself from them to reach escape velocity.

The difficulty curve is steeper than I would like, but in the timeframe allotted it's ok...

Save the Dinosaurs!

Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:18am

Jumping from planet to planet is fun, and the music fits beautifully. It's a bit hard, though.

jvanbaarsen says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:37pm

Im missing the source of your game? So i wont rate it this time.. But when you add the source, ill rate it.

mess110 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:43pm

coolo

smvilar says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:51pm

Nice mechanic!!

davidllanos22 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:51pm

Fly dino, flyyyyyyy! nice game, I love the music and the art!

Endurion says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:52pm

Nice idea. Took me a while to figure out how to control the angle of the dinosaur. Weird, but gets repetetive in the long run.
Very polished!

chinchang says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:35pm

nice luk and feel...gameplay was tough though.

gormio says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:55pm

This was great fun!

Sos says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:18pm

Gravity is tricky! But launching dinos is totally fun!

wzl says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:36pm

Nice entry, apparently there should be music. It didn't load for me, so i voted audio n/a. If you now how it can be fixed drop me a message and i'll adjust the vote ;)
The dino launching mechanic is pretty fun, but the controls of the guy are awkward when walking around the planet.

Sorry to mention it here, but do you have by chance an intel graphics adapter? My game didn't run on my machine and i'm trying to figure the reason. Would be nice if you could contact me via twitter.com/wzl_ or @wzl in the #ludumdare chat. ty =]

Shadow says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 1:08am

Interesting entry. Didn't hear music, only sfx, so I'm not rating that (from the comments I guess I should be hearing something though). Nice entry overall. Liked it.

jwolf says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 8:57pm

Pretty fun concept!

Minor bug:
The rocket sound effect keeps playing if it's on when you switch levels.

crazyheckman says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 9:02pm

Hilarious and awesome. Difficulty was really up there but it was a lot of fun watching the dinosaurs just swing around planets.

AD-Edge says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 10:16am

I get the feeling this will probably be in my top 4 games of LD23, really nice work!

I loved jumping around, the way it worked was very intuitive and it was a lot of fun to play. I found myself not just rushing to get though it so I could get onto other entries, but actually playing it for the enjoyment. Satisfying, those rare times when you time a jump perfectly to intersept and kick an Dino flying around in orbit around one of the planets.

Pity theres no music however, even if you didnt make it, it would have added to the game nicely.

My only main suggestion would be to make it so the camera zooms out when you go off screen, that way you can still see where you are + any dinos out in a far orbit youd want to chase down. Plus I was expecting some black holes being thrown in there as well or some other objects that repel the player, just to mix things up (Im not sure if I made it to the last level though, so I might be wrong if those kinds of things are in there)

Draknek says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 4:31pm

First level was way trickier than it should have been

Took me a while to find the "hit dinosaur" button.

Controls are awkward but I got used to them.

dokidoki says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 4:01am

Nice to see a gravity mechanic where you have to launch other items. It was fun, I played to the end.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]