Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 23

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Nano Spin - bitbof - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In a world inhibited by nanobots you have to get from A to B. But how? Rumor has it there is a lot of spinning involved.

This is my third game here at Ludum Dare.

Everything is explained in game.
Have Fun.

made using:
Libgdx, Photoshop, Ableton Live, Sfxr

View bitbof's journal. | View all entries by bitbof

Ratings

Coolness92%
#33Innovation4.04
#61Fun3.63
#61Overall3.77
#66Audio3.55
#208Mood3.09
#228Graphics3.35
#606Theme2.65
#632Humor1.84

Comments

keenblaze says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:37pm

Simple and great! Love this type of games

ratboy2713 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:37pm

Very fun, however it is quite large (too big to fit in my browser) and at that size runs very slowly. Still, great concept and love the music.

Acheron says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:17pm

The spinning mechanic is a nice concept. Controls are rather wonky, but still rather neat.

cantorfew says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:00pm

I liked this. I thought two of the levels were too similar (the tree and inverted tree) but then realised how much I learned between these levels. So I think it was a good difficulty ramp.

I'm not sure if this is intentional but its really hard to aim properly while spinning (holding space).

hulahulahest says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:13pm

Fun game, but it screwed up the color balance on my monitor after closing! Bad!

Taugeshtu says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:25pm

This was awesome expirience! Thank you for that joy, and curse on you for making it so short!) I want moar!!!

KevinZuhn says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:02am

Navigating the world as an awkwardly long stringamajig was great! It's like an arthritic version of snake. There needs to be more!

It would be nice if something marked the end goals of the level, there were a few times I didn't know where to go or thought I had already reached the end.

the8donut says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:53am

Fun mechanics, clever level design, and sweet art style and music. Good job!

Lidfrid says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:38am

Very good game, cool concept and realization!

Mago says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:57am

The game surprised me very positively. Nice idea and realization.

piterlouis says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:03pm

Excellent game, you have five stars in innovation!. Good work.

Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:12pm

Excellent! As of right now, best LD23 game I've played! Great concept, great execution! I got stuck on the puzzle with the giant room full of white balls.

vrld says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:15pm

Simple, yet very effective. This is how a ludum dare game should be.

tequibo says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:30pm

Interesting mechanics, but controls are confusing, sometimes direction is unpredictable. And I think it would be nice if there was some visual indication of goal on each level.

bitbof says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:49pm

@KevinZuhn and @tequibo
The goal emits waves that are visible in the background. I guess it's too subtle a hint for people to notice.

zenasprime says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:03pm

The game didn't load in Safari for Mac. :(

hungyg says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:03pm

The spinning thing is good, the graphics are great, on one hand. On the other, it has got nothing to do with the theme, the controls are illogical (or at least I don't see the sense in which end I'm controlling when), and the music is rather annoying.

NateNaterson says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:07pm

Great game! Got very frustrating sometimes but there's a lot of great concepts going on.

Endurion says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:14pm

Good, simple idea!

The controls felt a bit too slow. Other than that, solid game.

naufr4g0 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:21pm

Graphics is simple but cool!
Spinning mechanic is an innovative concept.
I haven't played all levels but I can see a good design. :)
Good work!

vilya says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:37pm

Couldn't get this working on Linux. I don't have lwjgl installed and installing it looks like it would pull in a lot of extra dependencies. :-( I'll try again on my MacBook when I get home.

Julian Ceipek says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:11pm

Didn't get past a white empty screen (after downloading a bunch of java related files) in Chrome and Firefox on Mac OS X Lion. Clicking on the empty screen redirected me to http://bitbof.com/

natpat says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:18pm

I liked it! Cool concept and the simple artwork works as it is.

demonpants says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 5:20pm

Hmm, links appear to be dead.

omaha says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 5:23pm

this was terrific! I too made a game with libgdx, glad to see more of us here :) I couldn't get the webgl version to run on my linux machine (chrome 18), but the desktop version played perfectly.

Apr 26, 2012 @ 5:29pm

Great concept! really nice and calm, and the controls were very well done.

FlaxenFlash says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:18pm

Really loved this, simple and beautiful. The only thing I would have made would be to give more precise control over the way the spinning works however it is only a minor point and I thought the rest of the controls were great. I hope you make more of this!

AlwaysGeeky says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 2:36am

Nice concept, executed well. I like this! :)

pighead10 says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 5:49pm

Should have focused less on the frustrating parts trying to get the long chain through the narrow sections and more on the spinning, but still enjoyable. Nice graphics.

Jiddo says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 5:56pm

Really, really, really liked this game, definitely in my top three right now! The gameplay mechanic is very simple, but in a "why didn't I think of that?" kind of way. It is put to good use in the different levels which have a large variation of puzzles. I would just have changed the turning speed a bit for those situations when more than 45 degree accuracy is needed. Right now it is kind of hard to get the right positioning sometimes. I really liked the way the pivot switched from head to head, felt very natural to control.

A very good example of coming up with a great core mechanic and polishing the hell out of it, great job!

Apr 28, 2012 @ 12:52am

Only LD23 game I've played twice, was stuck last time, beat it this time! Love the mechanic. :)

Apr 30, 2012 @ 9:38pm

Neat mechanic!

vilya says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 1:37am

Came back to this on a different machine to see if I had better luck getting it running. Glad I did - it's a really nice game. The audio in particular is very atmospheric and it's really interesting concept. Good work!

MadGnomeGamer says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 2:53am

I came to this purely because your avatar caught my eye! True story.
.........................20 minutes and counting, waiting for it to load................................................

Oh for CHRISSAKES! It failed to load!

Looks cool, anyways.

Dr.Pingu says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 11:49am

I've never taken LSD, but I think I can imagine the thing now.

More seriously, why did you choose to have the background color changing ? This is a good idea but misused in my opinion.

The rest of the game is a classic very well done.

Good job :)

chambers says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 1:02am

I enjoyed the game a lot, the rules are very well explained and you learn them by yourself, with no need for tutorials. There's also some emergent gameplay; what you first learned as an action that let you transverse gaps is eventually used as a solution to aligning your character and moving in right angles. The last level was pretty hard and I probably wouldn't have found the exit if I hadn't read your comment in response to KevinZuhn and tequibo.

Anyway, congrats on the game, really original and fun!

Angerus says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 2:30pm

I love the concept and the main idea ! And this was well realize too ! A very good job !

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]