Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Bottlecolonies

by tcstyle - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Place the buildings of tiny bottle world colonists. Unfortunately the different colonist factions don't like each other that much.
All handdrawn graphics and handmade guitar soundtrack.

For windows just unzip and run "Bottlecolonies.exe". Linux users should get it working with starting Bottlecolonies.py.

Made with python2.6 and pygame.

Btw, my highscore in level 1 is 126.

** Update: **

There is now a post-compo version available which includes some of the suggested improvements made in the comments.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#31Graphics4.22
#60Overall3.78
#86Mood3.42
#96Audio3.39
#117Fun3.44
#138Theme3.60
#174Innovation3.49
#513Humor2.09

Comments

ratking says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:47am

I loved the graphics, neat style!

volando says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:17am

Pretty cool game, liked it very much.

wzl says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:21am

Very cute, nice art design, solid gameplay. Quite hard to reach the goal.
I'd love a silouhette so you see where you're placing your tiles.
Neat concept, good job :D

Mago says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:57pm

I'm very impressed by the graphic. Interesting idea. Music after some time begins to annoy a little but it's ok. It is really hard to reach goal.

JaJ says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:07pm

very, very charming game.

orgarus says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:18pm

Hi! An excellent idea!
The good: the gameplay and the graphics.
The good (but less): the music, it's a bit repetitive.
But overall a great game ¡congratulations!

Lidfrid says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:23pm

Relaxing, charming game!! Awesome.
Good job :)

Proch says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:25pm

one of the best game so far... AND-I-LOVE-THE-GRAPHIC-STYLE

Matt Rudder says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:48pm

Cool art style.

AlwaysGeeky says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:14pm

I LOVE the art style and direction, its a lot like the cool iPhone games in the style of doodles :) excellent stuff

bms says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:54pm

Great idea! loved the graphics and gameplay xD

Jedi says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:01am

I really like the charming graphical style. I also like the music and guitar-sound-effects. It does a very good job of setting a laid-back mood.

uprightpath says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:32am

My primary problem with the game is the fact that the grid is off-sized (It sort of implies that you can move things a half-step in a direction) and that there is no placement indicator. So I often ended up misplacing things.

Otherwise, it was pretty great.

Hazard says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:08pm

Interesting idea and nice style. Greetings from Hannover, btw. :)

JustinMullin says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:58pm

Very nicely done. Love the art - hand-drawn is hit or miss for me, but this was totally hit. Neat idea!

Jigxor says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:24am

I loved the overall presentation. Graphics, sound and music all fitted together very well, and individually were all extremely well created. It's nice to hear some guitar!

The mechanic was very interesting, and I can see how if you spent a long time playing you'd be able to master it and come up with some good strategies. It had a lot of depth to it.

Really great game. Nice work :)

ElzingaT says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 8:54pm

I really like the colored pencil art style on this, it looks really good.

CappaGames says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 8:41pm

Awesome graphics and unique gameplay concept.

tcstyle says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 10:18am

Thanks a lot for the comments and ratings so far. Actually I'm working on a post-compo version which fixes some of the issues stated here. There will be:
- a marker where you'll actually build
- additional music track(s)

summaky says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 1:53pm

The art style is awesome as it is the guitar background music.

BenW says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 2:51pm

I wish I could see where I was placing buildings, but it wasn't really a big deal. I had a lot of fun and it was challenging.

Tifu says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 3:23pm

Great game! Quite challenging to get the prosperous score, but not frustratingly hard to get the adequate victory, a good balance there I think.
My only criticisms would be the same as others about misplacing blocks due to the grid, but a marker would fix this as you are apparently doing, so great :D

OrangeeZ says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 7:20pm

got 97 :D
it isn't exactly my type of game, but it is still a really well done one.

Spiridios says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 7:29pm

Fun puzzler. Definitely need some feedback on where your current construction is going to be placed, especially on the larger pieces. Music was slightly repetitive, but was overall a good addition.

BlackDogg says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 7:29pm

Same as the others, some kind of square or rectangle to see where I'm about to build would be a major addition but still it's a cool game, nice gameplay and I really like the art and the way it's spread all around the game.

someone says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 7:46pm

Nice game. I like the artwork and the music is nice.
It would be helpful to have an indicator for where the tile will go, especially for the larger tiles as they sometimes didn't go where I intended.

steamgirl says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 9:24pm

Wow! Seriously fun game! I really enjoyed it. Very interesting concept which is pulled off awesomely. Love the art, the audio, the gameplay itself, and the feel of the game. Good polish, totally playable, and I could see myself enjoying this sort of game again in the future.

Shame it was sometimes hard to place things and if only you had had more than 48 hours because there would be more levels! Couldn't get enough! :)

Apr 29, 2012 @ 3:58pm

I really love the concept on this one! It's like combining tetris with one of those building/colonizing games.

I think you've got a solid fun core in, but the only reason I quit was that I felt the game getting drawn out. A really good way to get the player to feel like he's progressing without adding too much content is to get things to chain-react and spiral as he gets deeper into the game.

For example, after I have placed a lot of blue settlements next to each other, they would all keep giving me score every turn, resulting in my score increasing exponentially during the game, which I think would be a lot more fun.

Other things you could try are maybe certain other special tiles or settlements. I'm not sure what the normal ground did if anything, but perhaps strategic stuff like..most of the tiles need to be placed away from other kinds, but what about a tile that gives you a super duper bonus if it's placed touching all 4 colours of settlements?

Most players would try to get them away from each other as far as possible, but it'd take some skill and be pretty fun to try and leave the possibility to keep them in close enough proximity to utilize this tile when it comes.

It's adding risk to the game, which is always fun!

kasarun says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 4:25pm

Cool game and nice graphics. Did you draw this on a paper?

Scott Baker says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 7:53pm

Nice game. If you add more levels, I would try to add the additional drop pieces as levels progress, like the grey buildings only come into play in level three, small greenery comes into play in level two, large in level 4, etc, etc.

Nice music, fits a lot of "hand drawn" or stick figure games you see these days.

Apr 29, 2012 @ 8:28pm

I love this entry! I just wished it had more levels!

Here are some thoughts I had while playing:

* To me the writing GET: 100 implies that I need to get 100 points to finish the level which had me confused for a while as I finished levels even if I didn't have "enough" points. Being more explicit about it being some sort of high-score would be nice. Also I would place the score count next to it to make it easier to compare and understand the relation.

* The discard button didn't make much sense to me at first as I would loose 20 points from using it but placing a building in a bad place would at the most cost me 4 points. But after realizing there are situations where you can't place 1x2 parks, I appreciate the necessity. It still seems like a boarder case for me as a player but I'm not sure how one would go about designing around it and it's only my humble opinion. :)

* One case where it did something unnecessary though is when there's no possible way you can place a 1x2 or 2x1 park but one is still added to the list. It happened to me a few times and it felt a bit frustrating as I couldn't do anything about it.

* Loosing the game reaching a score of zero seemed a bit arbitrary to me and it didn't really seem to fill any function. I think the game would work just as well without it as the motivation for playing don't seem to be surviving the level but more getting the highest score possible which is the real challenge.

* As have been said before, some special bonuses would be nice but I still think it would hold up as it is now with a few more levels.

All in all, a really great entry. Nice concept that was fun to play. The graphics fit the game well and so did the music (which reminded me of the soundtrack for Dwarf Fortress which I'm very found of).

Awesome work!

tcstyle says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 7:21am

@ 4urentertainment:
Thanks for this in depth review. I'll try to add some of your suggestion to the post-compo version. Especially the idea with a tile that gives a bonus only for having all four colours adjacent sounds great.

@ kasarun:
Yes, it was all drawn on real paper with artist pens and coloured pencils.

@ Jesper Oskarsso:
I really appreciate your detailled comment. Helps me to improve the post-compo version. I thought the mechanic to keep in mind that the bigger tiles have to be placed in the end, hence the dicard button, quite essential. Will think about it again. I'm already working on additional levels with some twist in the map layout.
After finishing the guitar track I was also reminded of the Dwarf Fortress soundtrack. Wasn't intended in first place but I think it fits great here.

Now I'm off to play and rate the games of you who commented here. Thanks again.

Apr 30, 2012 @ 2:05pm

This game works on many levels! Good Job

robcozzens says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 2:22am

Pretty cool. I think it took too long to finish a level.
BTW, the Linux one worked on OSX for me.

mooosh says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 10:09pm

loved the graphics, this was really fun!

Jiddo says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 11:28am

Cool game, truly lovely graphics. The background music was nice as well. The gameplay was very cool as well, even tho I didn't really get the point of the park thingies.

ericdpitts says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 9:34pm

Very awesome game, great job! I loved the art style and the music, and I liked the implementation of the theme. Loved it, awesome work!

kelp says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 10:08am

Great game with nice music.

Orni says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 10:19am

maybe the best puzzle game this ludum dare

Make A Game says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 10:00pm

Relaxing gameplay although I found it extremely hard to reach the objective score. Really enjoyed the hand drawn graphics. Great job!

May 10, 2012 @ 3:49am

Lovely, really charming game. Love the aesthetics and the gameplay is great.

rvmook says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 10:31am

Cool game and nice graphics. Some more variation in the music would be nice, but other then that it was real fun to play

pighead10 says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 2:55pm

Liked the graphics, but the music gets annoying. Interesting idea.

Dr.Pingu says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 4:01pm

this is killed by avast

tcstyle says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 7:05pm

@dr. pingu
Probably caused by the filename '...exe.zip'.
Noted too late that this could cause problems with antivirus software. In case you have python and pygame installed you could try the source/linux zip.

Andrew says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 8:44pm

A very solid entry, appeals to the Carcassonne player in me. Couldn't beat your level 1 highscore though.

Krisjet says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 10:16am

Very cool. This graphical style really worked well, and the whole "handmade" feeling even came through in the music. Well done!

caranha says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 12:55am

A very cool game -- I liked the puzzle and its rules, and the music and graphics go well together for a very nice environment.

One thing that would improve the game (you probably already did it in the post-compo) is a "shadow" to show where a tile will fall - this is specially important for 2-tiles parks.

Thanks for the game!

SonnyBone says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 8:29pm

Pretty dang good all around! Good work!

Sestren says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 9:30pm

I love the visual style, and the puzzle mechanic is simple, but very fun. Great entry all around!

May 13, 2012 @ 11:08pm

Lovely atmosphere. The graphics were really really good and the music was very nice too ^^
The gameplay was interesting, but a little difficult to understand. Not that it was difficult too play, but it took me some time to understand what the smartest moves were and by that time it was too late and my formations were going bad and I couldn't make the first level :( I think the main problem is that the feedback of bad choices is only reflected much later than when you make the bad choices, because it takes quite some moves until the 'villages' grow too close together and only then can you see that you made a mistake before..

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]