April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

LittleEarth's Last Stand

by j0n - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"LittleEarth's Last Stand" is a Missile-Command style arcade game with 4 levels + an infinite challenge mode which is unlocked after completing the main 4 levels.
Also features Kittens!

View the README file for details on how to compile the code and Licensing info.
This was made using flixel so should be easy to compile on any platform.

Edit: Now available on kongregate, changed my web link to point to this. This is the original version without modifications.

Thanks and enjoy!
- j0n

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#222Humor2.71
#325Fun3.00
#349Audio2.69
#396Mood2.73
#493Theme2.93
#541Overall2.79
#707Graphics2.34
#758Innovation2.17

Comments

lapogo says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:47pm

Having some odd problems attacking the red ships, the game doesn't seem to detect hits properly.

j0n says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:04pm

lapogo: Thanks for the feedback! I should explain that the bullets will always explode at the area to which you are aiming when you fire, even if the bullet meets an enemy ship along the way. Also the red ships don't burst into particles when they die like the rocks do, so that might be causing some confusion? It is very possible that the collision detection between explosions and ships isn't 100% accurate but I didn't notice during testing. I'll investigate this for future versions.

Thanks,
j0n.

Sodaware says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:47pm

Harder than it looks, but fun. The kittens were a neat addition :) Got a little laggy with a lot on screen, but doesn't detract from the gameplay too much.

j0n says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:09pm

Cool thanks Sodaware!

miharbi says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:08pm

Great Game, music was awesome really fit into the "this is their last stand" feel of the game

j0n says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:45pm

miharbi: Cheers! :D

Apr 26, 2012 @ 5:57am

The collision with the planet seems to be with a bounding box, so near misses graphically can actually be hits on the planet?

Also, the hit box of the objects you shoot at is too centered in them; its possible to graphically seem to be hitting but be missing if you're off-center?

mess110 says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 5:59am

nice

roundcrisis says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 4:47pm

Awesome cats :D

robcozzens says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 9:06am

Pretty cool.

evilseanbot says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 9:36am

The moody piano theme made the whole thing a lot more heroic somehow. Had some issues with lag as the kittens multiplied.

domrein says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 7:42pm

Holy crap. My entry also features missiles and kitties in outer space. You get 5 stars on everything. http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-23/?action=preview&uid=12960

Jiddo says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 2:42pm

This was a fun little game. I love the addition of the kittens to what would otherwise be a bit too minimalistic. Good work!

Nolan C says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 4:08pm

Collision detection seemed a little off sometimes... otherwise good game.

starpixie says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 5:19pm

It would be nice if there was more progression or if the win condition was more telegraphed.

May 5, 2012 @ 5:33pm

Bullets only exploding at the area where you aim is a little wonky imo. I also had nearly voted before I read the comment (Thinking the hit testing just failed). Otherwise, not bad.

May 5, 2012 @ 6:12pm

The music was creepy, adding a lot of mood to your game. The missile command shooting style reminded me my old Atari 5200. :D

Make A Game says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 6:15pm

Some weird hitbox issues, but fun!

Rabbits... says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 11:27pm

I wish gameplay were longer...I unleashed the cat swarm... 2659 point total...

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]