April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Tiny Bomber

by naufr4g0 - Jam Entry

The game is a sort of puzzle game that uses bombs and sand!
Use sand to reach places not reachable with only your jumping ability!
You have one life and you start over when you lose.
Don't worry about this: the game is really short.
Have fun!

Controls:
---------
Arrow R/L: move
Arrow Up: jump
Arrow Down: crouch
X : throw bomb
Arrow Down + X: place bomb
Arrow Up + X: throw up bomb
ESC: exit game
Enter: Retry on game over.

post-Jam release:
F1-F8: Select screen size
F10: Toggle fullscreen

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#9Innovation(Jam)4.00
#15Fun(Jam)3.74
#55Overall(Jam)3.53
#86Graphics(Jam)3.63
#91Mood(Jam)3.05
#103Humor(Jam)2.56
#150Audio(Jam)2.52
#199Theme(Jam)2.45

Comments

ziomorti says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:43am

Really, really cool and innovative. Made me wish for more :D

Lidfrid says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:02am

Gooood Job!! :D

Catman says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:03pm

Really cute and nice! Awesome physics!

Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:58am

Fun idea, the controls felt weird, I was throwing bombs everywhere like a mad woman.

nornagon says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:58am

Couldn't play on OSX 10.6 :(

Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:42am

I wanted to play it, but unfortunately it crashes on load for me with OS X 10.7.3 :(

bms says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:55am

I really liked the innovative gameplay and deformable terrrain. But I had problems with aiming the bombs and very limited bombs.. Great game though. Congrats!

orgarus says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:48am

Great, great, great, game!
Bomb and exploration! What else can I say? :)
It took me about two minutes to leave the first room (aim the bomb to the borther of the floor on the right is not easy) but is a good training for the next stages! :D
Nothing bad to say here.

Bravissimo!

orgarus says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:52am

Oh! I forgot it!

Only for your information, it didn't worked in my Mac and in my vmware windows 7 neither (msvcr100.dll error, I tried to download and install it without success).
I've tested in another PC with XP and finally can play it.

Cheers!

naufr4g0 says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:00am

@nornagon @Steve Cochrane : I'm sorry! OSX release wasn't made by me. I have to tell it to the guy who compiled the source for OSX. I hope I can release soon a working file.

@TheGamingProject @bms @orgarus Thanks for your feedback! I'm happy you like the game, despite the difficult control system.

onehandclap says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:02pm

Well done! =D

naufr4g0 says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:28pm

A new build for OSX was just added. I hope it works! :)

leafo says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 5:39am

aww "You have Mac OS X 10.6.8. The application requires Mac OS X 10.7 or later."

machinas says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 5:40am

seems like there's something cool here that just needs a bit more work. i had some trouble getting the bombs to go where i wanted to, particularly where jumping and throwing the bombs upwards overlaps. some tutorialization of what's destructible and how sand works would be good. i broke through the floor in the first room thinking i could go out that way, but it was a dead end. had fun playing. Oh, also ran into an issue where bombs would go through thin pieces of terrain. the limitation of number of bombs makes this a bit harsher of a puzzler. wonder what it would be like to play with infinite bombs.

namuol says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 6:29am

Got somewhat far but couldn't seem to beat it -- kept ending up in a pit of despair. :[ Good fun otherwise. Nice work!

naufr4g0 says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 6:35am

@leafo: I'm sorry! I hope I can release a more compatible version. :/
@machinas: I know there are some bugs and I'm working to remove them. I'll release soon a new build. :) "Infinite bombs" are an interesting idea. I could add a cheat mode enabled by pressing a sequence of keys. :) As reguard the tutorials I could add some tutorial screens in the beginning part, with istructions written on the wall, like in the first screen.

AirRider3 says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:47pm

I'm not sure if I ended the game.

Well, great gameplay. I find it quite innovative, and it was really fun. I wish that there was a great designed level to play! If you ever do it, please, tell me!

naufr4g0 says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 5:22pm

@AirRider3 I'm happy you like so much the game you want more! :) I'm currently working on game debugging, but I haven't enlarged the map yet. Probably I will do that in the next few days. Meanwhile you may play editing the level with Tiled: (http://www.mapeditor.org/). Just load .tmx map :)

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 1:47am

Not really sure how this fits the theme... but the gameplay is neat. Needs some music or better sound effects to complete the package.

Misfit says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 6:50pm

Great idea, great game. Cool 8-bit retro style graphics and sfx. Good old "jumpman jr."-classic feeling.

scoopsy says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 8:39pm

Sorry, I can't play since I'm on on Snow Leopard and this requires Lion. Too bad, looks neat!

naufr4g0 says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 1:48am

@scoopsy: I've just added another os/x version that probably works also on Snow Leopard.

Jiggawatt says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 6:08pm

The concept is good, but the execution needs more love. The throwing is often awkward and the progression doesn't seem to be well thought out.

trylle says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 8:12pm

Cool game mechanics, love the art. A bit frustrating that it was so easy to get stuck, and then having to restart the whole thing, but I guess I'm just lazy. :D

naufr4g0 says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 8:45pm

@Jiggawatt @trylle: Thanks for your comments!
I know that the level design could be much more polished, but the technical part took me a long time to be mastered.
Expect in the future new releases of this game, with more features and better polished level maps. :)

Johnicholas says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 2:06pm

The tech (destructible world, falling sand) is great. The controls and puzzles were really irksome - it seemed like I had a 1 in 6 chance of making the bomb fly upward and stick like it is supposed to. The borders of the screen were annoying, too - sometimes you can go across a screen border (or fall through one) and sometimes you can't, or you just walk on an invisible surface.

someone says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 2:06pm

Great game! Deformable terrain + explosives = win.
It runs well in Wine. Its very easy to get stuck, and restarting from the beginning every time gets frustrating. You also didn't say in game how to restart when you do get stuck.
Also if you try to throw a bomb when there is already one in the world, it delays it to be thrown after the first one explodes, which is odd behavior. Took a while to figure out why bombs were randomly being launched.
I also managed to break it by getting out the top of the first screen.

RĂ©mi says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 3:03pm

Awesome physics!

dustmyte says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 12:18pm

It's amazing! Very impressive and a lot of fun! Nice run cycle, too :)

naufr4g0 says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 7:33pm

@Johnicholas @someone : I'm sorry for the bugs and the controls, I'm working hard to fix all of them. Anyway the "post-jam version" already fix many of this bugs. :)

@Rémi : I'm happy you like the physics. It's fun for me to simulate interacting particles! :)

@dustmyte: Thanks! I love to do small animated graphics! :)

manax says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 11:47pm

Really well done! One minor bug, bombs can sorta be queued up, so if you fire a bomb, hit X again before it's exploded, you'll launch another right after it explodes.

Good physics, challenging puzzles, cute hint.

Thotep says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 10:39pm

Cool idea, nice graphics, but bugs kinda broke it for me :( Hero threw bombs by himself...

naufr4g0 says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 10:46pm

@manax @Thotep : this auto-throwing bug has been fixed in the Post-Jam version. =)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]