Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 23

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Drop of Life - Shadow - Jam Entry

You play as bacteria in a drop of water fighting to survive on ground.

Finishing this game was a tough challenge. My friend (ilovepixel) and I had literally like 30 hours (no official count) to make it but we are proud of what we achieved.

That means we didn't have time to make music or sound effects for it, sorry.

I'll probably do a postmortem later but now I only want to sleep. Hope you all enjoy the game.

View Shadow's journal. | View all entries by Shadow

Ratings

Coolness100%
#34Innovation(Jam)3.66
#41Theme(Jam)3.55
#54Graphics(Jam)3.95
#71Overall(Jam)3.38
#88Fun(Jam)3.00
#142Humor(Jam)2.19
#145Mood(Jam)2.69
#203Audio(Jam)1.33

Comments

Darkfrost says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:51am

Nice! That's the first time I've seen game of life turned into a strategy game! Graphics looks great, really nice consistant art style :)


Good fun, nice job :D

ThatSnail says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:55am

Absolutely one of the greatest implementations of Conway's Game of Life ever. Was disappointed that the space was limited though but that's probably a whole lot better for balancing (R-Pentomino etc).

robbiehunt says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:39am

I did some undergraduate research in Cellular Automata... this is amazing!

I really truly enjoyed this and played for quite sometime, because it was fun! Needs sounds, and a couple of bug fixes. This is the kind of game that really needs to be shared with more people!

Lots of nerds out there would get a big kick out of this. I know I did.

seagaia says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:44am

Innovative implementation of the cellular automata stuff! Not my cup of tea for games, but others would definitely like this a lot.

Shadow says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:07pm

@robbiehunt Glad you enjoyed the game. We are actually aware of a few bugs (the game starts lagging after a while probably due to unallocated resources and the scroll becomes insufficient once the field reaches a certain size).
If you observe any other bug please let us know!.
We will probably do a post-jam version with music, sound, and perhaps enhanced game mechanics, so any idea or suggestion is welcome.
Thanks everyone who have played the game so far.

Shadow says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:27pm

Ok, before anyone picks up on the little mistake inside my previous post: It was "resources that are not being freed" instead of "unallocated resources".

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:27am

Wow, great way to spin the game of life! One note - the web player's resolution seems to be limited horizontally, it says there are enemy units left but I can't see them on the screen. It also says I have 64 units but I only see 12. Thanks for a cool game!

Orni says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:19am

turning game of life into an actual game is a brilliant idea - it's also well polished (only lacks sound and a few bugfixes)

well done !

Jezzamon says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 8:07am

I really liked the graphics of this game. This is probably the best implementation of Conway's Game of Life in a game that I've seen, and I've seen one before.

I had fun playing it, although it was a shame there was no definite end, or attainable goal. I managed to survive 75 round really easily (with peak of 116)

Daniel says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:50pm

Nice idea.
I like the game of life :)

MrDanH says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:28pm

Cool game, was quite a challenge planning how to expand towards the enemy units

marudziik says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:49pm

I've lived 94 rounds and reached a population peak of 87 cells. Pretty cool. I've seen similar games during my first LD, but I think this one would be among the better ones that implement such mechanic. Making a true game form Conway's automata is hard, because player has very little control over how structures interact when trying to destroy. I used some stable structures to survive and gliders to attack, but this doesn't really help when blue cells interact with red ones. It's hard to predict what will happen.
The idea is perfect, but this was done before and I'd definitely like to see some additional mechanic for better control over what I'm doing. Graphics are awesome.

ratboy2713 says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 8:10pm

I'm not sure if it was me or not, but I only saw the first screen of the tutorial, so I didn't know you couldn't place in the red or what ever the hell the red blobs were. Also, hard to place on the bottom row, kept accidentally hit start instead.

stigmawall says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:05am

Very nice and creative work. In mobiles will be awesome!! :)

angrygeometry says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 1:50am

i think someone mentioned earlier but yeah, with some sound this would be huge on mobile devices. the game itself is fun as heck and i'm terrible at it but its still cool!

nornagon says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 1:53am

Cute! Loved the art, but the gameplay is a little too unpredictable to be fun.

Jigxor says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 2:03am

Awesome game! I really like how you turned game of life into a strategy game. I works really well! The whole game is very polished and the art is fantastic. It definitely kept me playing until I'd finally killed as many enemies as I could!

If you make it into a full game, it would be cool to see some new unit types. Perhaps you could make ones with slightly modified Life rules? Ones that live longer? Another idea would be to have some obstacles and blocking terrain, so that your bacteria has to move around and between these obstacles.

Overall, great job! Definitely one of the best games in the jam!

jeffz says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 1:13am

interesting take, well executed, shame about the lack of audio.

bitslap_ says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 1:20am

Cool game, 6 rounds and 26 cells was my record. Graphics are solid. Also fits the theme!

Good job!

Fireblend says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 2:45am

This is brilliant. A lot of people might not "get" this game, but for people familiar with CA and TGoL this is absolutely brilliant. I'd love a more fleshed out battle system because right now it's pretty random in appearance, but the idea is there, and it's fascinating. Great job!

RHY3756547 says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 9:27pm

Fantastic idea, the graphics to go with it are great too.

Apr 28, 2012 @ 11:24pm

Really cool concept. Very polished but the scrolling was quite annoying to use.

Even though it is fun to play around with there was too much unpredictable behaviour trying to remove the red drops that it was very hard to remove them completely.

I don't know much about CA but maybe it would be possible to add a sort of "bomb" value with special rules that you could embed into a glider and then would "explode", removing enemy drops withing a radius.

Anyways, nice concept and well executed. Good work!

R3ason says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 12:22am

Ahh, pretty fun! Didn't last long (I'm terrible at the Game of Life!). Great graphics, though. Thanks for sharing!

Knighty says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 1:55am

I had to do a little research on the Game of Life to understand what was even happening in this game. You didn't mention the mouse controls of clicking and dragging to see the whole tutorial. It was pretty good and the graphics were nice, although the view was very small and scrolling around to see everything was annoying.

Scott Baker says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 8:43pm

Fun little game, and good use of game of life. I found it difficult that the grid was so small though. Would have been really cool if later there was an option to zoom out and see many of these grids.

Shadow says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 7:52am

Thanks everyone for your comments, we'll try to address every problem with a post-jam release : )

robcozzens says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 4:54am

The web link just took me to a blog.

Shadow says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 5:49am

Oh dude, you are so f*cking right. Since I messed yesterday with folder permissions and stuff I screwed up with the LD directory, so sorry. Now it's fixed.

Raptor85 says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 6:50am

interesting, kinda fun buliding little projectors to "fire" at red but i found myself wishing that it didn't do quit so much between turns so i could have a more detailed strategy.

robcozzens says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 9:22am

Super cool idea, but it is so freaking hard to strategically fill cells in Conway's Life.

MrBarnslig says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 6:06am

Interesting twist on an interesting concept. It was hard for me to develop a strategy - I wish there were some easier goals that kind of eased me into it. Had a hard time getting more than a few moves. Loved the sprite artwork too.

Endurion says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 1:16pm

Great idea, and novel realization.

This is in dire need of cute sounds to go with.

May 3, 2012 @ 5:41pm

I'm not sure what the "Game of life" is that everyone is referring to, but I'm just going to review how I saw it.

First, I think the concept is *really* interesting. Everything was moving a bit fast for me at the beginning though, it would have been better if there was more "hand holding" during the tutorials, but I guess there was really no time for that in the jam!

What I can say though is that I really think this is a concept that has potential. It looks to be pretty damn well suited for mobile ports, and I think it could really succeed there. I'd pay for an extended version for this for my phone.

Maybe with some more added gameplay mechanics, it could be pretty kickass!

May 6, 2012 @ 11:20pm

Conway's Life, my nemesis. I never learnt the rules, so i just played by placing my drops at random.
Still, this is a great twist to the original idea with good looking graphics. I had some fun with it!

netmute says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 11:52am

Props for building an enjoyable game concept around Conway's Game of Life :)

deejorg says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 6:32pm

Very well tought and executed!

jimmypaulin says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 7:42pm

Beautifully presented, really original idea that fits the theme well. As others have noted using Conway's life is a really cool idea, but is pretty hard to predict the effect of your moves (NP-complete or something right?!) which means it is sometimes frustrating. I wonder if a tweak to the rules to favour life vs extinction would help? Really good package

SusanTheCat says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 10:47pm

There was scrolling? I couldn't figure out how to scroll. It didn't help that I couldn't get the instructions to work.

Very cute!

Shadow says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 2:33am

For the final version we will definitely make a better tutorial, we will explain scrolling probably together with some basic formations, and all that. We will add zoom in-out and the way that enemy attacks (Enemy will probably make his move right before you make yours (so when you place your cells you will see where he placed them) and won't be able to add more cells while things are "moving").
Modifying the rules is also something we intended to add but every change we tested broke the CGOL "compatibility".

AirRider3 says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 6:55pm

Wow, I did try this game a week ago! And I love it! Though, I find it quite difficult finding 'strategies' that don't cause the death of your drops. However, that the challenging part! :D

Lotsa says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 11:54pm

Loving the game of life mechanic, got the concept straight away and really intuitive. Nice one.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]