Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 23

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Stellar Nurse - Bleck - Jam Entry

Art by Arne ( androidarts.com ), Code by Blecki ( jemgine.omnisu.com ), and Music by BurnZeZ.

You are a stellar nurse, and, damn these meteors! They keep blasting apart your planets! Stitch them back together!

Any collection of 9 (or more) 'tiles' is a planet, and we don't have time to be picky; but you get bonus points for planets that are RECTANGULAR! And for planets that are ALL ONE THING! And you get a SUPER BONUS for planets that are SQUARE and ALL ONE THING!

Stitch them together before more meteors come to ruin your day!

View Bleck's journal. | View all entries by Bleck

Ratings

#8Innovation(Jam)4.05
#26Overall(Jam)3.81
#28Audio(Jam)3.76
#45Theme(Jam)3.52
#53Graphics(Jam)3.98
#55Fun(Jam)3.29
#61Mood(Jam)3.33
#80Humor(Jam)2.74
#642Coolness49%

Comments

BenW says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:50am

Neat game, I wish I got something more than a high score for building planets though.

FireSlash says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:26am

I spent more time playing this than I should have.

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:40am

One of the more fun games in this competition, IMO. I love it, it pulls at the OCD person inside of me to always get matching blocks, and then flip tables when ONE mismatching one gets in there. The music is also really fitting of the mood and game.

Orni says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:54am

very great game - loved it!
the only thing I have to criticize is the control layout, Z and Y are swapped on german keyboard (and several others) so that it's always awkward to play games that us it.
I'd recommend using x+c instead of y+x

Bleck says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:58am

Thankfully Z isn't critical to the gameplay! It's just fun to blast it with meteors. Is B in a good spot for you? One of these times I'll remember to make Y an alias for Z.

spooks says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:17pm

Wow, great game overall, in all categories! Very different, but fun to play. Graphics and audio were good as well!

Parthon says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 2:00am

That was a neat game, and very original. I found the controls a bit hard to get to do what I want. I can see this being combined into a part of a larger game though. Great work. :D

moonmagic says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:29am

It was very satisfying to sew the planets. The physics for the lopsided pieces felt great; I agree that it would be really nice to have planets do something other than disappear and accrue points. If they were added to the sky somehow and given silly names, I think that would be enough for me. It would be so nice, to have a peaceful planet collection!

Tom 7 says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:35am

This is a nice. The graphics are great (especially the title graphic!) and controls are really smooth. I found it fun to put stuff together, but the best strategy I found by far was to just fly around in the middle mashing space. I was hoping that something would happen if I *did* try to make a sun, by bolting the lava pieces to the middle thing. But nothing did, and I don't think the game ever poses any threat? So it's kind of like zen but I guess being a stellar nurse is pretty zen, when you think about it.

Hi-score: 43290.

chambers says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 6:20am

Great game name, great mechanics, great concept.

But I played the game for a very long time and didn't see any sign of a way of losing. How does the game end?? >_<

chambers says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 6:21am

Also, I think this was my first all 5-stars rating so far, and I'm very picky, lol

evilseanbot says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:08am

A very strong entry on a lot of fronts. Could have used a game limit of some kind to give you something to shoot for. With so many entries about destroying tiny worlds it is refreshing to have one about building them.

strega says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 2:41pm

Cool concept. The stitching effect is really well done. I didn't really like the style of movement, but that's just a personal thing.

moop says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 5:14pm

Beautiful graphics and brilliant concept. :D

Rex Peppers says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 9:27pm

Great! Controls are a little different but a very cool game once you get the hang of it.

Make A Game says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:26pm

Cool art, nice music and awesome splash screen!

olkeencole says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:30pm

Very fun game. It took me a bit to get the controls down, but really fun once you get started. It'd be cool if there was a depot station where you had to take the blocks rather than just having them disappear, and maybe have a money system where you could buy upgrades. But obviously it'll become a different game at that point, and what you have is very solid. Good job!

Pixelulsar says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 11:18pm

cool idea and nice music.

Fireblend says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 3:08am

Pretty good! It took me a while to realize what I had to do, even after the explanation (maybe I was a bit sleepy :P) but once I figured it out I had lots of fun. Interesting meld of gameplay mechanics, I really like it! Good job!

gritfish says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 4:50am

Very cool physics and gameplay. Took a couple of goes to get the hang of it (at first i was just mashing space to stitch everything) but once I got into the flow of it, really grabbed me.

MadGnomeGamer says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 11:57pm

Cool idea! Sorry I didn't get around to playing your entry until now. (PS I'm really SkullSoft but I changed my name after finding out that some other software dev had it.)

Very neat mechanic! Took me awhile to figure out whattheheck to do, but once I did it was really fun!

Nice code, nice art, nice music!

Fireblend says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 2:51am

You know, now that I was replaying it, it occurred to me that there should be some way to create even bigger planets. Clearing more than the ~10 tiles you usually clear per planet could be very satisfactory, on some sort of time-attack mode.

I'm thinking of some mechanism so that when the 9-tiles-rule is satisfied, the blocks don't disappear right away but allow you to keep on adding pieces for a short period of time that gets renewed which each new piece added to the "planet" (although then I see nothing that could prevent you from just keep pressing space to get all the pieces as the game is now, but I guess that's a matter of being more strict on what qualifies as a planet, or adding more rules for what can be attached to what - maybe based on the color of the tiles or something...)

Anyway, just sharing my thoughts, I hope it says something about how good this game is that I keep coming back to it! ;)

deejorg says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 3:24am

Cool concept. Really enjoyable.
Congrats!

May 7, 2012 @ 12:31pm

Really like the audio. Simple but really effective for the game.

Dr.Pingu says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 2:29pm

A really good game, nice work :)

@Tom 7 "score: 43290." holy sheep !

Sodaware says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 9:12pm

I like the music, especially the way it changes when more meteors are on the way. A fun mechanic, although I found the controls a little uncomfortable (especially strafing). Really nice though, and a few tweaks to add targets (create X planets, create a square planet, create a planed of two types etc) would really help add some icing to the cake.

Chaoseed says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 11:20pm

I sort of like this game. I wanted to like it a lot. However, I felt like I was fighting the controls the whole time. The rotation/thrust, while realistic and with a venerable pedigree, just seems clumsy sometimes. How about a control scheme where the ship follows the mouse? Another problem with the control scheme is that it seems like there are too many keys. I started playing, I figured out the movement and how to grab/stitch, but then I couldn't remember how to let go of something so I had to reload the game and see the help screen! Maybe you could have the controls displayed in the lower left or something. Finally, I'm still a little confused about the mechanic. It says 9 "tiles" but what does that mean? Does a 2x2 rock count as 1 "tile" or as 4 "tiles"? Also, it seems like sometimes I was able to make really small "planets", only 3 or 4 objects, disappear...other times I mashed space to stitch up a whole mess of objects and yet they didn't disappear at all. Strange.

All in all, though, it seems like a good idea, just could use some more polish. ;)

May 12, 2012 @ 4:49pm

This is absolutely lovely. Nice work!

May 12, 2012 @ 10:24pm

The music was immersing, the feelings it left me with were of cosmic wonder. Innovative and fun, top marks for this, you guys!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]