April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Three Trials

by nek - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A man on a flying vessel makes unwanted stop on a small planetoid.

DISCLAIMER:
I have used 3rd party music. Please put N/A for the music's rating.
But the sound FX are all mine.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#252Mood3.00
#276Graphics3.23
#296Humor2.50
#450Fun2.77
#450Theme3.00
#452Overall2.92
#768Innovation2.15
#1039Coolness17%

Comments

leafo says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:14am

Man this this game was hard, made up for it being really short I guess. The music is awesome though!

Tom 7 says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 5:18am

Cute game! I love the music. It's fantastic. I was pretty excited when I realized that the planet was tiny enough that I would eventually just reach the end and fall off. I jumped off of course (what am I falling to?) and died, but then I had error messages on my screen for the rest of the game.

The jumping trial itself was pretty frustrating and I guess not that fun, probably because of how high my guy jumps and how I couldn't see far enough ahead. Other than that the controls were pretty smooth. Next time you will plan to make some sweet content! :)

john_conder9 says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 5:21am

"Sometimes there is no reward" !?!?!? !!!!!!!!! Not cool! (okay, but funny :P)

"Try harder!" Okay..

Game over! Yay! It was frustrating as hell but in a good way, fun game!

blob says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 5:14pm

"You can jump in the void but what for ?"
answer: for a bug that added text all over my screen.

I'm jealous of your mad .mod skillz !! This is what I would have liked in my game! :D
Well the game is promising, there's quite some inertia in the movement but that part of the charm. Game is short, obvio but there's some cool stuff going around. Love the egyptian sci fi. Reminded me of Ulysse 31, even though its greek sci fi.

nek says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 11:42am

There is a problem with my game :(
I've broken the rules using music made by my friends. I was too asleep at the end of the compo and completely forgot about the fact that all the content including music must be made by me. Looks like it disqualifies me (((

Anyway as I've already told it was fun and I'm sure I can do better next time. Especially when I remember how I've wasted the first day on a mess with tools and game engine.

Tom 7:
the idea is you have to make the last jump as far to the right as you can without really seeing where it leads.

john_conder9:
thanks! that's the idea )
I was aiming for a rather hardcore platforming experience ) compensated by a lot of automatic save points. Your comment tells me I'm very close to my goal.

blob:
sorry, that's an ugly bug. actually I was sure I've got rid of all the debug messages.
here is more of this music which is actually not mine :(
http://childrenofdos.org/

also why do you think it's egyptian? is it guys hat?
'cause the ship and the building are greek. I've used a lot of historical references but if they still look egyptian I want to fix it somehow because the underlying story is greek mythology based.

gritfish says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:06pm

Your game's really good - regardless of the music issue. Perhaps the 'slipperiness' when you land a jump could be made a bit tighter (lead to me blaming the controls instead of myself, which is what makes a really good "hard" platformer).

If you're feeling that guilty over the music, ask the mods to change your entry to a jam entry (outside music is okay, but you can still get ratings and feedback) or just ask people leave your audio rating as n/a (as I have - not a bad choice for music though).

Were the sound effects done with sfxr or similar?

nek says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 3:17am

Thanks! The comments like yours give me more reason to finish this game.

Not that I feel too guilty but I want to play fair. Good idea with N/A for music though.

For sound fx I've used a mac port of sfxr called cfxr http://thirdcog.eu/apps/cfxr

Apr 29, 2012 @ 1:58pm

Difficult to rate this one, as soon as the background music came on I felt I had to mute it as it's not your own work and it will have an effect on how the game is played.

I first tried running to the right and was greeted with error messages after falling off the world, then ran to the right and began the game proper.

I really like the overall look of the game, some excellent 2d pixel art is being displayed here and the main character has some smooth animation which makes up for his petit-ness

I got frustrated with the lack of jumping control available to me and that roll on after landing caused a fair few of the deaths which didn't help. I quit when it got to the one block jumps due to this.

In summary the graphics are really well made but the game needs some fixes I feel in the difficulty curve / jumping mechanism to improve general playablilty.

jimmypaulin says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 8:02pm

Great graphics, nice controls (wow he is one strong high-jumper!), but very hard.. a mini-map would be nice to have some idea of overall progress...

Per says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 7:10pm

Nice platform feeling.
A little to difficult.

gregdevice says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 4:50pm

Nice looking, just too hard when jumping. He lands and moves a little making it almost unplayable.

nek says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 12:07pm

Thanks guys!
I can see my errors clearly and I'm going to fix all this as soon as compo is over (or maybe sooner then I'll put new version somewhere else).

TODO:
jump mechanics
bugs

IDEAS TO CONSIDER:
minimap or other solution to make world navigation easier

But I want the hardness to stay. The goal is hard core platformer experience.

refreshcreations:
thanks a lot for the art compliment. I always have doubts about my visual/audio works so I really appreciate this kind of commentary.

nek says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 12:11pm

jimmypaulin
thanks for the art compliment too. very much appreciated

machinas says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 7:12am

nice audio, frustratingly hard. felt especially frustrated at the 'no reward' bit, but maybe that's what you wanted. the bouncing on landing makes some jumps really hard to nail because you end up bouncing forward a bit.

machinas says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 7:13am

oh, also meant to mention if you fall off either end of the world, you get permanent debug text about out of bounds errors.

machinas says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 7:17am

i would second the suggestion that you have your game changed to a jam entry, though I can't imagine it really matters all that much.

matt says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 3:17am

Super frustrating, but not bad.

Gremlin says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 5:56pm

When I fell off the planet, I got a bunch of tile out of bounds errors scrolling across the screen.

The way the character keeps moving forward even after landing from a jump makes it really hard to target where you're going to land.

Several says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 6:45pm

Like controlling a caffeinated cricket on ice. A bit too finicky to want to finish the game, but it was kind of interesting to try to die before touching the ground, so I'd respawn closer to where I fell from. (I don't believe that qualifies as a "fun" mechanic, but it's interesting all the same.) That said, if you were aiming for hardcore platforming, I wouldn't say you're very far from the mark.

Pleasant graphics outdoors. Particularly liked the ship design.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]