April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Accretion

by bastiandantilus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a caveman. In Space. You live on a tiny floating rock, constantly hounded by impinging ice crystals. You can jump from one rock to the next, with your own personal gravity field determining where you land.

Up Jumps.
Down Kicks.
Left and Right circumnavigate the rock you are on.

Your goal? Kick all the rocks into each other, until finally you create a decently sized (yet still tiny) world you can live on.

BUG ALERT: You are in the depths of space. You may freeze. So may your browser.

About 4.3 MB. Stencyl exported to Flash.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#367Audio2.62
#407Innovation2.98
#498Theme2.92
#539Humor2.00
#685Fun2.34
#689Graphics2.39
#695Mood2.24
#741Overall2.46

Comments

matheus23 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:26pm

I really like planet physics, but I think it is missing some other "features"... But best of this game is the MUSIC! wow... really...

lifenoodles says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:31pm

Background graphics and endscreen were nice. Was a bit buggy though, I had to gather them all up a few times due to glitches.

gormio says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:31pm

Wasn't working really well on Linux. After less than a minute's play it got really sluggish and the character was left hanging in mid air. I guess it shouldn't be doing that...

Hume says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:33pm

Finding the controls on Kongregate really helped, but then I got stuck on the side of an asteroid and locked up my browser.

The stack trace is not in my clipboard now, frustratingly, but it was in Artemis exit() via box2d.

The cave man in space was incongruous and funny. Glad you left him in :)

someone says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:40pm

A but buggy, I managed to break it. A running animation and not accepting input. Also my planet randomly vanished.

True Valhalla says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:42am

A bit glitchy, and something tells me you didn't make all of these resources in 48 hours.

R3ason says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:44am

Good! It really got fun when the graphics changed and I suddenly had a planet. Sometimes it's not a bad thing to be a planet-creator! Would like to see this fleshed out further. Thanks!

MrBarnslig says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:54am

Concept is fun, I like making the planets bigger and bigger - it felt cool when one became a star. Would have loved a bit more pushback - I felt like it was just a matter of time. Nice mechanic of having the guy run on top!

StarDynamic says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:43pm

The game froze up on me twice when near the corners of the map. Cool concept though.

Alink says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:49pm

Very fun and nice crazy idea. I like the game mechanic expect the handling of borders. Some glitches but with such physic events that's expected.

doowttam says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:58am

Playing with the gravity was pretty fun. I spent a few minutes just sling-shotting myself around little planets. Stuff got a little difficult around the borders of the map, but I was able to play it all the way to the end.

kato9 says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:08am

Pretty solid and interesting mechanics. Could be more challenging though.

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:03am

I have a pretty beefy gaming rig and for some reason I could barely play this over 4 frames a second, I think it's all the alpha blended stuff you have going on with the stars in the background. Nice music though.

aeveis says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:03am

I liked the physics as well but it felt really buggy. I would form planets (which would disappear?) and they end up stuck floating in space. Were the spiky things only in the beginning? Also are you a caveman? Interesting idea though!

aus_mike says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:07am

Definitely a great idea worth fleshing out more. When you jump up from a planetoid is your path in space afected by the gravity of the other bodies?
It would be nice if when you jumped, it also caused the object you were jumping from to be pushed slightly in the other direction. And to prevent getting stuck in space, be able to move in space ever so slightly.

jimmypaulin says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:05am

Nice concept being a planet builder! I found the controls ok, and was keen to see what the next stage of accretion would look like. Plenty of scope to take this further - right up to galaxy/universe scale I suppose!

Waffenwars says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:32am

I like the idea, as said in previous it's a bit buggy. I found that I could get stuck and freeze the game on the borders of the level. having it wrap around the screen might have solved that problem. But the idea was simple and well executed, good job!

orgarus says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:52am

Hi! I like it, the hard part is achieved and accomplished: it traps you until you finish.
What I dislike is when you are out of bounds you can't surrond all the planet for this reason I think that the minimap is very helpful. Maybe you can make the possibility to choice if the player can see all the "space" or prefer to focus on the player, but only is my opinion.

Good game anyway!

Congratulations!

cr0ybot says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:25pm

Please add a description on this page! Interesting idea, though it crashed my browser (Firefox 11, Mac 10.6) and the music kept playing. The music was pretty good, though.

I think a much smaller character and slower movement would help make things more manageable. The asteroids could also start out smaller and thus allow you to see more of the game field.

PabloAM says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:12pm

Not bad, interesing mechanics but not well carry on. I think.

mikolalysenko says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:00pm

Neat concept, but the game took a long time to load, and after that it crashed about halfway through the first level.

kroltan says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 1:11am

Nice concept, but on some big planets you can get inside them.

Apr 26, 2012 @ 6:48am

Definitely an infinite loop in there somewhere :(

RandomOutput says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 9:47pm

Other than a few crash bugs, a fun little game! Really enjoyed kicking things around the world.

otaviogood says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 12:16am

The bugs got in the way of what seems like a fun concept. You should have switched to 72 hour compo to get a little more polish and bug fixes in.

chinchang says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 5:39pm

Nice wrk on html5 but lacks gameplay. I liked the sprites though :)

May 10, 2012 @ 8:28pm

Good graphics for the little guy and great music!

KevinWorkman says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 12:21am

I've stopped playing games on kongregate. Here's why: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/05/07/a-gripe-about-embedded-video-advertisements/

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]