Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 23

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Dude Rescue - agnulf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I wish I had more time :P
It's kinda buggy, but playable.
Didn't have time to add audio.

Note about source: This game was made with PlayMaker for Unity.
I'm not allowed to distribute the PlayMaker package and it's therefore not included.

View agnulf's journal. | View all entries by agnulf

Ratings

Coolness100%
#472Innovation2.84
#486Theme2.95
#592Humor1.92
#596Fun2.52
#709Overall2.52
#731Graphics2.28
#741Mood2.15
#792Audio1.05

Comments

omaha says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:48pm

couldn't get it to run in wine on my linux box. something about a missing data folder. maybe the .rar wasn't packaged correctly?

agnulf says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:50pm

Strange. The game works on every windows computer I have tried it on. I haven't tested it on Linux so I'm afraid I can't help you. The data folder is in the rar file. I have repackaged it just to be sure.

Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:59pm

At some point some dudes seemed to randomly disappear... odd. Cute game, runs a bit long given the lack of any progression.

Hume says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:07pm

My dudes didn't randomly disappear...but it seemed to think I was landing them on top of each other when they appeared to be safe...and packing them onto one side of the planet seems to be the winning strategy, so this is important.

I got into the gameplay once I figured out that WASD didn't work, and had fun with this.

matt says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:24pm

Pretty cool idea. More complex mechanics would make this really cool. I think it would work well on the iPhone.

vigrid says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:26pm

Quite fun to play. Would be a great fit for a phone game, to kill time commuting :)

lasseastrup says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:28pm

I only had one or two meteors during the game so it wasn't much of a challenge. But I think it was a fun little game - could use some more content ;)

orgarus says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:35pm

An original idea!!
It's fun but I miss something extra (hey! I understand that there only were 48 horas :D ) level targets, more levels, new enemies... sure that you thought about it but the problem is the limitation of developing time.
I would put more stars in humour if (for example) the dudes explode where the asteroid collide with them.
Do you think to make another version?
Congratulations, good work! :)

Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:09pm

ha, that actually gets quite hard after a while :) think you might have a bug where if you get 2 guys close to each other, when you turn the planet they collide, so it's taken as a hit and they're both removed?

Syntaxide says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:19pm

Why can I hold all these people?

callidus says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:32pm

Heh that was quite difficult at the end, good entry, would go well on a phone.

Gremlin says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:12pm

Clever idea.

I found myself wanting the controls to be a little more solid; they feel a bit imprecise and sluggish and I was never quite sure if I could turn it precisely enough to fit another tiny dude on board.

agnulf says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:26am

Thanks for all the comments :)
The instructions are pretty messy and doesn't explain the mechanics that well.
When dudes hit each other they die.
The dude and asteroid spawns are random so it can be a bit unbalanced.
I'm aware of the bug where 2 dudes are close to each other they dissapear. Didn't have time to fix that bug.

piterlouis says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:23pm

good gameplay. well done.

dx0ne says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:25pm

Quite fun. Could use different levels: size of planet, directions, moons.

the8donut says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:15pm

A bit buggy, nice concept though. Quite enjoyable game.

Transmit says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:13pm

Fun game, got up to 16 blokes saved before I timed out. The only complaint is that it doesnt seem to matter if its a comet or a dude, as you're always trying to aim them to a blank spot anyway.

jeroenimooo says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:24pm

The gameplay could be harder, was quite easy atm

edg3 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:43pm

Quite decent overall, the addition of sound effects could have made the game even better. However it is conceptually sound.

15 dudes were saved in the making of this play & rate :P

Mesene says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:50pm

I enjoyed it but needs better controls, try to use the lookAt() function of the planet transform with the mouse position ;).

agnulf says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:08pm

Yeah I should've probably used the mouse to control the rotation now that you mention it :)
It would have made it more precise.

strega says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:07am

I rescued 13 dudes! Sometimes the guys would disappear when they were right next to each other. Was that intentional?

agnulf says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:35am

No it's not intentional. It's a bug I didn't have time to fix :) It will be fixed if I decide to release a more polished version when Ludum Dare is over.

Raptor85 says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:12pm

don't work under WINE so can't test :/

Also though, i thought the paid modules for unity were not allowed in the compo since the rules state the tools used have to be freely available, should probably change to a jam entry since theres no restriction on it there.

AlwaysGeeky says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:57pm

Great, really hits the tiny world theme :)

firstrowgames says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 2:08am

pretty unique and fun game.

Evil Cult says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 8:27am

[Comments and ratings from this account come from various team members]
Like you said, a bit buggy and I think there should have been more asteroids but other than that it was pretty fun.

Apr 30, 2012 @ 12:51pm

Nice game, audio would have helped a lot but the game worked and played well, perhaps there could have been more asteroids?

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]