April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

A Load of Bulls...

by Frib - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A Load of bulls... have landed on your miniature planet! Defeat the never-ending horde with a wide variety of 4 weapons at your disposal!

My entry to this LD48 competition. It's a first person shooter, set on a small planet. The world actually curves, and gravity is a bit silly. Requires XNA 4.

Gameplay features 4 weapons and 1 enemy type set on a lush oasis. Defend your home! Use rocket jumps to reach places that have never been reached before!

Also features a menu, with fully customizable keybinds (overloadable to up to 3 keys per action!), the option to invert both mouse axes, volume control, and a FOV slider! It might be tempting to increase the FOV, but this game is played best with the default FOV. Still, if you're beyond pro quake level, set it to 140 for maximum fisheye

Enjoy! I had a lot of fun making it, although I wish I had more time to add more enemies and weapons.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#212Theme3.45
#236Graphics3.33
#250Humor2.63
#308Overall3.18
#321Fun3.02
#366Mood2.76
#492Innovation2.80
#555Audio2.16

Comments

Ishisoft says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:29am

The curved world is really cool, and the bulls are kinda scary. The flak cannon was my weapon of choice in the end.

De10ter says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:12am

I like the small, curved world, works really well :)
I found the projectiles hard to see though and the bulls hard to track (i.e. when they're right on top of you it's hard to tell where they are/where they just moved to)

derdragon says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:12am

Crashes for me when I try to run it. (Win 7, intel graphics)

derdragon says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:17am

Ack, forgot to install XNA... not bad, bulls remind me of Serious Sam.

Andrew Marsh says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:31am

Crashes when I press play unfortunately.

marudziik says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:39am

I liked it, especially the world surface roundness. Some bull sound when they're around would be great, or some radar or something like that. Where's the source?

Frib says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:52am

Andrew, any idea why it crashes? My guess is that it's graphics related, as 3D stuff will be drawn then, but I don't know why.

derdragon, yep, they were inspired by the sirian werebulls :)

marudziik, I've just added the source. Enjoy!

In general, I agree with the fact that it's hard to track the bulls. They lack sound, and the curve doesn't help either. But then again, I actually wanted to add more enemy types, but I had to add loads more bull to compensate since I didn't get the chance to make more of them. :D

Exorph says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:07pm

If it crashes, install XNA.
I really liked the curved world. Awesome. It was a bit too easy to not die, and hard to find the enemies.

bms says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:32pm

LOL the bulls beat the crap out of me :D I love how you gave the "sphere" effect. also really bad ass bulls!

Madball says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:58pm

It seems unfinished. It's easy, and, well, there is no goal. But it's fun!

the8donut says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:22pm

Those bulls remind me of good old Serious Sam :D Nice game, love the curved world!

marudziik says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:25pm

@Frib Thanks a lot! :D

tlaine says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:02pm

Cool curved world. But where are all the bu..uuaaaaargh!

jeroenimooo says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:25pm

700 :D really cool game, could use some more guis, for the gun select etc.

Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:25pm

great stuff man.. the curvedness adds loads to it.. i couldnt seem to kill a single bull tho no matter how many times i hit him ;p

Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:38pm

Love the graphics and the look. Do more with this! Also bulls are really scary...

AlwaysGeeky says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:50pm

Wow, you went for a minnecraft styled look like me! :)

john_conder9 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:33pm

Aiming was hard but was pretty fun anyway, I got to 700 score before I got killed :D

The rocket launcher would have been my favorite weapon but the sound was hurting my ears lol. Also loved the curving world, we wanted to do something similar but failed and went for a flat-land platformer instead, but, awesome overall!

V0ID says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:00pm

The jump sound was a bit annoying (had sound switched off when trying the rocket launcher^^).
But the rest of the game is very decent :)
If you go on with this game I would recommend making the world slightly larger and adding some more details. Then it will be a very pleasant mini game. Nice when you are tired but still don't want to go to bed or when you come from work/university/school and want to rest : )

angrygeometry says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:58pm

crashes when i hit start :( my terrible pc. shame because i wanted to check out the curved world!

argo15 says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:22am

Very good game. My teammate and I (we did jam) did a similar curved earth thing so when we saw a preview of yours in irc we were surprised XD. I wish you had left the 3rd person option in though, its hard to see the bulls that get behind you :D overall amazing!

Frib says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:21am

@agro15 there never was a 3rd person option in, the guy in the early preview pics were just a character in the world :P
Later on I removed him, once I had to implement gameplay.

I'll have a look at your entry tonight

argo15 says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:43pm

Just curious how you did your curved world. We did it via GLSL shader. I don't see any shaders in your source code.

Frib says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:58pm

in the LD23Content folder, there's an AwesomeSuperEffect.fx. I did it with a vertex shader, but used/stripped the BasicEffect shader from xna as a base for lighting etc.

And I suck at those kinds of math so it's very wrong when things get too high :D

blob says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 9:11pm

Wow, impressive for 48h. The only thing I miss is some power up or ammo count. Add a few more ennemies, and I could play that for a really long time. Its fun !

Tourgen says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 1:35pm

nice selection of weapons and cool looking enemies, also the curved world adds a lot to it. I had fun just jumping around and playing with the rockets.

Raptor85 says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 11:27pm

looks interesting, love the bulls. Can't test though cuz it requires XNA4.

Hazard says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 4:39pm

The curved world creates a very unique shooter experience, with enemies being able to surprise you even head-on. Exploring the tiny world is interesting. Some winning condition would've been nice.

ratking says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 6:00pm

Very nice, the first LD entry I saw that does the spherical thing pretty well. More feedback, please, perhaps with particles?

chambers says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 12:55am

I think it needs more feedback whether the bullets are hitting the enemies or not, and also when your character takes damage. Also, when you kill the enemies they just disappear with no sound feedback, so you can't tell if they ran away or if you kill them.

Anyway, you did very well with the graphics! Congrats on doing that in 48 hours! The game is hard as hell, but at least you can climb the house to feel safer =P

Endurion says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 7:51pm

Love the sphere effect.

However on my laptop it shows graphic errors (Intel crapola). It needs a bit more feedback about hitting something, I never was sure if I hit or missed or killed.

galman says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 11:54am

The cruved world is really nice.
I really liked this gam :-) Some more enemies and weapons could make it very cool! Well Done!

ghRibacki says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 5:49pm

Funny game! The curvature is sweet and the pixelated graphics are awesome. Good work! =)

May 13, 2012 @ 6:31pm

Like the small world effect. The enemies were confusing once they reached you (because they were simply panels).

barigorokarl says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 6:43pm

Whoohoo! Curved World is cool! :-) I don't know why, but I really liked it. Seriously, I think it's because it reminds me of Serious Sam ;-)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]