April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

The Island of Dare

by Fenmar - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Made with HTML5, Javascript and the Canvas element, so you probably need a browser which is up to date. Tested with Google Chrome and Firefox.

You are stranded on a small island and need to survive and find a way to escape. Use WASD or the arrow keys to move. Avoid the bats (red X). You need to collect all items except potions (yellow exclamation mark) to proceed to the next level.

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#301Audio2.79
#508Overall2.84
#532Mood2.53
#622Fun2.47
#670Humor1.75
#737Graphics2.26
#741Innovation2.21
#784Theme2.21
#874Coolness32%

Comments

Booser says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:46pm

Nice Music and good idea

Cosmologicon says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:56pm

Good job on the music. The terminal graphics were a funny touch. Just so you know, I found a dungeon generator bug. At one point I got into an unbeatable screen. The items I had to collect were on the other side of the door and I couldn't reach them. http://imgur.com/It2nO

Raptor85 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:51am

i kept getting unbeatable screens in the giant bat area, they spawn in the doors and leave no way to the exit.

I like the music, it's...serene

Fenmar says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:46am

Well, d'oh! I knew there is a possibility to get unbeatable levels, but I thought it would be so unlikely that I have not fixed it. Seems like I was mistaken.

emveyh says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:50pm

Nice game, i liked the graphics and the sound. Played for about 5 minutes, then I died and had to start over again. I mean it's some sort of roguelike and they are known to be hard, but i think it's a bit unfair that you die from just one hit and you have no way to defend yourself besides the potions.

YMM says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:23pm

Making the text skippable would reduce the punishment for death a lot, right now it's pretty frustrating. Cool dungeon generation.

Jack says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:31pm

beautiful in its simplicity. I love what you've done with just text. Any significance to the player being a Y?

Pixelulsar says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:39pm

I like the letter idea and the random generation, but I gave up because after about 4 levels of progress it brought me back to the 3 potions part.

Fenmar says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:13am

Okay, I guess I should make death a little bit less hard. Maybe add lifepoints and a regeneration potion? @Jack: http://www.rgbstock.com/photo/mhGxnpu/jumping+couple+2

Thank you all for your feedback :)

TaoPhoenix says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:40am

I got about 4 screens in and then it seemed umbeatable but different, aka the famous "run the hands over the keyboard" did nothing against a green square. But I think I had all/almost all the previous T-mushrooms.

gnx says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:11pm

I somehow really liked this. Minimalist games are very interesting to me. You manage to communicate a whole lot with some simple shapes and text.

On my first play I died and on my second I ended up in a maze with no way forward, so I guess it is somewhat generated each time?

A very nice idea, it would be fun to a play that looked and sounded like this but with a longer game and bigger world to explore.

racarate says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 2:34am

Man, that music loop was hyper annoying I wish it would have been a few minutes long instead of a few seconds long. Competent micro-roguelike. I actually liked the combination of WASD and mouse for item usage. It was frustrating that the instructional text displayed every time I went through. Does the game go on forever? I was about ten levels in and I assumed it was endless randomly generated dungeons so I quit. Not sure what the point of the mushrooms were, they were only in that one stage.

angrygeometry says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 4:05pm

this was cute. browser kept scrolling the page with space so i had to do it without using potions. i almost managed it too. good little game.

barigorokarl says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 9:39pm

I liked this alot! The "graphics" really suit their means and the little story really nice and fits perfectly. Very good job!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]