About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 8 days, 1 hour, 24 minutes, 24 seconds
  • October Ends: in 9 days, 1 hour, 36 minutes, 24 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 44 days, 2 hours, 24 minutes, 24 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 23

    April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

    Back to Browse Entries

    Tiny Quest - Kvisle - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    !NOTE! - The game works in wine if you don't want to build the Linux-version, or are using a platform without a port (but with wine)

    !!NOTE!! As of 2012-04-24 23:55 CEST, there is a Mac OS X application bundle. Link added. (This is a pure port with no enhancements, and should qualify for rating according to the rules of porting)

    Known problems with the game (This list is written after all the feedback I've gotten ;)):

    * Jumping is kind of awkward, especially easy to notice at a later point in the game (This is my number one regret - I should have fixed this :()

    * There is a minor issue with the bounding box of the character, where he can get stuck on a ledge - you only have to jump to get down.

    * Sometimes the blobs will fly away on their own when you enter the screen.

    * Due to the way I implemented gravity, you can get damaged for the wrong reason when standing on a platform near a flame.


    The game is attempting to clone the look and feel of the old Nintendo Game Boy,
    as that was apparently what I felt like doing this time.

    How to play:

    * Arrow keys or a/d moves the player sideways.
    * Space makes your character jump.
    * Space while jumping makes your character jump higher, aka. a double jump - if you have the necessary artifact. (The game will clearly tell you when you have it).


    The game can be completed.

    The Linux-version is the source-version in a tarball, build instructions inside README. (It's quite simple, you just have to make sure that the dependencies is in place)


    If something does not work as it should, please contact me on twitter, mail or
    IRC.

    http://twitter.com/kvisle
    [email protected]
    irc://irc.freenode.org/, kvisle

    View Kvisle's journal. | View all entries by Kvisle

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #74Graphics3.98
    #187Mood3.13
    #223Overall3.33
    #232Fun3.18
    #381Humor2.31
    #410Audio2.53
    #723Theme2.40
    #794Innovation2.07

    Comments

    oddgoo says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:59pm

    I COMPLETED TINY QUEST!

    Nice solid little game. I liked the pixel grid filter.

    I thought double jumping was hard due to the physics (you start going down as soon as you release spacebar, making you double press really fast).

    Raptor85 says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:25pm

    if anyone else is having trouble building, it's VERY picky about the vesion of glew, updating to latest fixes build issues.
    It's cool but the jumping is frustrating, the physics feel like i'm wearing ridiculously powerful rocket boots on a planet with super high gravity, the double jump was very hard to time as even double tapping the bar by the time you get the second jump you're almost on the ground again. Overall good though.

    Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:26pm

    Fun! Like the other dude said, the falling is too fast. Other than that, great game! Excellent job!

    Krisjet says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:37pm

    Love the gameboy graphics! And cool progression throughout, short and sweet without any frustrating parts.

    Toast says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:13pm

    Kind of simple, but it looks great and it plays great.

    laubori says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:31pm

    One of my favorites for now! I really like this kind of pixel art.

    RHY3756547 says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:40pm

    I love the simplistic graphics, but it's not very innovative as a platformer. Loved the whack-a-mole boss though.

    hulahulahest says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:42pm

    I'm a sucker for low resolution graphics. The controls are unfortunately extremely awkward, especially the jumping, which detracts from the experience. Other than that, fun.

    bms says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:42pm

    Gameboy graphics FTW! Also the final dungeon was EPIC xD

    davidllanos22 says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:43pm

    I love it. I've win without die, I'm proud of myself :3 Good job :)

    TheSheep says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:47pm

    Pretty fun, reminds me of Montezuma Revenge somehow.

    Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:56pm

    Next time I really need to make a game boy game, too. :D Great work and nice timelapse.

    KevinZuhn says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:04pm

    Fun, though the jump was a hassle. I felt like the game cut off just as it was getting challenging. A lot of the corridors felt empty, and the backtracking doesn't help. They could have used more enemies or wall-flamethrowers to break up the walking.
    Gameboy-retro graphics and characters were charming!

    Seppi says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:37pm

    Solid.

    I notice that you get stuck on pointy corners easily. Other than that, this is fantastic. was super easy to build too:

    ./autogen.sh
    ./configure
    make

    <3

    JaJ says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:05pm

    Yeah! Gameboy graphics!
    I had a good time playing, but the boss didn't appear for me, which was weird.

    Cambrian_Man says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:57pm

    I dug the graphics, the GameBoy vibe really adds a lot and the game felt pretty meaty. The jumping felt a little wonky because it seemed very linear? It wasn't that big a deal, though, because the game was more about exploration and I never felt like I was asked to do tricky platforming, so it's all good. Yeah!

    mattchu says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:08pm

    Simple, fun gameplay. Jumping felt really awkward, especially double-jumping, and the collisions with the fire at the boss felt really off (I was getting hit while in the middle of the platform), but otherwise, it felt really polished, and the graphics were well-done, despite being simple, I thought. :)

    uberneen says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:10pm

    This was fun to play and looked great, good work!

    Sodaware says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:12pm

    The physics are a little clunky and it's rather short, but I really enjoyed it. Love the grahics too!

    ben says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:13pm

    Great graphics, feeling and theme are perfect. Mechanics though were quite bad.

    Kvisle says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:04pm

    Thanks to everyone who played and rated it so far :D

    I really regret that I didn't go around and fix the jumping mechanic, as it "makes or break" the game. I hope to implement an enhanced version later, just to show people what I wanted my compo entry to be like.

    Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:23pm

    This was nice little adventure. Very nice old gameboy like graphics, but you could have perhaps made little more decoration objects because the castle was a bit dull.

    Muhiz says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 8:11pm

    Retro feel.

    Muhiz says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 8:12pm

    Nice retro feeling. Worked well in Linux.

    robbiehunt says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 4:11am

    Good presentation - LOVE the gameboy look man, seriously great job there. Sound was good too!

    The only bad thing I can say is that I wish the jumping were smoother. But really, it's not unplayable as is! Good job!

    artefon says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 3:20am

    Really like the graphics and the mood. The game is really fun. Great entry!

    KhaoTom says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 3:31am

    It's got some control problems and I'm not sure how the theme figures in, but overall a good entry. Congratulations on finishing!

    robcozzens says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 5:36am

    I like it. Although the jumping physics didn't feel quite right... but I was still able to beat it, so they weren't too bad.

    nornagon says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 1:02am

    Love the graphics, but the gameplay wasn't really exciting, and the jump physics felt all wrong.

    Cake&Code says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 1:30am

    Jumping was a bit hard since there's no acceleration and gravity kicks in as soon as you release the jump button.

    I managed to beat the game but the last part with the magical looking toad was by far the most fun because it had the most gameplay and not just finding a key, opening a door, walking some more. It posed a challenge of death and a goal of winning.

    I hope you expand on it!

    AD-Edge says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 3:47am

    Not much innovation or humor involved, but still a very nice little game. I managed to get to the end, the boss was a bit frustrating at times, simply because Id get damage from the fire if I was standing on one of the blocks too close to the edge.
    Graphics are perfect, loving the retro looking games for this LD. Enoyed the audio as well, and especially the sound and look of the little fire breathing enemies. Well done :)

    johanp says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 2:49pm

    The gameboy feeling is really nice! Gameplay lacks a bit of direction and the jumping feels really off. I would keep playing more if there was more to see than bricks because it feels really solid otherwise.

    IgnatusZuk says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 3:22pm

    Firstly, I love the unique style this game has, engine seemed solid with proper tile collision, the only bad thing I can really judge on is the jumping that ruined the whole experience.
    Good game anyway!

    wademcgillis says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 3:24pm

    YOU MADE ME BURN MY POPCORN BECAUSE I WAS PLAYING THIS.

    Now I have no kernels left ;_;


    :)

    free_napalm says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 3:31pm

    Man, jumping feels like that guy is extremely obese. But you achieved a cool Graphics style.
    The gameplay was alright, too.

    Endurion says ...
    May 3, 2012 @ 7:10pm

    I won!

    The jump is a bit awkward, but the rest is well done.

    havchr says ...
    May 3, 2012 @ 7:44pm

    Wow, very impressive and cool. I see you have mentioned the jump curve. Yes, that's my only gripe! seriously a cool one :)

    May 4, 2012 @ 10:54pm

    I really enjoy this old-stile platformers, even more when they have the "gameboy green" look and feel. Very nice entry.

    Oye Beto says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 10:07pm

    I finished the game :)

    I mostly liked the game boy graphics.
    I think you should change the jump physics and work a little more in level design.

    mcc says ...
    May 14, 2012 @ 2:09am

    I liked this a lot! The look and feel were great.

    I felt like the worms were unsatisfying as enemies. The little dinosaur dudes were very satisfying as enemies.

    The only problem I had with the game was the jump "feel", it didn't feel quite natural somehow. The double jump *was* a bit glitchy but that didn't really seem like a problem, that was just a timing issue.

    I think this is the only LD game I've ever seen with a boss fight, so good job on that.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]