April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

DINO-CAB

by EricTheCoolDude - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A young dinosaur tries to integrate into human society by starting a transportation business. However, navigating around town is difficult when you're the size of a house! Try not to break things while getting passengers to where they want to go. However, sometimes passengers don't feel the need to support your business and run off without paying! Then it's rampage time, BREAK THINGS!

Controls:
Arrow keys/WASD: Move
Space bar: Jump
Space bar while in the air: Stomp
Shift: Sprint
Escape: Exit
Other stuff is told ingame.

Timelapse coming soon.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#8Humor4.16
#16Audio4.03
#59Fun3.64
#100Overall3.61
#107Mood3.35
#177Innovation3.48
#222Graphics3.36
#304Theme3.27
#824Coolness35%

Comments

DeathBySnail says ...
Apr 22, 2012 @ 8:40pm

Nice idea! Was loling before I even opened the link. Good job!

levelbylevel says ...
Apr 22, 2012 @ 8:48pm

Love it, the audio is awesome ;)

Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:07pm

Ha, this is great. Love the atmossphere and the music, gameplay feels good to.

tlaine says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:10pm

"Take me there." Like others said before me, cool idea, cool audio.

hungyg says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:19pm

Great audio, fun concept! a bit too hard and frustrating, the streets could be wider.

grimpunch says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:31am

Lovely!

kasarun says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:29pm

Trying to stay on the road ..... I'm done, CROSS THE CITY!

karnakgames says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:42am

That was a very nice and fun idea! My only complaint is that most of the times it is impossible to walk (I know it was the idea of the game that you are big and have to take care); there is too much sensitivity.

Anyway 4/5!

Scott Baker says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 8:47pm

Awesome! LOL! My thought process after playing 3 or 4 rounds "hmmm... ok careful to stay on the road. Don't want to... F-it! ME SMASH! ME DESTROY!!!"

NateNaterson says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:18am

Fun little game! Controls are a bit annoying but everything else is fine. I love the music and voices as well. :D

bms says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 7:04pm

I LOL'd :D

olkeencole says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 8:12pm

Fun little game. I'd recommend two slight changes: 1)the city might start out small so that getting around is easier at first and the city builds up over time so that it becomes harder 2) someway to control when you go into rampage mode. Overall, a very fun mechanic. Not enough destruction in the world :)

Andrew says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 8:43pm

Awesome game, the voices are great, though people don't seem too fond of paying.

ilo says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 4:16pm

Scored 4015 on my best run. BUT, it ended because I was accidentally picked up a passenger while stomping on a rampage. It's definitely fun, and has that 'Oh, just one more go' feel. Oh, and the voices and music are inspired.

Anyway, it starts off quite hard (if you don't get lucky with the passenger's choice of destination at the start) but seems to get easier after you've successfully made a few runs.

The sensitivity of controls also makes it very difficult to navigate the town. Making the main streets a little wider, and as olkeencole suggested, having town's prosperity follow the dinosaur's - so as he makes money there would be a financial boom and the town begins to expand - might help to scale the difficulty.

Also, it's occasionally difficult to interpret where the arrow is pointing, and I managed to get out over the perimeter fence.

But all criticisms aside, I really enjoyed it. :)

Pierrec says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 12:52pm

Great game. My only problem is that the game sometimes freeze and becomes unplayable (dino running without any key pressed) but that's probably m'y computer/internet connection fault.

Tifu says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 12:23pm

Great idea, hilarious! The arrow is incredibly hard to read though. Would be pretty great if that was more readable.

kibertoad says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 5:00pm

Idea is great, however due to the execution is not too fun to play: city streets are so tiny you can barely navigate them even if you are not particularly in a hurry, and if you are... Good luck to you, then. And if you merely want to unleash mayhem on city - you can't do that either, as game will come to end rather quick. This game begs for some post-LD attention.

MrBarnslig says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 6:42pm

Ha! This made me laugh, nice job. It was pretty hard though, unfortunate that the most fun thing (knocking over buildings) is the thing you AREN'T allowed to do. But it was fun and had a great presentation. Thanks for making it!

Thotep says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 1:18pm

Nice idea and execution, it's a fun game!

robcozzens says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 11:26pm

Those buildings are way too fragile! Cool idea though... it could be tweaked into something great!

Frib says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 9:01pm

lots of fun. Quite hard to find the sweet spot on roads, but rampage makes up for it

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]