Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 23

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Atom Grid - Superyoshi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Drop atoms, create molecules, do science! Comes into flavors:

--> ENDLESS MODE
As your queues fill up, you need to keep a cool head and create complex constructions and combos to score big! Includes an Online Highscore table and annoying alert sounds!

--> PUZZLE MODE
Use the limited supplies wisely, and clear all the atoms in one out of 29 (+ one secret!) levels! This mode is delivered to you along with a kitten ( http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2011/12/16/remember-you-love-kittens/ )!

Made in FlashPunk by ChevyRay, with levels made by Ogmo Editor by Matt.
Special thanks to the folks in the #ludumdare channel at Runouw.com for testing and being cool bros. High fives. o/

View Superyoshi's journal. | View all entries by Superyoshi

Ratings

Coolness55%
#241Innovation3.33
#328Overall3.15
#339Audio2.71
#366Theme3.16
#377Mood2.75
#509Fun2.67
#529Graphics2.73
#686Humor1.71

Comments

marudziik says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:18pm

Wow, very clever. I was aiming for the same topic (chemistry, bonding atoms into molecules) but your approach is very impressive. I like it very much, but endless mode is a little too hard for me, as I don't see clearly how many bonds can different atoms make (I'd prefer the white dots to be near center of the atom). Great entry.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 1:11am

hey Suyo. good luck on your ludum dare :D
also, ima download yo source like i said i would :3

jwolf says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 9:35pm

Pretty good! If you're planning on doing further development, I think I'd like the ability to restart in puzzle mode (something needs to happen when you get stuck), and to be able to put the molecule back in the queue, if you picked the wrong one.

chaosBrick says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 7:28pm

cool game actually, i like the concept and sounds a lot, but in my opinion endless mode is just to easy to mess up mentally, I got into some precise-clicking-trouble soon.
Thus it wasn't really what it was meant to be :/
Anyway, really cool game there (except for the music :P)

Superyoshi says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 2:55pm

@jwolf: Actually, it's already there, try pressing R! Also, I am planning on developing it further, so suggestions are welcome.

philhassey says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 8:42pm

Good theme compliance!

amodo says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 5:17am

Even though I usually don't like puzzle games very much, this one was well done. Even I(!) instantly understood it without reading instructions and played for a while. Solid game there imo.

summaky says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 12:37pm

Very clever indeed. I spent quite some time with this entry :-)

Valeour says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 2:58pm

Very difficult. Good puzzle game. Well done. The How To Play was very over done and still confused me though.

Datw says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 4:17pm

This game is really robust. Lots of levels and two game modes. Even though it has a tutorial screen, I think it lacks a good tutorial (or, at least, I was confused with the game.) The atom puzzle was a bit overused in this ludum dare (I did something on those lines, too!), but this one might be one of the best. Now, on a personal note, I didn't quite enjoy the game per se.

Volute says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 4:20pm

Nice concept ! My only complaint is that the movement of the little circles makes it a little hard to focus. Other than that, very enjoyable game, I'll sure be playing it again !

Nehmulos says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 5:17pm

It's really hard to learn and the how to play was a too big wall of text. I couldn't figure out anything. harder than the second puzzle, but that's probably just me being stupid.
I still think this is a lot of fun for clever people.

Well the music and the sound effects are really great! And the graphics have a cool style to them. The game is well done and looks very polished.

jimmypaulin says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 6:49pm

Intelligent, well put together, complete, loads of content. Could be a really useful educational tool with some more "the thing you just made is water" type messages perhaps? Quite difficult to work out what to do, the help page was a little intimidating so perhaps some in-game tutelage might work well?

Superyoshi says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 7:14pm

Thanks for all the suggestions and feedback! For those interested, I'm working on a remake of this game for a school project, along with some friends. You can look at our progress here: http://www.greencouchgames.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&p=124#p124 We'll be trying to work your feedback into it, for example a better tutorial!

onehandclap says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 1:14pm

A very nice effort, entertaining and complex enough. Bravo! =)

Dr.Pingu says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 1:28pm

The concept works well. Graphics are good too.

Yeay good job :)

Sodaware says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 2:11pm

It definitely needs a better tutorial, but once you pick how it works it's fun. Perhaps start by teaching how to put together a few easy molecules (water) and then bring in new elements (such as clicking again to double the connection). This is a really solid entry though, and well put together. Good work!

KevinWorkman says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 4:16pm

This would have benefited from a few more tutorial levels, but the engine is there and functions properly, which is great for 48 hours of work.

You must sign in to comment.

[cache: storing page]