April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

dLeIaFtEh

by Cell - 48 Hour Compo Entry

2 endings.
completely dumb story.

- Olav (@Cellusious) / (Cell)
https://twitter.com/#!/Cellusious

made using:

Paint.net
FL studio
game maker (for quick game dev)

had only 5hr+ to work.


SPOILER POSTER PIXEL ART THINGY: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/34397004/Node/Giant.png

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#84Graphics3.93
#137Mood3.26
#336Audio2.72
#410Humor2.25
#483Overall2.88
#531Theme2.84
#619Innovation2.55
#633Fun2.44

Comments

MadGnomeGamer says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:58am

Nice! I love a quick exploration game with multiple paths!

What art program did you use?

MadGnomeGamer says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:01am

Holy crap! 64 games submitted in 10 minutes!!!! XD

PS My game is My Kid Dropped the Planet--toss Whoville around like a baseball!

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:40am

Weird. Movement is nice. Art is good. I don't understand, what is the experiment part?

Hempuli says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:53am

I like the quitky art and the engine is solid, but in general the story didn't strike me as being particularly meaningful. Especially following the "bad" path seemed to make no sense.

Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:26am

I like it, loving the simplistic art. Good job with the narrative as well :)

nornagon says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:31am

I like the controls, but there wasn't really much to the game :/

Monomer says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:32am

Art looks nice. Music isn't bad, but gets old a little too fast. Your description says you only had 5 hours, in which case there's definitely some solid mechanics and assets here.

Daniel says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:34am

Nice shot game :)

Beanalby says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:44am

Liked the easy controls & "text as you go" rather than text that holds you up.

RandomOutput says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:50am

Quick to play, fun to explore. Dig the controls and feel.

DaveDobson says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:54am

I like the 8-bit graphic style - reminds me of King's Quest. It's fun flying around, and the physics and collisions work well. Definitely artsy and intriguing, but it seems a little bit pointless, though - not too many endings, and hard to know when you're going to hit them or why one is better than another. But an interesting and innovative entry.

ineap09 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:58am

Even though it was short, it was really fun. The atmosphere and mood of this game were perfect. Great work!

ericdpitts says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:08am

Really great presentation! I love your art style.

cirolve says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:48am

hehe, a very shortish game, looked brilliant, but short. everything seemed to flow nicely together, and by that I mean the movement system, and collision system, still though there was not much gameplay. considering you finished this in 5 hours, I would call it an accomplishment

spacerumpus says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:18am

Neat game. I like the simple artwork, and the exploration component is pretty nice. The music got a bit less appealing to listen to rather quickly, but overall a solid effort. 5 hours you say? Wow..

triplefox says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:47am

The meaning was kind of vague but I enjoyed the mood + setting.

spiral says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:02am

Looks really nice dude. Not sure what was going on but it looks cool.
:D

nilstastic says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:10am

Nice graphics! However, i didnt find a game, just a sperm(?) simulator that always ends with me saving everyone? Still, i did enjoy it =)

Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:21am

I like this in principle, but would love to see the story-elements fleshed out a bit further.

DoktorAce says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:50am

Can't run cause I have mac :(

Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:03am

Very interesting... I can't say that I really understood what was going on in the story, but what I experienced made me want to know more. Loved the graphics and the movement of the character felt very smooth. Overall, quite intriguing and I'd love to see more. Cheers!

jijaweb says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:31am

Really cool game. Love the art style.

Evgis says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:53am

Love the graphics, and the feel of the game. Great work, especially in only about 5 hours.

Misaka42 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:01pm

Nice visuals. I like the style.

bms says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:10pm

I LOLd to "you did save everyone" :D

wzl says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:14pm

Nice backgrounds. Weird music. :P

ratking says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:28pm

That's so atmospheric! Make a full game out of it!

binary_girl says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:48pm

good stuff cell :)

marudziik says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:35pm

Too short, repetitive music, but I liked graphics a lot. I wish there was some more gameplay here.

NeiloGD says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:57pm

It is a dumb story, but I still like it. Next time put some enemies in and stuff! Still though, 5h spent on it that's good :)

Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:04pm

Short and sweet. Great graphics. I want more!

Pierrec says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:38pm

Well...that was weird but fun. I wouldn't have minded if it were longer

wademcgillis says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:57pm

Uhh...

Toast says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:19pm

Not much to say. Simple kind of idea, seen it before. Nice pixel art I guess.

MyFrosch says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:03pm

I like the style. But I want to play more :D.

Zed says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:28pm

"You should have done smarter actions". I'm not sure whether I can possibly give you more than two stars with grammar like that. ;)

I'm kidding. It's really pretty and charming. Well done!

orgarus says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:39pm

Weird. Quick. Good graphics. Weird. Quick... and weird. :)
Congratulations anyways!

uprightpath says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:30pm

I... I feel like I should have taken something deep and meaningful from the game, but all that resulted is minor head-scratching and confusing on my part.

vigrid says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:39pm

I have absolutely no idea what is this game about, but I like it anyway :)

tcstyle says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:00pm

I'm really impressed. Great graphics and music. In combination with the "story" this game creates a very unique mood. Unfortunately it's rather short (seen both endings).

angrygeometry says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:08pm

i enjoyed it. art is nice. not bad for 5 hours work!

callidus says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:16pm

interesting game, the audio and visual style were very appealing.

SmallDeadGuy says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:42pm

Pretty fun :) A bit confused though...

davidllanos22 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:44pm

Nice engine, nice art and music...but too short!

lanoiadimuu says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:51pm

The story was awful, but the graphic part is pure art. :)

kroltan says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:18pm

The art was fitting, but the game didn't make much sense.

rawbits says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:24pm

Art, music and controls are good. Text keep showing up on either direction, which can be misleading. Space shouldn't quit the game at the end. It would be nicer if hitting space takes you back at the title and hitting ESC there will quit the game imho.

matt says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:15pm

I liked the atmosphere.

AlwaysGeeky says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:00pm

Great visuals!

mattchu says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:10am

Not much there, but it was interesting to see it told somewhat of a complete story within a minute or two of gameplay. :)

LegacyCrono says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:56am

A nice entry overall, your graphics are as charming as ever! The hints of plot are a bit too shallow for my taste, it gives too little about the story... Also, it needs some challenge to spice things up! :P

Still, a very damn good entry considering it was made in 5 hours!

Fireblend says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:09am

Weird and quirky, I like it!

samusetroid says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:35am

Cool! Check out my game: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-23/?action=preview&uid=12985

TM13 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:42am

I like it.

But not much in it.

It's also too simple.

R3ason says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:07am

Not sure I understood exactly what I was doing, but I really liked the art style and the music...Wish I could make something like that in 5 hours! Thanks!

caribou says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:18am

I loved the *physics* and your art is awesome enough to an exploration game. <3

Jigxor says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:59pm

I like the fact that when I played the first time, and was forced to quit because I "lost" that I was determined to play again.

I enjoyed that a lot :)

jerombd says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:18pm

Seriously too short (well for 5h it's OK sure); these pretty graphics deserve a longer story :D

JaJ says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:24pm

I liked the mood and art, but there is nothing interesting to do, really.

Jack says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:27pm

incredibly surreal game, simplistic gameplay but interesting enough to be worth it

derrickdool says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:57am

Great Environment work here Cell.

Zillix says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:52am

Loved the art and the ambiance. Neat game!

Thotep says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:42am

Nice graphics, but I don't get the story. Should I? :)

johanp says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:48am

Looks and plays pretty nice, but unfullfilling as a whole. Still, goo job considering the time spent!

daandruff says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:18pm

Even if the game was short, I really liked it. Nice artstyle!

VDZ says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:36pm

This is definitely a difficult one to rate. I wouldn't call it a game myself. It's more like an interactive...something.

The gameplay is simple, but it mostly just works. Controlling the whatever-you-are feels just right. The requirements for the endings are unclear, but can easily be found by exploring.

The graphics are very nice. The world looks interesting enough that exploring it is worth it by itself. There isn't much to say other than that I just like it.

The story is completely random. It's vague enough that the messages you see throughout the game are kind of ominous, but the nonsensical endings kind of ruin any potential it has story-wise.

Considering the incomprehensible/random/nonsensical nature of the game, I'm unable to give it a theme rating as I simply don't 'understand' the game and its world.

The music is kind of generic, but it adds to the atmosphere, enough that it bothered me when it didn't loop; something which took away a lot of the atmosphere.

Overall, I found it worth playing, especially considering its very short length. One suggestion, though: For games like this, you should consider using Flash or some other no-download-necessary platform; people are more likely to play a three-minute game if downloading it doesn't cost two minutes.

The low overall score is because I rate LD games as 48-hour games; if it had been a 5-hour game contest, the rating would be much higher.

Oye Beto says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:49pm

- I liked the pixel graphics. You could try using parallax scrolling to give it more depth.
- The music is very percussive and it works.
- It's a good thing that it's short because it's an exploring game with no gameplay. I was curious to try both paths.
- You did a good job for the short time you used.

firstrowgames says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 1:34am

for 5 hours of work its pretty good.
Would have loved to see what you could have done with more time.

omaha says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:22am

I agree with everybody else, wish there was more to play :)

Monkey Armada says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 1:58pm

Nice concept, it looks like you could have easily added some more paths and a bit of interaction, but anyway, it looked great. A good ambient music would have helped a lot. I loved the grafics.

blob says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 7:27pm

Not bad for 5 hours but yeah... Experimental.

bitslap_ says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 9:17pm

Only 5 hours? Good job.

CappaGames says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 7:11pm

Love the audio and the mood, wish it were longer.

Ranoka says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 6:02pm

Great job for only 5 hours. Would have been nice to have had a bigger game, or maybe more interactive/animated environment. Not sure I get the ending.

Apr 29, 2012 @ 2:38pm

Great art, sadly not much to the game itself. :/

mooosh says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 2:24am

these graphics are fantastic! the movement was a little weird, but it made sense.

I could tell that you wanted the game to have replay value by having different endings; if you want people to replay the game, add a replay button instead of making the game close itself :0

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]