Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:
? DAYS, ??:??:??

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014
? DAYS, ??:??:??

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.
? DAYS, ??:??:??


Ludum Dare 31:

Ludum Deals

???

 

Recent:

MiniLD #XX

ANNOUNCEMENT BAR! I tell you event things here, but only sometimes.


Ludum Dare 23

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Another Kind of World - daandruff - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Zimboy is a little guy who has found himself in a strange world of bugs and bombs. Help him find the way home.

Windows and Mac-version are up. If you are on linux you can use the .love -file together with the love2d engine (www.love2d.org)

View daandruff's journal. | View all entries by daandruff

Ratings

Coolness100%
#28Mood3.77
#29Audio3.82
#51Graphics4.08
#54Overall3.81
#97Fun3.51
#379Innovation3.05
#467Humor2.15
#489Theme2.94

Comments

amidos2006 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:43pm

Nice game I think it will better if the jump is Up or W instead of Space :) or beside it :)

daandruff says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:01pm

If you use the arrow-keys, then Up works perfectly fine to jump with?

FredericRP says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:59pm

Nice game ! Hard to jump precisely but it's nice to have some not so easy games with some new idea.

vrld says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:53pm

Nice game! I really like the atmosphere.

Endurion says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:45am

Very well done!
A nice game, simple mechanics and good level design.
More!

the8donut says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:45am

I really like how smooth controls feel. Art style and music are charming, great job!

caribou says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:03am

Woaah, I love the art, the level design, the feeling, the simple but yet so fun bomb mechanic ! Best entry for me so far.

headchant says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:12am

Love it! Great game.

Jeremias says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:19am

Immersive, nice graphics and audio. Especially the graphics - I love the pixel art style. I think get killed by own bombs would improve the gameplay (avoids spamming bombs).

Zamando says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:38am

Cool game. Has a nice feeling to it. I actually finished it! :D

amodo says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:57am

Very cool game. Plays very smoothly and is fun to play! Good work!

davidllanos22 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:23am

Pretty little game :) Once you know how to throw the bombs is quite funny :)

Transmit says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:09am

Fantastic little game!

laubori says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:21am

Awesome game! Definitely Top 10 :)

schizofunky says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:29pm

Lovely atmosphere and nice controls, gameplay felt very smooth!

netmute says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:35pm

Very smooth game. Nice idea to include the wrap around levels into the puzzles.
Loved the sound and graphics. Nice work!

graytest says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:25pm

Löved it!

DSidhion says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:39pm

I really liked the game! The atmosphere that the game creates (audio, graphics and level design) is incredibly immersible. It's a simple game, but with a very fun mechanic and good levels!

kroltan says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:38pm

I really like the feel of the graphics, but the bombs could slide less (or bounce more)

Mirroar says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:40pm

Nice job! MY gf löves the fact that you made it using lua ;)
Very moody, a bit frustrating at times, and I only found out after the game that your own bombs didn't hurt you ;)

MarekkPie says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:54pm

One of the best on here. Controls very well; simple to pick up and understand. Can't really praise it enough.

Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:34pm

Very polished. The mouse click doesn't work as good as I would like, but the game all around is fantastic. Be neat to see as an iPhone game where you pull back like angry birds :-)

bms says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:34pm

Loved it!

nihilocrat says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:51am

Best audio I've heard so far, great graphics too. I would have made the fuses on bombs shorter, or made the throws a bit less forceful, so it's a bit easier to hit things without just throwing a bunch of bombs.

davidpeter says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:32am

Great game! Played it all the way through. Very well done. I felt like the bombs took too long to explode, but I'm sure it was done for the challenge :)

racarate says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:58am

Wowie zowie, that was great. I love the art direction, the slight vignetting and the particle effects. The game feel on jumps is a little too twitchy, which especially hurt on the precision platforming boards, but whatever this game is a superduper recreation of the bombing portions of Super Mario Brothers 2. With some game feel love (and maybe more theatrics on player death) you have a winner.

Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:35pm

Very nice challenging game! Gfx, Sound, Music and Gameplay everything fits together.

Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:39pm

Great game -- love this. The bomb control (combination of throwing up, bouncing and recoil) really adds to anotherwise vanilla pixel-platformer. Really great stuff.

Gabriel says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:46pm

Cool game! I liked the core mechanic, and think it would work well with destructible blocks! I don't think that spamming bombs is a problem considering the game balancing, and the fact that throwing them pushes you a bit, it's enough balanced. On the bad side, I don't think it fits the theme too well or at least there isn't an obvious connection, and I'd love to see more variety (even diferent colored blocks and enemies would help!).
Overall, one of the most fun I've played so far, and it really manages to be an actual game, not only a test - few of us manage to do that with such a short time! Congrats, very good entry :)

Muhiz says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:05pm

One of the best games I've rated so far.
W key for jump instead of space would've helped. I got stuck in one level, where player has to jump and throw bombs to get baddies killed. Couldn't handle arrow keys well enough with left hand or couldn't work out the mouse with left hand.

Muhiz says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:06pm

One of the best.

raarlac says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 1:12am

Awesome game! But UP to jump please

omaha says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:36am

This game is beautiful. Hard to control the bombs that you throw. I think if you shortened the timeout on those bombs it would work better.

gnx says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 5:57am

Nicely done. My favourite things are the graphics and the audio.
The mouse control for the bombs takes some figuring out and even then it is not the most intuitive.

Apr 26, 2012 @ 9:53am

Looks great, plays great, heaps of fun!

Raptor85 says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:06pm

cool but the aiming is frustrating, feels like no matter which way you face you're throwing the bombs into the wind.

AlwaysGeeky says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 2:17am

WOW! Nice graphics and great gameplay, I really liked this :)

gotosleep says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 2:51pm

I love the graphics & level design. Wish I didn't have to use the mouse.

Gaeel says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 3:04pm

Nice atmosphere, I like the sound a lot, and the tileset is quite nice, especially given the low res.

I feel the controls aren't tight enough for some of the platforming though, and I got quite frustrated at the levels where I had to keep resetting. Other than that, an enjoyable experience.

karnakgames says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 11:29pm

Great graphics and innovation, it has a great cool "retro" atmosphere. But hard to throw bombs on the right place.

minism says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 11:44pm

Beautiful game, good to see something this nice looking with Love2D. Inspires me to continue using the platform.

Rex Peppers says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 4:47am

Nice job! Thanks for making a Mac version, I really enjoyed the game, good level design...

marudziik says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 8:30am

Very consistent - I really liked the graphics and audio. I'd prefer the bombs to have some real (as in, parabolic) trajectory, jumping with W and no pushing back when throwing bombs (I fell too many times and had to reset just because of this), but these are just minor complaints. The game's pretty good anyway.

azurenimbus says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 3:49am

If I ever make a platformer, I want it to play like this. It's so satisfying, so fast, so responsive, the jumping off the edges and coming back from the top was brilliant. Great great game!

Also, great graphics and mood.

Krisjet says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 8:38pm

Nice entry. I'm not sure I really like the bomb throwing mechanic, it was very hard to hit what you were aiming for, but the graphics and music were very nice.

Dr.Pingu says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 2:20pm

Really good game, from the beginning to the end !
Great job :)

Blanky says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 3:10pm

Nice game, I love the audio and graphics

Puzzlem00n says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 2:47pm

Amazingly tight controls. Fantastic, I'll have to examine the source.

recursor says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 9:03pm

Getting the bombs right where you want them is a little difficult, but...wow. This is one of the best Love engine-based games I've seen.

SonnyBone says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 9:21pm

Rad little game with perfect audio. Having jump on 'w' would've really helped out. Great work.

May 13, 2012 @ 10:31pm

Very nice atmospheric game. The graphics and audio were spot on! ^^
The bomb mechanic was interesting, but felt a little hard to control as you couldn't influence the force with which you threw the bombs. :3

JonathanG says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 11:52pm

This has lovely graphics and music and a nice mood to it. There was some puzzling to it involving the wrapping edges, but a lot of it was trial and error - the bomb throwing physics were a bit strange, especially when standing on a ledge and trying to throw downwards.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]