Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 23

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Bright Worlds - johnfn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Note: This game is pretty processor intensive. If it seems sluggish on your machine, let me know. I'll try to have a lower quality but faster version out shortly.

You play as a lost white robot in a world of tiny bright planets on pedestals. Also there are a lot of switches for some reason. Beware of the darkness, which will drive you mad. Try to find the tiny world that is your home.

The theme link is pretty tenuous - sorry about that. I didn't have enough time to tie it in :(

View johnfn's journal. | View all entries by johnfn

Ratings

Coolness87%
#132Audio3.26
#160Innovation3.52
#234Mood3.05
#247Graphics3.30
#252Fun3.15
#273Overall3.24
#491Humor2.12
#875Theme1.76

Comments

De10ter says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:59pm

Interesting. I didn't complete it but I struggle to see the theme in it :/
I would say it was a nice little platformer except the controls seems pretty sluggish for me making it a little frustrating as soon as enemies appeared.

uberneen says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:02pm

In Windows I'm getting an error that the archive is corrupted. I can't unzip it.

johnfn says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:13pm

uberneen: can you try again? The zip seems to be working fine for me.

de10ter: sorry, this game is pretty processor-intensive, as it does a lot of light calculations.

vigrid says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:54pm

Fun little logical platformer, and for some reason it reminded me of The Incredible Machine.

Jungorend says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:03am

The window was a bit small so it was hard to see at first, but a lot of fun! It's really cool moving the light around to pass through areas. :)

Milo says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:32am

Uhh... is it supposed to be producing a constant high pitched noise that hurts my ears? (Presumably no, so I'll leave audio blank. I'm on Mac OS X 10.7)

Aside from that, I like the concept and enjoyed pushing about light sources, but the controls felt a odd (it'd be great if the up arrow made you jump) and I kept respawning in really weird places.

johnfn says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:27am

Milo - aww, that's too bad, I worked pretty hard on sound.

About the respawning stuff - it's actually very hard to choose a good respawn point, because lots of places that were previously safe might not be safe any more if you move light around. So yeah it gets a bit odd. If I had more time, I'd make a checkpoint system.

Thanks for the comments!

Budda says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:08am

I seems it needs more work on consistency. Others say movement is sluggish etc, on my PC it is far too fast, it is hard to control the character at all.
Nice idea for a game though, I like the ability to ove the lights around.

johnfn says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:26am

Darn; I worked only on OSX so I didn't realize that the Windows version was so speedy. I slowed it down a tad - I hope that's okay.

gavin5564 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:41am

Awesome platformer, Just played on windows and it ran like a charm (Win 7, Intel I-7950 3.07ghz, 8gig ram)
The music was fantastic and perfectly fit into the game.
Great job.

dansludumdare says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:05am

I put a light source in a hole (locks underneath) and couldn't get it out or go anywhere without going insane.

Sluggish on 2 year old laptop; Win 7, 32 bit, 1.3 GHz dual core, 3GB RAM. Interestingly, the character responded quickly, but the camera, world, and text were the slow things. Something to do with Pygame threading I guess.

mneubrand says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:11am

Cool little platformer. Nice idea with the lighting scenario. Game seems a little laggy on Windows 7 64-bit even though I tested on an i7 and none of the cores are over 50% utilizations. Can't seem to get the BG music out of my head now either :)

johnfn says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:16am

dansludumdare: Putting the light there is correct! It's a puzzle! :-)

Permanent7 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:26am

Really cool idea. Ran just fine for me but I'm on a quad 3.5 hehe. My only problem is the pushing blocks. Sometimes the blocks would get on top of the light worlds and some times it would push blocks when I didn't want it to. It seemed to push blocks and light worlds even when I wasn't next to them.

davidpeter says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:33am

This was an excellent game and all the coding with the lights is impressive. One thing I would change is how objects fall, though - they differ so much from your character that it's kinda weird. I guess that you did this because of the lights, though? Anyway, the puzzles were hard and actually required use of your mind, which I enjoyed.

Gremlin says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:19pm

Pushing crates is really twitchy. Clever mechanic, though.

azurenimbus says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:12am

I'm sad that I can't hear anything but a screeching sound on my Mac OS X Lion :(

Loved the mechanics, very nice game.

Tom 7 says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:25am

Clever game mechanic and good music. The physics were quite loose, which made it kind of frustrating. I think with really fast updates and sub-grid mechanics this could be a very good game.

robcozzens says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:27am

Pretty cool.
High pitched squeal for me too (iMac).

Drabiter says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:49am

Cool platformer puzzle game. Love the art and music. However I suffer a bit lag when playing. Still, it's good.

Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:55pm

I love this type of puzzle! Very nice! The graphics are beautiful and the idea is cool!! Well done! :)

Sxw1212 says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:11pm

Neat!

the8donut says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:18pm

Interesting concept, cute graphics, great music. Solid entry, good job!

Tokken18 says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:52am

Very Cool! Really liked the graphics and controls! The lighting mechanic was very interesting as well! I played this on a mac and when it started up the sound let out a horrifying high pitched noise that would not stop and had to mute the speakers. Not sure why that happened. Couldn't really judge the sound though due to that. Ran well and was fun! Well done!

PIXEL^3 says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 1:04am

pros:
original concept and fairly good art.
The music was catchy.
lighting was pretty good.
Cons:
pushing things wasn't as smooth as smooth as it should be.

Ran fairly well on my craptop. not 1000 frames a second NASA computers, but still ran fairly good.

derrickdool says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:18am

Great mechanic here. Light "map" works really well.

racarate says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 6:42am

Very polished, like how you just get dropped into the action. Raycasting as a mechanic is clever, reminiscent of the WiiWare game "Lit". I enjoyed the look quite a bit, everything was very cohesive. Level design seemed well-thought out as well. The only downside was the game feel on player movement. It felt really twitchy and unenjoyable. I don't know how to explain it better, the jumps seemed spasmodic maybe? I enjoyed inhabiting the world, but the feel of movement made me stop playing. Musically, I thought it was spot on a very happy-science song. The filter on the music when you went in the dark was great, too.

johnfn says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 6:50am

racarate: That's too bad about the movement. It's possible that your computer is one of the ones that can play this game freakishly fast. I really should have made a compensation for faster FPS, but didn't really have time :(

uberneen says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 5:22pm

I got it running in linux from your git repository. (Just run main.py, so you could add a linux link if you wanted)
It's a neat concept, I just had some issues with movement and interaction. It runs really fast on my PC as well.

dr_soda says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 7:27am

The light and dark mechanic is quite inventive, and I have to give you a lot of credit for it. likewise I think you did an excellent job on the soundtrack.

On the other hand, like you say in your post mortem the controls just don't feel quite right. Furthermore I think I found a really nasty bug in that when I fell down a dark tunnel that "killed" me, so I pushed a light down into it... then when I followed the light I found that the entire screen was nothing but an infinite pit of darkness.

Even still, I'm glad I stopped in to play this one and I think you have correctly identified the major issues.

JaJ says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 5:06pm

Fun idea, nice sound and graphics, but I don't see the theme in it.

tfendall says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 3:43am

Cool, original concept. The lighting thing was cool, but as you said, processor intensive. So it was a bit sluggish for me (i7-2639QM 2.0 Ghz laptop, 6GB ram running win7). Overall it was fun to move the lights around and try to get from room to room without losing my "sanity". The controls were a bit touchy when moving boxes and lights around, so it was hard to get them exactly where I wanted, and even once I got the boxes on the switches, if I came back into the room it would reset, so I'd have to replace the boxes. I see why the lights reset, but it'd be nice to keep the boxes on the switches (assuming that's the winning case). I admit I didn't have the patience to try and solve the whole thing - sorry! Couldn't figure out how to get light into one of the areas.

Overall - really original and fun. Good job!

johnfn says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 6:10am

tfendall: about boxes and switches. They actually do remember their positions on top of switches, except in one special room where it's possible to be unable to continue if the box didn't reset.

It's too bad that you couldn't finish, although I do understand that the game is a bit finicky. I'd encourage everyone to try to see the final puzzles (when aiming beams at the world maker), as I think they're the best puzzles in the game.

tcstyle says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 12:04pm

Great idea. Unfortunately the controls and physics feel quite rough and there are some glitches. The visuals and music are pretty good.
Awesome you made this with python and pygame.

Misfit says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 5:31pm

Nice puzzle platformer and nice music. Lights were a good idea.

pag says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 8:38pm

Really nice game! The music effect when you go into dark areas was cool and it gave you a real sense of urgency to get out of the dark. Great job!

masterhyjinx says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 11:47pm

Good job and congrats on the entry!. The graphics and music are really good. The concept is presented in a very interesting way and with some polish it could be a very good platform/puzzle game. I didn't really seem the theme in it though. Moving lights was a little weird and there were a lot of bugs in moving stuff that prevented me from enjoying the game. (Light and box getting stuck on each other. Losing sanity, getting reset and the light was gone). You have the beginning of a good game though and I wonder if you plan on finishing it and releasing it?

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]