April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Flatlands

by johannhat - 48 Hour Compo Entry

From the Readme:

Flatlands is a puzzle game with an ever changing world! You control a very tiny world (3x3 grid) and can place various tiles on any of the 9 places available to you. But be careful! As you're placing tiles, parts of the world have a tendacy to fall off! Every 5 turns or so, select columns from 1 to all my fall of the edge from the top! To reach the win condition, you're going to have to manically modify your land fast to reach the world state you so desire!

Built with XNA 4.0. You may need to download the Redistributable to make it run (http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?id=20914) Sorry about the inconvenience.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#69Audio3.54
#84Innovation3.77
#208Theme3.46
#285Fun3.08
#287Mood2.95
#302Overall3.19
#460Humor2.17
#472Graphics2.81

Comments

arhpositive says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:30pm

i should say that this little game is really cool. Although I didn't understand the consequences of most of my actions, everything felt nice. This can be improved to be a better game with levels and instructions on how to play, not to mention more tile options.

On the other hand, button switching didn't seem to work after I finished my first game and pressed R to reset. I got stuck on Upgrade.

blob says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:37pm

Nice concept and catchy music !
I d love to see extra levels with more tiles type.
Maybe add a simple score system and make the requirement slightly random to increase replayability.

Had a bug where I couldnt click anything after resetting the puzzle.

johannhat says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:55pm

Thanks for playing! :D I think I'm going to play with this idea a bit more and add new tiles, scenarios and miscellaneous things I didn't get to within the 48 hour window. I'm really looking forward to seeing where this will go.

As for the reset bug, I embarrassingly forgot to reset the boolean for the win condition upon reset. I'm keeping it how it is for the compo of course, but one can fix it pretty easy in the source if they have the initiative. I've fixed that and a couple of other silly bugs in my local copy. :D

blob says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 7:09am

Cool stuff ! Leave me a message if you update the game ! http://insertcoinsplz.blogspot.com/
Would be happy to see more of it :)

Good luck.

R3ason says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 3:00am

Huh...interesting! Pretty fun little game; thanks!

HeuGamer says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 3:06am

Simple and easy, it was confusing at first, then i got the hand of it and beat it in about 2 minutes.

greg20man says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 3:11am

I wasn't sure what I was doing my first play through but this was a nice well rounded game, great job.

robbiehunt says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 3:56am

Really liked how snappy this game was! The animations were smooth, and all the controls were responsive. Gameplaywise, thoughb, this game would benefit from a tutorial! Didn't quite know what I was doing at first, but still wanted to play - that's a WONDERFUL sign!

This same game with some prettier graphics and a more thoughtful interface would be something I'd play regularly! No joke!

Good job man!

tomhunt says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 4:05am

I think the tile graphics and the 9x9 grid work with the theme. I was a little put off by the lack of any in-game explanation of what I'm supposed to do, and it seems like it could have used some helpful sound effects more than music. Otherwise, it is an interesting concept that seems to have a lot of potential to be an addictive little puzzler!

dagothig says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 5:08am

once I figured out how the game was supposed to be played, I found the game to be fairly fun, although I found that there was very little to actually do

j_peeba says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 5:31am

I was also a little bit lost at first how to play the game but once I got rolling, it was pretty pleasant. There's a lot of potential here for further development!

Topaz says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 6:50am

Wow. Very nice game! :D

xBlinkedx says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 7:31am

Pretty good, I liked the music. It was a bit hard to understand though and would have benefited from instructions.

jwolf says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 5:58pm

Neat idea!

While the graphics may seem simple, they have a certain charm to them, and that makes them look pretty decent in my opinion.

triplefox says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 1:40am

Showed promise. The mechanics were interesting but hard to grasp, and I won before getting a good understanding. Five stars for bravely innovating.

evilseanbot says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 8:15am

I get an error message informing me that XNA doesn't like my graphics card. Maybe I should have let it go out in the sluttier shoes?

johannhat says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 1:58pm

"Mmm, XNA likeys that dress, yes! Give a little spin there and-- Oh. Um. I just crashed.... Huh. Y'know, don't tell anyone about this."

I didn't realize this about XNA 4.0, but it has a Reach profile setting that's not as intensive. When I get back tonight, I'll make a post-LD build as a separate link with that already set (Along with some other minor bugs fixed.)

And again, thanks for the comments, guys! Now that I'm rested up from the LD-fest, I'm pretty pumped about continuing this idea. :D

Raptor85 says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 10:54pm

can't test due to xna4 dep (doesnt run on WINE)

someone says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 6:19pm

Can't play on Linux. XNA doesn't work in Wine.

johannhat says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 12:00am

I'm going to try and get a Monogame variant up shortly! It's mostly completed, but I am having issues with the Rectangles not intersecting properly (Whereas it works fine in XNA, the hitboxes are being calclulating inaccurately in Monogame. Has anyone else had any issues with this?) Hopefully by tomorrow I'll have that up!

robcozzens says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 12:13am

I would try it if there was a Web or OSX version.

mneubrand says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 5:24am

Interesting game concept. All starting tiles (they're always all of the same type for me) and the win condition seem to be hardcoded so it gets repetitive. I would like to play an expanded more polished version of it.

manax says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 3:46am

Looked good, and nice audio loop. I thought I knew what I was doing, but after a move, things got weird...

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]