About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 10 days, 10 hours, 47 minutes, 16 seconds
  • October Ends: in 11 days, 10 hours, 59 minutes, 16 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 46 days, 11 hours, 47 minutes, 16 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 23

    April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

    Back to Browse Entries

    Super Strict Farmer - Benjamin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    YOUR GOAL
    You have 12 rounds to accumulate more victory points than your opponent. At the end of the game you receive victory points for extra cattles, sheeps, grain and food

    USING ACTION SPACE
    On your turn, you can use your blue farmers on various action space, you start the game with 2x farmers wich mean you can perform 2x actions each round.

    FEEDING YOUR FARMERS
    At the end of the round you must feed your farmers, they consume one food each. If you have no food, farmers eat grain. If no grain they will eat victory points. If no victory points, your farmer will die.

    BUILDING STUFF !
    If you collect enough ressources you will be able to use the workshop action space. Choose one card and the building will be added to your territory. Some Building have special power, or have victory point value.

    EXTEND YOUR FAMILY
    If you start a round with at least one empty house, you will gain one new farmer. So build a third house as soon as you can ! You need 3x woods and 1x grain for this !

    PLOW FIELDS
    You need fields to keep animals or to sow grains

    View Benjamin's journal. | View all entries by Benjamin

    Ratings

    Overall4.37
    Coolness71%
    #5Fun4.13
    #9Graphics4.43
    #43Theme3.95
    #47Innovation3.94
    #80Mood3.44
    #115Humor3.08
    #137Audio3.22

    Comments

    heuermh says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:40am

    Incredible. Love the title and all the character animation.

    kylerhoades says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:54am

    The title screen is gold. Fun game. Reminds me a bit of Settlers of Catan. Nice work!

    orangepascal says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:27am

    honestly, most of the time I had no idea what I was doing.. but I had fun anyway, so pretty good :)

    whitetigle says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:22pm

    is it possible to zoom ? So that I can see the wonderful tiny anims ?

    cantorfew says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:13pm

    This was really well made and polished and balanced!

    The only thing is that I wish I knew which buildings/actions were availble even if I didn't have the resources (for example, I didn't know the bridge existed until the second game).

    Otherwise, very enjoyable.

    bms says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:44pm

    Wow it plays as good as it looks! good job

    Thotor says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:42pm

    Once you understand how it works, this game is great and fun !

    whitetigle says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:54pm

    I wish I could handle logs and carry stones like them ! Great game !

    Tom 7 says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:49am

    Wow, nice! So much polish! The title is LOL, and the game itself seems like it would be pretty fun to play with some Germans. I tried figuring out a strategy, but I couldn't figure out how to play cards even when I had enough resources. Is there a bug?

    Tom 7 says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:50am

    Oh yeah, a 2x graphics mode would have been really agreeable.

    Kane says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:47am

    A very fun little game, I like it :)

    bompo says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:39pm

    Really good and polished strategy game!

    kirbytails7 says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 7:24pm

    Absolutely great! I would love to see this expanded into a fuller game.

    Codexus says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 7:27pm

    Really cool game. I spent a while on it but I was still surprised by some rules (like you can use your opponent's buildings!?)
    It would be cool to have a reference with all the rules.

    Zemmi says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 7:15am

    Wicked man. My friend and I played a few rounds against each other, beat him every time. One thing though, every now and then we would forget whose turn it was especially when the teams were uneven. I know you can see the color on the selections but I think an icon off to the side of the screen on the current player's side would help.

    01101101 says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 11:03am

    Amazing, made in 48h... awesome

    Carduus says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 11:22am

    After 30 sec, i understood the game concept. By the way the undestanding phase is really interesting and fun.
    Super Strict Farmer is a really smart game, nice art and feedbacks (sound and visual FX.)
    GG !

    Apr 27, 2012 @ 7:38pm

    My gawd what a great game! Love the graphics, they're absolutely gorgeous ^^ and the whole balance system is brilliant.
    This game could definitely be continued after the compo :3

    Waffenwars says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 10:02am

    Superb entry, the learning curve could have been smoother, but it's such a small thing in the grand scheme. This is Catan, on speed, played it on all difficulties, great fun, well balanced.

    thynnmas says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 3:17am

    Fun. Would be great as a multiplayer game on the go, since it's turn based.

    Jacic says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 3:10am

    Great game! It reminds me of Settlers of Catan, which is a good thing. :D

    Pierrec says ...
    May 5, 2012 @ 9:07pm

    Ok. This is awesome.
    I'm a huge fan of Agricola, I've played it A LOT, but not as much as I would like to because I don't have many friends who like Agricola :/
    I've tried some web version of Agricola, and it was BORING, moreover, everything was so tiny it wasn't even playable.
    So...when I saw you tried to made an Agricola inspired game for this Ludum Dare, I was very excited.
    And I'm not disapointed.
    Strict Farmer isn't a video game version of Agricola, it's a game inspired by Agricola, but much more simple, short, and easy to play, and that's why it's great. I took me around 1 minute to get all the mechanics, then I played 4 ou 5 times (so 1 minute wasn't too long)

    Of course, I'm not 100% satisfied, this game is GREAT; but was made in 48h so it can't be perfect (and it's quite impressve already). So here's my only critic :
    - THE AI IS DUMB! ^^
    Ok, I suppose it's because I'm an Agricola fan, so the game is quite easy to me in front of an AI, but I was expecting the hard AI to be really tough, it's not enough ^^ I beat him by 2/3 points everytime (and right now...I'm a bit drunk, so it's not supposed to happen ^^)

    Strict farmer is a game I enjoyed to play, but now, I want it to be a game I'll enjoy to play everyday, so make it harder ^^

    Some tips :
    - I noticed the AI sometimes send a farmer to the flag, even if he's already the first player...that is stupid ^^
    - I noticed the AI relies way too much on fishing (to get 2 food) You should teach him to make his own food!

    Well, anyway, thank you. Obviously I give you five stars.

    Pierrec says ...
    May 5, 2012 @ 9:08pm

    woah...that's a lot of ^^

    Tifu says ...
    May 5, 2012 @ 9:30pm

    Woah that's tough, but seems fair, so that is the essence of a good challenge I guess. I just need to play more :D

    recursor says ...
    May 5, 2012 @ 9:58pm

    I found this to be a very fun and graphically enjoyable game. Great amount of polish for 48 hours. This one is on my re-play list.

    Kvisle says ...
    May 5, 2012 @ 10:33pm

    A very good entry. A bit too hard for me, but other than that; Very good.

    Muhiz says ...
    May 5, 2012 @ 11:13pm

    Good game. Nice graphics, fluent gameplay and it's really fun to play. Catches the theme as well. Got the idea really fast, so it was intuitive as well.

    davidllanos22 says ...
    May 5, 2012 @ 11:15pm

    Now I'm addicted to this game :p Awesome work!

    Madball says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 6:43am

    I loved this game.
    I didn't get if we can use enemy's buildings. I guess no, but it turned out that enemy can use MY buildings. But I won anyway :P
    I should try 2P now.

    uprightpath says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 6:43am

    Very, very hard. Especially since of the ten times I played I only got to go first once. xD

    Catman says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 8:48am

    I love agricola, this is a really cool rendition which really reminds me of that game!!!! Really well done! Sending this to my fiancée immediatly! :)

    madflame991 says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 10:18am

    Pretty challenging - I didn't manage to win it even once. The graphics are neat and it's surprising to see you made it all in 48 hours

    netguy204 says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 1:39pm

    Loved it!

    Sestren says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 3:42pm

    This game is amazingly well-polished and fun to play! 5 Stars!

    rvmook says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 6:07pm

    Took a while to get the hang of the turn and victory point system but eventually it got me hooked. Loved playing it!

    kibertoad says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 8:56pm

    Most fun to play LD game so far :).

    Dr.Pingu says ...
    May 7, 2012 @ 11:31am

    impressive !
    a little bit hard without reading the guide ^^

    Really good work

    23 says ...
    May 7, 2012 @ 11:45am

    Impressively complex system - too hard for me, but I know I can make progress if I put more time into it. On top of that polished audio and graphics makes for a fine game.

    deejorg says ...
    May 7, 2012 @ 5:46pm

    Amazing game. Really liked the diversity in the actions. The animation when they go to a place and back is really fun too. Congrats!

    character says ...
    May 7, 2012 @ 8:18pm

    This game has everything I want out of a farm sim. Spent a good 30 minutes playing this one. Can't wait to play Head to Head against another person.

    machinas says ...
    May 8, 2012 @ 6:44am

    nice game. took a few tries to get through. think I found some bugs:
    * if you have less guys than the enemy, you get extra turns even after placing all your guys
    * i won the game 14 to 12, getting most of my points in the end, but it still said 'defeat' on my side
    * when I plowed my fifth field, it appeared under the enemy houses.
    pretty impressive amount of polish on this for a single person's work. almost makes me skeptical you could do it all yourself... :P

    angelk says ...
    May 9, 2012 @ 2:15am

    This is adorable and really clever. I love the style! Only great things to say about art, graphics, fun-ness and overall quality. excellent job!

    Mago says ...
    May 9, 2012 @ 2:00pm

    Awesome. Incredibly good idea. Tiny turn base settler / resource manager. Two player mode is a nice touch. Game is very fun to play and addictive. Very cool graphics make oldschool mood.

    Sodaware says ...
    May 10, 2012 @ 2:08am

    It's a little tough to figure out what's going on when you first start out, but after a while it makes sense. Love the name and opening titles, and the graphics are nicely detailed and fit together well. One of my favourites so far.

    azurenimbus says ...
    May 10, 2012 @ 3:37pm

    A fighting farmer game! I really like the presentation, and laughed out loud (for serious!) when I saw the title screen.

    jplur says ...
    May 12, 2012 @ 10:07pm

    Wow solid entry, on of my favorites!

    steamgirl says ...
    May 12, 2012 @ 11:12pm

    Really enjoyed playing this. Wonderful graphics, good feel.

    A minor point was that I couldn't figure out how to build things for ages, because whenever I hovered over the workshop area it highlighted as market because the opponent had already used it.

    But once I played my first playthrough, I fully understood how it worked.

    MrPhil says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 8:12am

    Amazing.

    Chinchilla says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 2:34pm

    Brilliant! Puts my entry to shame!

    SonnyBone says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 8:56pm

    Really rad! But the other guys can use the buildings I construct? Seemed a bit odd. Other than that, it was incredibly fun and refreshing. Great job!

    BenW says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 9:24pm

    A lot like agricola. Love how polished it is.

    mildmojo says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 11:58pm

    Really nice! I wasn't able to win a game (damn AI), but I had fun playing. It looks like you have different buildings available on each play, which is cool. It was tough keeping track of what everything did, and it seemed like the AI opponent was able to magically conjure lots of food from the pond (or my buildings??). I never figured that trick out.

    Very polished. Nice job.

    demonpants says ...
    May 14, 2012 @ 8:10pm

    It's Agricola 8 bit version!

    Bonifacio2 says ...
    May 24, 2012 @ 4:11pm

    Had loads of fun with game. Congratulations!

    Aubron says ...
    May 29, 2012 @ 12:04am

    The AI is a cheating f*ck.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]