April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Interstellar Moai Ranger

by Shifty - Jam Entry

Uchuu Sentai Pastagaga succeeded to contain the evil forces during 72 hours. But now we need your help!

Play as Moai Ranger to save innocent girls and beat the evil army in this Rail Shooter-like game.

Go through the level and defeat the Evil Giant Mantis Robot and his minions to get the highest score possible.

-

If you have any issue with the game, make sure that you have direct x and dotnet installed on your computer.

If you can, please play with a gamepad. Here is a free tool that allows you to use your Xbox360 gamepad on a Mac OSX (http://tattiebogle.net/index.php/ProjectRoot/Xbox360Controller/OsxDriver).

-

KNOWN ISSUE #1: When the game starts, if the ground is not scrolling try to quit and restart the application. It should fix the issue.

KNOWN ISSUE #2: If the input for the camera doesn't make the planet rotate (just the background or nothing), try to play in "Fantastic" mode.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#24Audio(Jam)3.83
#27Humor(Jam)3.59
#40Fun(Jam)3.44
#53Overall(Jam)3.54
#84Graphics(Jam)3.64
#91Mood(Jam)3.05
#115Innovation(Jam)3.05
#155Theme(Jam)2.83

Comments

kutuup1989 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:34pm

That was awesome! Reminds me of Thunder Blade back in the arcades :P

Shifty says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:00pm

Thanks! Did you beat the boss ? :)

Jiddo says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:02pm

The graphics are really impressive. I just love the look of the game. The fact that I'm extremely bad at it doesn't change the fact that this is a great game. Good work!

I was running it through Wine on Linux tho, and for some reason it locked up before I got all that far. It was however running very well up until that point.

Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:03pm

Excellent! Feels like an awesome 90's arcade game!

Jeremias says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:09pm

I can rotate the background, move with my character and shoot, but nothing happens... can rotate the "ground" or go on? After I shot some enemies down which are on the screen at start, there is nothing to do anymore. Used keyboard and then gamepad.

jwolf says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:13pm

Ahahah, nice Space Harrier type game. I'm not sure what to do at the boss, though (shoot the arms?). Some of the smaller enemies are rather hard to hit as well.

You may want to ignore input for a second on the gameover screen, because the player is likely holding something down when it switches. At least, it catches keyboard input too quickly.

leafo says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:42pm

Pretty cool game. Nice job on the boss at the end.

PaulSB says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:42pm

AWESOME. Space Harrier-esque fun times. Unfortunately incredibly difficult to play on keyboard (don't have a gamepad to hand). Also don't think there was a graceful way to quit the game. But great job - looks/sounds great!

Shifty says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 11:13pm

Thanks for all these feedbacks! We will try to correct all these issues with some updates. Also the keyboard controls are a real problem :/

deejorg says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 1:37am

Unfortunately i can play, because i have a mac, but i saw the gameplay video and looks very good!

Tourgen says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 3:53am

Awesome! I loved it! An joystick controls too! They were a little touchy but still good. I didn't beat the boss my first try but I'm going to take another crack at him. Great work.

Shifty says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 8:44am

Thank you guys!

deejorg> we will try a web export AND a Mac export but without a pad the experience is... different :)

Pierrec says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 11:42am

Hard to play on keyboard, but great anyway! I really really love it

Shifty says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 7:04pm

The OSX version is up! We tried to build a web version but the result is not really interesting.

May 1, 2012 @ 2:05pm

Le jeu est tres bon, et tres jouissif a la manette. Moi qui ne suis pas amateur de ce type de jeu j'ai adore, et une mention speciale pour les sons qui sont bien sympa.

---
Oxydam

Shifty says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 9:34pm

v5 is up with some more fixes :)

Mach60KAS says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 11:10pm

That was outright hilarious. Great pastiche of sentai anime tropes right here! ;)

IgnatusZuk says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 11:12pm

Firstly awesome job on the GUI and menus! some cliche awesomeness xD
As far as game goes; it's a fun quick 2.5D shooter, with fitting sounds and music, I love it!
Controls were a bit hard in a sense that I had to press so many different keys. In my opinion it would have been better if you were shooting and aiming with the mouse, and having the running direction effected by the mouse aswell (Instead of Arrow Keys). Other than that, a really nice Jam entry! *Thumbsup*

DaveDobson says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 1:09pm

I love the graphic style and music here. The game is exciting, but I found the controls and perspective hard to manage (maybe it would be easier with a game pad than with two hands on the keyboard). There didn't seem to be much more than shoot stuff, save girls, although I wasn't able to get too far into it without dying. I gather from the comments that there's a boss, which would be cool. Nice work - impressive for 72 hours.

Brassawiking says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 1:50pm

Just love the sound and the intro. The controls was a bit hard when playing on a keyboard but great work!

Dan C says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 9:49pm

The presentation of this game is exceptional.

I'm sorry to say though, that even using a gamepad the controls are absolutely horrible. Absolute positioning is not a good way to control a character.

If you're using gamepad with analogue sticks that have a circular restrictor, such as XBox 360 pads, then it's impossible to move the character into the corners of the screen, which makes impossible to hit a lot of stuff.

The camera controls are too slow to be of much use.

I'm afraid the control issues did colour my impression of the whole thing, but otherwise it's great. Good System16-style retro arcade gameplay and great use of sound. I was mildly disappointed by the ingame graphics but only by comparison to the intro graphics which are really cool :).

s0ulcrusher says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 10:30pm

Hell yeah this is badass! Feels like the gijoe arcade game but with more ridiculous, excellent work!

May 3, 2012 @ 10:14pm

Excellent game!really fun and the music is also really cool. Camera controls are the only issue for me. Also Great name! Interstellar Moairanger!!

Oye Beto says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 12:54am

I liked the music and sound effects. The arcade style of the game is pretty cool (menu and stuff).
I wish I had an xbox controller because it's difficult to play with the keyboard.
I suggest adding an aim indicator and since it's Unity, maybe you could add a web version.

Shadow says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 2:12am

Good game, like it a lot. However, as far as I know you should not be doing fixes on your entry directly. It's completely valid to put a link to an updated version, but as a separate link from the original submission. The original version submitted to the Jam should always be there. It would be unfair to compare a game which has received further development against entries which were done in the jam time frame. Please correct that.

Jedi says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 11:08am

What Shadow said goes double for me, right down to it being a good game. However, I have to give you 1 stars and hold off on a serious review until you follow the rules and at least post the original jam version, labeled as such. And if you're going to make post-competition changes, having a changelog is nice, too.

Shifty says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 12:18pm

As requested the original build is online. Cheers

Andrew says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 12:24pm

Awesome music in this one. Sets the mood. Unfortunately I lack the fps to dodge out of the way of things properly.

blob says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 5:53pm

Fun style and cool music but controls were a pain. Camera was really slow and its too bad the world is so grey.

Pavel Dlouhy says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 4:51pm

Hi! What about original version for OS/X? I tried windows version and there is missing a lot of objects in game (I compared it with your video). :/ Actually, I see only background (silhouettes of buildings). I tried few restarts and various resolutions (without effect).

Jedi says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 9:55pm

Thank you for putting the original up. At first, I was very upset because it seemed like EVERY thing had changed except the audio. It seemed like you swapped out a broken game for a working one. v5 IS a lot more polished but I dug deeper after reading the first comments posted and I figured out what was going on. I'm now happy to give you some feedback.

Biggest issue:
The game is not framerate independent. It seems like if the FPS is too high, the game won't move along at all. This is why version 1 seemed so broken to me. I left the quality at the default setting of "Fastest." If I make it "Fantastic," the game moves along pretty good (though still not nearly as fast as in the video).

I tried opening up 4 instances. The game might have moved a bit faster but the biggest difference I noticed (with v1) is how many more buildings and enemies spawned. It seems to me that how fast your character moves, how much stuff spawns and how often enemies shoot are all framerate dependent.

My second biggest issue is the night effect. I think it's overused, in every sense. It happens too often, for too long and it gets too dark. You could get away with it (and it would look really cool) if you make the enemies and their shots have some emissiveness.

You probably shouldn't have things popping up on the horizon if the player can't possibly get to them. I think tightening up the turning radius would only help the planet to feel smaller, anyway.

The music is awesome and the graphics are good.

23 says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 8:53am

This was fun! I have to agree with others who found the controls weird, though - it felt very unnatural to always be drifting back to center. I also couldn't get a grasp for exactly what direction I was going.

Above all, a great sense of style. Looking forward to the next one!

Shifty says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 8:40pm

Thanks a lot for your feedbacks. Yes the controls are a pain, this is due to the spherisation and would have asked a lot of time to be tweaked. If we continue the project (not planned at the moment) this will be the first thing we will correct.

Also, there is no original version (v1) on Mac OSX. The first Mac OSX version is the v5.

Finally, v6 is online and should be our last update.

Spotline says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 8:42pm

Excellent !

ericdpitts says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 12:48am

Wow awesome job, loved the Space Harrier vibe. The character movement felt a bit wonky, it would have been nice if it was a bit more precise (pressing left and then right makes the character teleport), maybe not always make him default to the center when there's no input?

But, great job folks! The intro, the music, the sounds, the graphics, it was all awesome.

May 9, 2012 @ 8:54am

Lovely presentation! Music and graphics are beautiful.

Gameplay lacks a bit punch and could use some tweaking, though. Also, you can't tell in the menu which button is actually selected. They both always are a different color.

Jigxor says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 2:04pm

That was a hilarious intro and overall quite fun! Really solid polished game, great work! :)

Pavel Dlouhy says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 10:22am

It is nice! I don't have a pad and it makes me sad!-) Good job!

Ranoka says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 11:08am

I almost gave up, I thought the game was broken. But I replayed with the quality setting set to Fantastic ant it worked. I really love the music in this, I think it makes a huge difference. I found it quite hard but I managed to kill the boss with 1 life left! I liked how it gets dark when you're on the other side of the planet.

omaha says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 6:28pm

Incredible use of sprites. This was a lot of fun.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]