April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Pixel Story

by Flyboy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In Pixel Story, you play as an apprentice magician who accidentally shrinks the world and has to quest to fix it. Your spellbook has been torn into six pieces and scattered through six realms, and you must defeat the challenges within to repair it and unshrink the world!

Pixel Story is pretty much my first fully complete game. I was gameplay complete with 15 hours to go, so I put a lot of time into polish. I hope you enjoy it.

You can watch a timelapse of the development process here.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4FR7FS7lHqI&feature=youtube_gdata

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#81Overall3.67
#97Fun3.51
#117Audio3.29
#133Theme3.61
#162Mood3.20
#273Graphics3.24
#322Innovation3.18
#390Humor2.30

Comments

the8donut says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:14pm

Very good job! You managed to make a fun out of only a bunch of pixels, this ain't simple at all. Kudos!

the8donut says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:15pm

I loved it. Creating an interesting game with so few degrees of freedom (about a hundred pixels, 5 buttons to press) requires a lot of skill. Good job!

Magnega says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:19pm

Awesome, just awesome. The graphics are suprisingly fitting and the difficulty level fits.

De10ter says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:20pm

Wow.
I loved it.
Combining puzzle solving with shooter skill, and creating some really distinct encounters with so little.
My only complaint is that I found the cursor a little hard to follow/pickout.

NiallM says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:21pm

I like the idea, and I thought the pixel graphics were really well done, but I found it a bit too hard for my tastes. I think part of the problem was that I'd frequently lose track of the mouse cursor; it could do with standing out from the background a bit more.

FrozenCow says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:28pm

Nicely done. This game is quite hard, though I've finished all but the 2 on the upper-left, those were a bit too much :P.

Toast says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:57pm

Many have asked, "when it comes to graphics resolution in my game, how low is too low?" This game attempts to answer that question by diving into depths of low resolution never before ventured. Even in the 60s, they were less hipster indie. Bravo.

crippledgames says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:01pm

Very fun for how low res it is, awesome!

Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:03pm

Awesome job! This game was a lot of fun to play. I'll echo the other comments in that I would occasionally lose track of my cursor. Maybe a twin-stick control-scheme would work better? Either way, a lot of fun and a great game.

azmaeve says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:32pm

Nice, but it is quit difficult to play on a non-US keyboard ^^' (mine have zqsd instead of wasd)
An alternate set of controls with the arrow keys would be nice.

gregdevice says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:34am

This should come in a cartridge. Reminds me of my 2600. Nice job.

geekygenius says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:45am

I love how much time you spent on the art! It looks really good.

Sanguine says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:21am

Is it just me or is this very hard? Anyway, great job, you really applied less is more!

MrEvilGuy says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:22am

That polish paid off. Quality oozes out from this game. The purple thing that sprays liquid at me was my favourite part. I had to really focus on moving and shooting to stay alive. The difficulty is perfect. Excellent job on everything. Great use of colours too. Moving my cursor over other colours to make new colours is another game in itself!

john_conder9 says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 6:01pm

Some of it was confusing being that they were just pixels but overall it was really fun!

Top quality though, without a doubt!

Jezzamon says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 11:45am

oh no! Another game I can't play on my mac. :C

Looks cool though.

keenblaze says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:23pm

Great pixel cocktail!

Apr 27, 2012 @ 5:23pm

Awesome!

elektron says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 11:41pm

Brilliant! All aspects of this game come together to create a truly amazing experience. This is probably the best entry I've played. Great job!

Jiggawatt says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 9:25am

Building the gameplay around the super-low-res limitation is a good approach. The difficulty is just right, the levels actually feel like challenges and are rewarding to complete. My only gripe is that the targeting feels slightly off.

jeffz says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 12:08am

Interesting if not a little hard to control due to low resolution.

R3ason says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 12:10am

Wow, incredible! Can definitely see the effort that went into this; feels very polished. Also great that the whole game didn't reset when you died (a couple levels took me several tries!). Thanks!

kirbytails7 says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 5:47am

Very fun and great challenge! I would prefer strictly keyboard controls, though.

DaveDobson says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 5:59am

This is the most fun game I've played on here. I love the different challenges and enemies; it was as much fun figuring out what I was supposed to do as it was doing it. Some of them were REALLY hard, which was frustrating, but I was satisfied when I pushed through, and there was enough variety you could go try something else for a while. Great game - loved it.

Thotep says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 10:21pm

Interesting aesthetics, audio was ultra-annoying though. Generated tune + sfxr is a lethal mix :(

csanyk says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 10:42pm

Just about impossible with a trackpad, but I bet I could do better with a mouse.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]