April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Ant, Bee, Cow, Pig and Spider BOSS

by karnakgames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a lost ant and you have to go back to your underground nest.

But to get there you will have to hide from the Evil COW, PIG and the SPIDER BOSS.

Maybe your friend Bee can help you? Maybe if you save her from the spider?

A little platformer with some stealth action.

Instructions:
- Move with WASD or Arrow Keys.
- Jump: Space.
- Action/Shoot Rocks: E
- Shoot Stick: T
- Switch Character: Tab (if unlocked)

** Use your rocks and sticks wisely **

TIPS:
1) Rocks don't hit meat
2) Rocks hurt wood.
3) Wood cuts lines.
4) Lines cut can save friends.
5) Friends can reach higher places.
6) Higher places can open lower altitude places
7) If it runs, you can also run away
8) If meat sees you, you can go back and it will stop
9) And you want to fall after using your friend's help
10) HEY LISTEN, THE GROUND!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#155Humor2.92
#320Audio2.74
#417Mood2.70
#456Graphics2.83
#461Innovation2.87
#494Fun2.69
#541Overall2.79
#616Theme2.63

Comments

smvilar says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:30pm

I don't understand how to get the sticks...

madflame991 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:32pm

This was pretty weird.. I think I completed it (if visiting the ants was the objective). You shouldn't be able to outrun the camera...

cmo7 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:37pm

Great sounds! :D

karnakgames says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:41pm

@smvilar: see tip: 2) Rocks hurt wood.

@madflame991 oh I tried to make a smooth camera, but it is impossible to polish it completely in 10 hours (I worked only around 9-10h in the game).

@cmo7 thanks!

Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:08pm

i like it but didnt really understand what to do after the cow ;p

bms says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:16pm

Really weird game, but in a good way :D I like the graphics, and the gameplay is smooth. The only problem was the keys were a bit unnatural.. Good job!

Toast says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:16pm

This was hilarious, no idea about the actual game, but I loled.

bms says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:17pm

Really weird game, but in a good way :D I like the graphics, and the gameplay is smooth. The only problem was the keys were a bit unnatural.. Good job!

cakemonitor says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:18pm

I couldn't understand what to do after releasing the bee. But it's still a good fun game and nice to see an Easter Egg included ;) Great work!

karnakgames says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:24pm

Thanks everyone! As for weird, even my wife "WTF is this?". This is my second LD and the second time I make a senseless game :P

FredericRP says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:25pm

Well, I didn't get it ? I got two rocks, went after the cow on the right, passed the spider on the left and stucked on the pig (could not jump over nor walk under like I did with the cow),

ratking says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:27pm

Interesting ideas, somehow. I rescued the ant! \o/

thristhart says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:28pm

Innovation: 3/5 - Nothing spectacularly new, but nothing too derivative either.
Fun: 2/5 - Loses a lot of fun because the mechanics are not intuitive, and experimentation is discouraged (you can't win if you waste even a single rock, for example)
Theme: 4/5 - Eh, fits the theme, but it's not clever about it.
Graphics: 2/5 - Not pretty, but mostly I can tell what they are. Except that pink thing - I'm guessing it was a pig?
Audio: N/A - Not on a machine with audio, so not rating.
Humor: N/A - Didn't see any attempts at humor, so not rating.
Mood: 3/5 - Cheerful, but nondescript.

Suese says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:22pm

I play this game to the end and it was too short. The ant-walking sound effect was good.

Thank you for this.

karnakgames says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:38pm

FredericRP: see tip 7.

thristhart: thanks for describing your rating and the hnest review!

Ratking and Suese: :D

R3ason says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:34pm

Well that was just plain fun! The best quality of the game, if you will, is that it enticed me to keep playing until I won. Great job with the variety between the puzzles. Oh, and that ant walking sound...so annoying yet so perfect :D
Overall, the game brought me back to the days of Kings Quest for some reason. Anyway, great job; thanks for making this!

karnakgames says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:44pm

R3ason: wow, thanks for the great feedback! It makes me feel a little better about the game (I was hating that I submitted it).

Gremlin says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:37pm

Very linear/puzzle-solving design. The audio's humorous. One of the weirder games I've played so far.

otaviogood says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:18am

Is there a hint book for this game??? I can't figure out what to do after using the sticks. Fun game so far though.

Lidfrid says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:56am

How can i get the sticks?! i can't throw the rocks..but nothing happens..

Daniel says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:36pm

Nice but weird :D

karnakgames says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:40pm

@Gremlin, @Daniel: Thanks.

@otaviogood and @Lidfrid: please see the game description above.

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:40pm

Congratulations fellow brazillian gamedev i like your entry.

But...

Though, i think i wouldnt be able to tell what to do in the game at first... if i did not read the guide you posted.

But overall i like it :)

Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:58am

Dude... Just hilarious! XDD "Wohoo!~ 8D" Hahahahahaha XD

Zythiku says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:44am

Sounds were awesome! Game was fun too.

strega says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:52am

Neat game! The sounds started to get really annoying though, especial the ant walking.

kylerhoades says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:55pm

Played through to the end. A bit wierd but that was part of the fun. Nice work.

Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:09pm

Funny sounds but I just can't procees, I can get two rocks, but I don't find any wood, I can't get past the pig. Perhaps bit easier game next time.

MadGnomeGamer says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:25am

I like it! Took me awhile to solve it, but that's part of the fun. I found the easter egg, too. :) A really zany and fun little puzzle game!

(PS Who else found satisfaction in buzzing into the cows butt as a bee to hear him bellow?)

I also liked the ant scuttling sound.

ilo says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:28am

Hilarious! Though the sound effects may haunt my dreams...

karnakgames says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 1:06am

WOW thanks everyone for the feedback! As I said earlier (or didn't I?): I work daily with games, so I take Game Jams as an opportunity to do the opposite of my work. That means, I can't make anything serious, I have to make something weird/different/sarcastic/etc as opposite to "make a game with this or that rules to make players happy or to agree with a mechanic".

@strega @ilo @MadGnomeGamer I made all sounds using only my voice (except Jump/Powerup which is CFXR).

@AdventureIslands please see " If it runs, you can also run away " -> so run away from the pig and you will see the result :)

spilth says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 2:44am

This was pretty fun! The homegrown sound effects were fun and the multiple tasks/character was cool. Nice job!

wademcgillis says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:33pm

Tried to hit web with stick: No result.
Tried to hit web with rock: No result.
Tried to hit cow with stick: No result.
Tried to hit cow with rock: No result.

I don't know what I'm supposed to do. But it was fun running around and having that thing happen to the pig!

edbadiux says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:45pm

I laughed with the sound effects, nice job ^^. Short but fun game, congratulations.

vigrid says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 4:53pm

Great sound effects - really fun to listen, not too distracting. graphics do their job, and even the promised "stealth" element is there. Don't try to play without reading the tips!

ratboy2713 says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 1:15am

I like the hints, but I'm still not sure what to do when I've acquired the bee.

DaveDobson says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 6:53am

Very clean jumping and controls, very nice camera and terrain control, and I liked the scuttling noises and other effects. I got stuck early; I lured the pig to the spider, but I couldn't figure out anything else to do, despite running back and forth a lot, so my ability to explore it was limited.

jimmypaulin says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 6:44pm

Very funny, irreverent, absolutely no idea what to do but I love the sound and presentation! Feels like it needs a bit more to flesh it out to a full game i.e a main menu, maybe some hints what to do, but I enjoyed scuttling around a while

PIXEL^3 says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 9:23am

found the easter egg.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]