April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Shorted Out

by HybridMind - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here is the compo version of Shorted Out, my first game ever in Unity. I didn't end up having time to add sound effects or music, but I'm happy with the progress I did make within the time limit. I managed to create four levels at least for this strange racing game.

Basic idea is that you are a lost electron and you have to reach the SAFE-T zone at each level. You use the arrow keys to move and if you short out on anything metal you spark and take a little penalty delay. Tracks your lowest time record.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#346Theme3.19
#361Graphics3.00
#396Fun2.89
#520Overall2.82
#562Innovation2.64
#725Mood2.19
#729Humor1.58

Comments

hamburger says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:41am

Cheers on learning a development platform via Ludum Dare--that's the way to do it for sure! I like the concept and setting. Would have enjoyed leader boards :)

spooks says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:11pm

That's very good entry, especially for your first unity game. Great concept and features. If you spend more time on it post-comp, a leader board or two player would be awesome!

Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:40pm

first game ever in unity? Wow, great result in 48 hours! Well Done! :).. I like the concept and the gameplay!! If you continue to develop it adding more level this game can be very fun! :)

jwolf says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 6:10pm

Oh, neat! I didn't even realize it was 3D at first -- it's pretty stylish. It could definitely use some sound (which you've mentioned) -- the sparks alone on collision probably aren't enough for feedback.

Birchmountain says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 9:57am

A really laid back and simple game, love it! A lot of the games submited is hard to understand. But this game is pretty straight forward while still offering fun gameplay! Well done.

Permanent7 says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 4:15am

Not bad! Some decent level design. Pretty good for learning a new engine.

dansludumdare says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 4:32am

Way to learn Unity in 48 hours!

My main complaint is the ball physics. I'm not sure if I just didn't understand it or what, but it seemed more complicated than I could be expected to understand (given lack of tutorial and whatnot). I got that there was momentum, but I also felt like I was slipping for a little bit when accelerating 90 degrees away from where I was currently moving.

kratorspore says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 7:52am

Great work for a first Unity game! I would have made the ball go a bit faster.

Beerman says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 12:32pm

Nice job. It's a damn sight more fun than my first Unity game was.
Some very basic sound effects (zap on contact, maybe a warning buzz as you get close) would have really added some atmosphere, but the game itself is fun enough.

Endurion says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 3:05pm

Nice game, especially for a first.
However it's nothing too ground breaking and the ball could've been a bit faster.
I dearly miss a nice zzzzzap sound when you do hit a barrier.

dcolgan says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 3:21am

Nicely done 48 hour game. A bit short, but well executed and polished.

Izzimach says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 3:37am

Pretty short and simple, but easy to understand and polished. Audio would really help a lot though.

Scott Baker says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 4:34am

First impression was that the game was kinda short and not that innovative. But smooth and polished other than lacking audio.

But then I read that this was the first time using Unity. Learning Unity and building a compo?... Fantastic job!!!! I have been tinkering with Unity for a while but still didn't go with it for the compo because I wasn't ready.

tfendall says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 5:15am

Cool game. Fun concept and good graphics. I think it'd be a little more tense/fun if the ball rolled faster with really tight controls, giving you the ability to really master the game. As it is it's great, though. Nice job with your first game in unity in 48 hours!

gregdevice says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 3:30am

Nice little game! Good job on the levels and graphic style.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]