About | Rules and Guide
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 7 days, 15 hours, 19 minutes, 45 seconds
  • October Ends: in 8 days, 15 hours, 31 minutes, 45 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 43 days, 16 hours, 19 minutes, 45 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 23

    April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

    Back to Browse Entries

    Big Space Tiny Man - invaderJim - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    A,D - Move
    SPACE - Jump

    CLICK To Shoot

    Try not to die! Even though you can't! The little people will overtake you.

    Watch for the little people.

    Mac version is up!

    Also, it should be noted that while you cannot die, you also cannot win :( Thanks for playing if you do, though!

    View invaderJim's journal. | View all entries by invaderJim

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #82Humor3.29
    #277Theme3.31
    #287Mood2.95
    #355Graphics3.03
    #408Fun2.87
    #441Audio2.46
    #580Overall2.74
    #661Innovation2.44

    Comments

    Darkcoder says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:05am

    Very funny, I loved the sun and moon! The way the inhabitants climb onto your mask is awesome, but I couldn't figure out how to beat the game once you collect all the parts?

    invaderJim says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:49pm

    Thanks for the kind words, my good man. Unfortunately, you are stuck on that little world forever, for there is no end :(

    This is what happens when I wait until the last hour to code the actual mechanics of the game.

    gavin5564 says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:33am

    Loved the way the guys died when you shot them.

    Rose says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:38am

    Cute game. The background looks really nice.

    Lacutis says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:48am

    I loved the blowing up of the little people!!! However the ending was slightly disappointing in that I collected the parts and then there was nowhere to place them afterward.

    fatSquirrel says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:56am

    Not only can I step on the little people I can shoot them too! Good work on the game, the "SUN" made me laugh.

    Rabbits... says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:02am

    I have found that you can make it through by only looking down and clicking a lot. Nice sun though...

    fprawn says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:05am

    Loved killing the little guys. Wish there was an ending, though, I need closure after murdering an entire civilization.

    Zythiku says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:19am

    Was funny seeing all the little people attack you. Wish there was a way to swat them off some how. :)

    mneubrand says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:21am

    Cool idea. A pity that you didn't get around to finish it. The animations of the little dudes are awesome.

    R3ason says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:23am

    Fun! Loved the little guys climbing on you! Would have been cool if you could have won...Thanks!

    jeroenimooo says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:59pm

    Hahaha the blood on thr ground and the tiny explosions are awesome!

    Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:59pm

    FINISH! PLEASE! :-) Had fun :-)

    pighead10 says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:00pm

    It was sort of just walking forwards and collecting parts... Everything was nice except the actual gameplay! ;-(

    Ace says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:03pm

    The message boxes need to stay on screen longer, even if you keep moving. Also could use a way to get all the small people off your mask.
    Nice humor though, especially the "Sun" and "Moon".

    artefon says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:03pm

    Had some fun playing this game. Nice opening music. It's funny how the astronaut jumps :) So sad it doesn't have an end.

    galman says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:09pm

    Very cute game, the sun is very intresting in this planet. Well Done!
    P.S
    Just realized that these are tiny people, notanrs :-)

    morganquirk says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:25pm

    Woah, the tiny people made me uncomfortable as hell, like bugs crawling up me. Strange effect. Anyway, cute game, "SUN" is hilarious.

    NoLan Labs says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:26pm

    Fun game, the shooting control was nice and responsive. Hope you finish it.

    racarate says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:53pm

    I got "Monkey runtime error: [object Error]" for the HTML5 version in IE9. Ended up playing XNA version.

    Nice story, and names.

    I like the art, especially how huge the astronaut sprite is (reminds me of old NEO*GEO fighters), the parallax scrolling and how tiny the ants are compared to the player. And the sound design was pretty good, laser-wise.

    I also enjoyed the moment where you realize that even though you collected all the parts, your ship is never going to be fixed. It reminded me of a Ray Bradbury short story. Also, the ants on your face.

    Valeour says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:57pm

    Very fun and funny, shame about not being able to die, and my sun got stuck apparently. Would be cool if I could shake off the guys though. You should work on it more! Would be awesome!

    matheus23 says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:16pm

    Loved the look of the SUN and the MOON. That music on the title screen reminds me of something... Have I ever heard it already?

    Transmit says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:16pm

    It was all going so well until my health bar started poking out the otherside of itself, and I realise I had nothing left to do! Either way though I did enjoy it.

    andyrofl says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:30am

    Regardless of the end, or lack of an end, jumping around in a space suit shooting tiny people with a laser was fun.

    eburn184 says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:50am

    At first I thought my suit was deteriorating, but then I realized I was covered in little people! Nice job. Only complaint is that the text boxes need to stay on screen longer.

    strega says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:19am

    Haha, I love the way the little people climb onto your suit. I didnt even realize they were there until like 2 minutes into the game.

    derosa says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:36am

    Haha, loved to step and fire those little guys! I almost started yelling "get them out of me!" when I saw them on my suit :D

    Kassoon says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 1:52am

    "SUN" made me laugh, and I thought it was cool when I came upon the other side my ship. Didn't realize that it was unwinnable, so I ended up backtracking all the way back to the beginning to see if that would get the trigger to fire properly. I also got audio error 1 in the little console window a bunch. Good art and cool idea, shame you couldn't finish it!

    AlwaysGeeky says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 2:18am

    Nice going, I actaully thought the graphics style made this game stand out. well done! :)

    Kyatric says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 2:57am

    It was the funniest game I played so far.
    But it had some technical issues loading in FireFox at first.

    It's really sad that there's no ending though, or no way to die and that the pressure bar is buggy.

    ghRibacki says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 3:48pm

    It reminds me of my own entry! I liked it, but it seems to have the same flaws: needed more gameplay and some challange. It has way better graphics though, especially the sun and the moon! Good work. =)

    ratboy2713 says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 7:07pm

    Cute little mens try to destroy the giant, very funny.

    Daniel says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 4:59am

    Kind of buggy, but still very cool! Specially the little people :)

    dukope says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 7:54am

    Very cool that they can climb onto you. Could use a bit more in the gameplay department, but I got a chuckle out of the sun and moon.

    Apr 30, 2012 @ 12:57pm

    Okay game, it's too bad you didn't have the time to actually finish it, it could have had potential. Tiny people were funny.

    vigrid says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 7:31pm

    Kudos for posting the game, even though incomplete. The game had a nice visual appeal to it. It could use some sounds from the tiny people, too.

    kylerhoades says ...
    May 3, 2012 @ 7:13am

    This is a pretty cool little game you've made. I like it. Being able to win or die would have made it much better, especially if your head exploded awesomely when the pressure got too low. Loved the sun and moon graphics lol. Good work, mate.

    angrygeometry says ...
    May 4, 2012 @ 5:21pm

    liked the little inhabitants. at first i thought it was some sort of reflection until more and more started to consume me... cool game.

    May 5, 2012 @ 9:47am

    Awesome! I love how your weapon kill the tiny people.. It give you really the feel that you are big respect of they!! Great work, and very good rappresentation of the theme!! :)

    azurenimbus says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 3:43am

    It felt great to shoot the little people :D Nice animation and sounds. I actually played a while before reading I couldn't win haha. Finish it, it'll be lots of fun!

    Hume says ...
    May 7, 2012 @ 2:59am

    I would have won, I guess, because I got all the parts and got back to the ship.

    The explosion physics got you humor points. :)

    dustmyte says ...
    May 7, 2012 @ 11:54am

    Seriously, the way the little people cling to your face shield is hilarious. It's made all the better by having heaps of tiny arrows sticking out of you. This is surreal game design!

    Datamosh says ...
    May 7, 2012 @ 6:04pm

    Overall is nice, but needs improving! Actually I wanted to keep going, too bad it didn't had an ending! Personally I didn't like the word "SUN" there. Was that supposed to be that way or you ran out of time? Either way, it's not bad. Keep up the good work!

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]