Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

CAPSULE [web]

by True Valhalla - 48 Hour Compo Entry

CAPSULE is a really weird interactive experience. While it is considered complete, it is not really much of a game, and I have no idea if anyone will like it or even get it. But, I had a heap of fun making this 'thing', and I hope you'll enjoy exploring it.

Comments are very much welcome. I live for them! I have very low expectations for this game so I can handle any criticism or negative feedback too - just leave an opinion :D

---------

Controls:

LMB - positive interaction
RMB - negative interaction

---------

Tips:

- This game is deeper than it might seem, but it is short.
- There are 4 ways to end the game.
- The most entries at game end you can get at once is 10.
- Finished? Try playing again in a different style.

---------

Find me on Twitter: http://twitter.com/TrueValhalla

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#92Innovation3.74
#95Humor3.21
#199Mood3.11
#233Graphics3.34
#285Theme3.30
#380Overall3.06
#393Audio2.56
#606Fun2.51

Comments

makatak says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:04am

It's different, but not in a bad way. Unique. It's not a game, but it's interesting

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:51am

I didn't see the part about the "positive" vs "negative" interaction until after I played. Definitely makes the concept a little more interesting. I like!

PerilousPete says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:58am

Saved the customers and burnt the attendant to death, does that mean I win?

keely says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:16am

Not fun as in fun game, but fun in other weird ways. I think the positive/negative mechanic is very cool! I could see how it would make an awesome bigger game with time and polish. I'd give you 6 stars on innovation if I could.

TenTonToon says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:18am

Really interesting experience... Left me scratching my head for a while. But then, that might be I have a dry scalp :)
No interactive experience where "I HEART HITLER" shirts are announced could ever be a bad one! :D
Feeling like squeezing some more fun out of it!

oddgoo says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:04am

I agree with the others, the positive/negative interaction system has a strong appeal behind it, it makes you wish there were more scenarios to experiment further =).

The Mother(?) and baby sprite were click-able but nothing happened after more than 20 interactions.

marudziik says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:57am

I don't know if I like it as a game, but wow - do these HTML5 entries become better and better or what? I freakin' love the art style. And maybe it's not really a game, but it is fun in some weird way. :)

aaronsnoswell says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:27am

Wow - it's not a game, but this is still really cool. Love the idea of positive vs negative interactions - and how you have no clue what that means until you try it . Art and sounds are amazing. Great job!

23 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:41am

Really cool idea! It's hard to pick out any one thing, but it'd be really fun to see more games with basically the same mechanics.

bms says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:14pm

I couldn't open the web link..

Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:18pm

Unique, i like it.

Nocturne says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:24pm

I can only concur with the others that have posted so far... Not really a game this, but rather an experience! But a fun one that I would be willing to repeat, as the game mechanic is excellent and really deserves far more game than it gets. I hope you expand upon this!

angrygeometry says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:16pm

it's an interesting concept, but uh, i can't get over the fact that you used nazis as a prevalent theme/device.

uberneen says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:17pm

I like the gameplay mechanics and the end-game reporting.
It was sometimes difficult to figure out what interactions were available, but otherwise very nice!

graytest says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:20pm

I really like the pos/neg interaction idea and the graphic style. As you say though, it isn't really a game.. A bit more of a story/gameplay and I would have really enjoyed it!

mattchu says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:32pm

I thought it was interesting. It has an interesting premise and had some interesting solutions. A bit small in scope, and it ends too quickly to really feel a sense of true exploration. Definitely would like to see the concept expanded.

johanp says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:50pm

Great fun little peek into a weird world.

ben says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:15pm

As an exploration you obviously succeeded what you were trying. As an interactive piece of media it failed pretty bad for me. I didn't understand what i could influence or why i would want to or what affect my actions were having. If you started with a simpler situation with a smaller amount of things to influence and some more direction for the player i think it would've been more succesful.

robbiehunt says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:28pm

Graphics and audio = fantastic but...

I dunno dude. I see what you were going for, and I like the aesthetics.

I just feel like it needs something... more? But still, good job!

R3ason says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:14am

Hmm, don't really have much to add to the comments already listed; it was certainly different! Graphics are great. Really. Took me a bit to figure out what items were interactive, but once done it really piqued my interest. I'd for one like to see this developed further...

free_napalm says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:49pm

Very unique. Loved the mechanique and dialogue. Would be quite cool to have a normal game, like a platformer played only with arrow keys, but you can also interact as in this game with the mouse.
But the way it is, it's missing something to be a game. Whatever it is, it's interesting.

ThatSnail says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:53am

"Want to hear a joke? A seal walks into a club..."

Hilarious and unique. Just short of full points across the board from me. Excellent work.

robcozzens says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:51am

I didn't get it. I had no idea what to do.

MadGnomeGamer says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:21am

Aaack! Oh no! He commited suicide after 5 seconds of interacting with me!! :(

LOL I tickled the islnad dweller, made the cashier happy (did he really eat that gum?), beeped the customers, tried to steal candy from the baby...and broke the teleoprter, making it shoot the customers to a gory death.

Really weird and interesting simple multiple-choice game! I like how A not all the choices are obvious, and B how simple it is to choose good/bad interactions. Now I know why mice have two buttons.

Eamon says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:13pm

It was a ok game, but i think it should be longer and have a tutorial as it was pretty confusing...

Thotep says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 9:54am

Interesting concept, it would be cool if you developed it more (whole world reacting to player's actions)!

Kyatric says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 3:05am

Innovative, good work.

eli says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 2:27pm

Nice! I kind of read it as a critique on modern games to give these dichotomy choices and then summarize as "good" or "bad" overall.

AD-Edge says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 11:45am

A unique kind of game, I had to play it though a few times to see what I could do. One of the first LD games to make me chuckle (launching the workers violently into the ceiling)

RandomOutput says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 5:20pm

interesting game. Love the art style and the way you looked at the theme. Well done.

wademcgillis says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 4:29pm

You should get a job at http://notgames.org !

tinymagus says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 9:30am

One of my favourites.

ratking says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 2:38pm

I liked the general idea of finding out afterwards, what you did some klicks before quite interesting. Very unique. But after three plays I wish I would have understood more.

May 13, 2012 @ 1:32pm

5 stars for Innovation and Theme. It's unique

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]