April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

TMORPG

by goffmog - 48 Hour Compo Entry

woooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!

It's a Tiny multiplayer online role playing game.

There are two major bugs at present:

1. Sometimes the first time you connect, the game doesn't set your name properly and you end up with a blank name.

2. Losing your connection = death, the game does nothing to try to re-establish a connection to a client it's lost.

Do not attempt to play in IE. Works best in Chrome - sort of (fastest in Chrome anyway). There are a few bugs I'm working out at the moment.

Lots of stuff didn't make it into the game, I'll be writing up a post-mortem later on and linking it here. I may even do a post-compo version.

Enjoy :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#185Overall3.40
#273Fun3.10
#444Innovation2.90
#584Theme2.70
#625Graphics2.50
#1120Coolness10%

Comments

KungPhoo says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:38pm

It works quite nice. If it had more weapons and potions and such it would really rock. Also the multiplayer part is really fun, but there's not really a motivation to form a party.
Hide a sword or a princess or both.

goffmog says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:47pm

Thanks KungPhoo! Swords and potions were planned in the original design, along with races and classes and the game actually supports multiple eye colors and facial expressions but I had no time to do the character creation screens, or the shops :( Glad you enjoyed part of it, sorry you were killed by "The Internet" :)

angrygeometry says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:34am

hey, i think making an MMO in 48 hours is very impressive! shame you couldn't get all those features in there, would have really improved it.

goffmog says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:24am

Cheers angry, if 3 more people post positive comments I think I'll make a post compo version with all that stuff in it :)

JonathanG says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:22pm

If this didn't disconnect and lose my character so much, this would be great! I like the animation on the character's eyes as you move around. Also it was fun to meet up with the game's creator and have a chat in the game ;)

I'm not entirely sure how the XP/health system works, I'm not sure I managed to level up at all and I couldn't find any health potions to regenerate after fighting all those rats.

I suppose fun/humour/mood depends on who you're playing with!

goffmog says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:08am

Thanks for the feedback Jonathan. HP is always out of 100 but as you gain exponentially more exp your attack and defend ratings go up. Attacks do a base damage of 1-10 multiplied by the attackers attack rating divided by the defender's defend rating. There aren't any health potions but entering any of the doors in the village will heal you. There are even some doors lower down in the dungeon. none of it was planned that way but lack of time towards the end meant I had to quickly come up with something other than the AD&D (2nd edition) ripoff system I had planned.

goffmog says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:15am

Oh and there are some humorous descriptions of attacks as you get more powerful but generally not much humour - unless the graphics made you laugh :) Fun as a single player game probably depends on how much you enjoy grinding and trying to beat the top scores.

May 5, 2012 @ 5:21pm

This is VERY technically impressive for 48 hours. This seems like a really nice base from which you could develop a neat MMO.

schnerble says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 5:29pm

I quite enjoyed your game - nice work! There are a few bugs that no doubt you know about; also might've been nice to mention that you heal in the houses :) (I did figure it out soon enough I guess) I couldn't get past the orc even after a lot of play, though. Also I guess I missed a lot of the attack descriptions as they go by so fast. Fun though. You just need more "coolness" (rating other people's games) so more people get to see yours in the list!

Madball says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 5:29pm

It's great that you could make an MMO in 2 days.
You MUST do a post-compo version!

Make A Game says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 6:44pm

This is insanely ambitious for a 48h game! I wish I saw other people online and hadn't been disconnected, but this sure is a lesson in following your dreams.

goffmog says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 4:27pm

Thanks everyone for the continuing great comments! I'm up against at the moment in terms of free time to spend rating other people's games, and polishing up a post-compo version. I haven't even got round to a post mortem :( I had a bit more time to spend on game mechanics this time around as I used some of the networking and rendering base code from my last entry, which was a multiplayer game where you collected jewels from a maze full of zombies. I posted that before the conpo started, to be within the rules. Last time it was a 36 hour struggle just to get the basic node.js/canvas framework together.

May 11, 2012 @ 3:22pm

A MMOG as a combo game is rather crazy! :) But hey you did it and this is impressiv and it's rather fun and well done. Congratulation! Like it! Simon

Tom 7 says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 11:48pm

There was nobody else online when I tried, too bad! I always smile at these tiny mmorpgs though, and yours worked the best of the ones I played in this compo. I killed some rats!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]