April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Worlds in Cards

by summaky - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"Worlds in Cards" (name picked up at the last minute) is based on the idea that whole worlds, albeit very tiny, are contained inside cards. The player can be inside a single world at the time, but she can jump from world to world if they are adjacent *and* the landscape matches. If for example, a world has a ladder going down, then the world at bottom must have a ladder going up if the player wants to move from one to the other (and viceversa)

However, you can't control the player directly. Instead the player's character goes back and forth between the limits of the world--either a single card or a combination or cards correctly arranged that forms a "bigger" world--she is confined in. Howerver, the player can swap two cards on the screen that have neither an object nor a character, be it the player's character or any other of the characters that are wandering around the level.

Even the game's window looks like a card of sorts, althought this is more a side effect of trying to fit the game in my Android phone. However, I think it fits the theme, specially if you have a large resolution, because the window looks so tiny...


I didn't have time to create many levels--5 to be exact--and they aren't very challenging. I guess it takes much more than I have to make puzzles.

I couldn't test extensively the Windows version as I only have a VM and the Linux binaries "work on my system", but I can't guarante that they will work everywhere (64-bit was build under Gentoo and 32-bit in Debian testing.) The Android build works at least on my tablet and phone.

The music was made with Greasymonkey's autotracker, so I don't claim credit and I don't think it would be fair to rate it. I tried to use a custom "autotracker" that I did sometime ago, but didn't produce the same kind of quality. Most sound effects were made with sfxr, except for the sound that the cards do when are swapped; this one was made with a broom.

I tried, and failed miserably, to have a look-and-feel reminiscent of GB, partly because I thought that maybe my lack of artistic skills wouldn't be that noticeable. Oh, boy... how wrong I was!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#31Fun3.79
#38Innovation3.99
#45Overall3.83
#164Mood3.19
#203Audio3.05
#243Graphics3.31
#264Theme3.33
#426Humor2.22

Comments

Seppi says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:43pm

This is super awesome. I love the colors (dmg01) but it throws me off to use a mouse, and have an oddly shaped screen.

dr_soda says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:37pm

I played the Android version. Really nice! The one issue I seemed to have was that the congratulation screen's dark fade seems off-center on my Droid 3.

Mind returning the favor for my own Android game? http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-23/?action=preview&uid=8342

dr_soda says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:46pm

Oh yeah, one other point to remember for next time : Don't use the default launcher icon, and *DEFINIETLY* don't call your app "Ludum Dare XX" or "[THEME_NAME]". It's hard enough to keep those things straight on a desktop machine when you're reviewing submissions from different people, but nearly impossible on a phone.

qosmos says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:23am

Loved playing your game [Android].
Gameplay is simple and really nice, quite addictive.
You should sell an extended version on Google Play, with more levels and (not a lot) more advanced graphics :D (These are 2 things you could improve, to my mind, but in 48 hours, it seems to be a good work :)

Fsmv says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:47pm

I couldn't get the linux version to run so I played the Android version. I loved the game and I'd like to see this on the Android market as well. I'd buy it at least.

Fireblend says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:55am

Played the game on my Nexus S - really great! I loved the concept and the clean art style, and I concur in that its uniqueness could make it a pretty popular game on the market if eventually polished, expanded upon and published - the card concept could allow for some nifty gameplay mechanics as well, and the blend between puzzle and platformer is very welcome :) Good job!

envy3d says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 5:10am

A solid entry with an interesting concept. Good job!

rynti says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 1:04pm

Loved it^^ Very innovative game idea, also liked the graphics. However, you could've been implemented a 2x Zoom, that would've been - for sure - looked nice ;)

mitkus says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:25pm

This is awesome! The idea is great and the game is very fun to play for a puzzle maniac like me.

Raptor85 says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:28pm

the linux 64 bit version was broken, it throws an illegal instruction at start, the 32 bit version works ok with older libs though.

Gabriel says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:36pm

Loved the mechanics! I can definitely see this being expanded into a full puzzler game. Congrats, nice entry!

TenTonToon says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 7:14am

Great concept and implementation! The Game Boy-esque graphics work really well, and you manage to ease the introduction of the player to the core mechanics gracefully.
Hopefully it will turn into a post-compo full-blown game.

Congratulations!

Apr 27, 2012 @ 8:15pm

Lovely graphics and very interesting concept ^^ I think it would need some more work to make things a little more easy. I guess making the enemies move slower could be possible. And I'd keep tiles selected even if an enemy or player enters, but you just can't switch it at that moment. This way you can plan movement without having to be really fast with your mouse (although I suppose it'd be easier on touch screen anyway :3)

moop says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 8:19pm

Nice little game. The only thing that brought it down for me (Mac version) was the it seemed inconsistent about detecting my clicking (and there was no feedback on clicking a fixed card).

CappaGames says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 8:30pm

Wow, this is really good! One of the best games I've played so far. Gameplay is VERY good and i like the gameboy graphics. You need to continue on with this game, I would buy it for a dollar on an app store with more levels. Great job!

crazyheckman says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 8:43pm

Tried to play the OSX version and it wouldn't respond.

davidllanos22 says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 8:56pm

Didn't worked on my galaxy ace android 2.3.3 :S The windows verson worked well! Nice little game! love the gb colors :)

lorancou says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 9:13pm

Very impressive. In just 48 hours. Wow!

Apr 27, 2012 @ 9:57pm

Really cool, I love these kinds of puzzles!
Except for the lack of levels it felt complete and polished. The only thing that's missing I guess is audio.

One thing that I found annoying was that I couldn't figure out why certain cards could be swapped and others not. If there is some kind of rule behind that it would probably be beneficial to make this more apparent or maybe just making cards which cannot be swapped another color.

Great job!

Qaterknan says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 10:01pm

awesome

rik says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 12:22pm

Nice idea, quite difficult with enemies, but the card swapping idea is really cool.

tlaine says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 12:30pm

Took me some time to finish but I got through. Worked well on my Windows 7. Nice idea, wasn't too easy.

Jhelle says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 1:09pm

Simple , enjoyable and polished! Good job on the graphics too

davidwparker says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 3:08pm

Really cool game. I played it OSX. It seemed quite buggy though, as it didn't let me swipe tiles a majority of the time. The music is pretty repetitive, but still not bad. Sound effects were good. Liked the graphics and sprites. Well done.

Mach60KAS says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 3:51pm

Wow, I really loved the cards idea! I think it's just really, really unique.

tcstyle says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 3:57pm

Great idea. I suck at the more "dangerous" levels so only finished the first three. The game feels very consistent. For a computer screen a 2x scale option for the graphics would be great.

raarlac says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 3:59pm

Awesome idea!!

Tom 7 says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 4:16pm

Very good! It is indeed reminiscent of GB. The game idea is nice, and the levels were a good difficulty (I think #4 was the hardest) and the game was the right length. Nice!

Apr 29, 2012 @ 9:46am

Will you be updating this with more levels? I want to play more! Really really great fun, great idea and don't knock the graphics they really suit it and the simple animations in menus and levels really is good.

LukeRissacher says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 10:59am

Enjoyed this one - got through all the levels - clever puzzler. I like the LCD graphics too.

Moth says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 12:29pm

On the contrary to your belief I did feel that the graphics were nicely executed and the old gameboy colors were really cool! I like where you went with the theme and I really enjoy it as a highly open ended puzzler- it's great whenever a player has ample leeway to produce their own solutions.

I felt that level 4 was a lot tougher than level 5! But that's not really a complaint or anything, just an observation :P Fun game, I think you have a really nice package here! I could see it as a neat and full fledged smartphone game with about four or five times the levels.

RHY3756547 says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 1:38pm

Really cool concept. Loved the whole thing.

Johnicholas says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 8:44pm

Very nice!

dokidoki says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 4:30am

Reminds me of "Continuity" (Flash) and "Rooms" (Wii), which I also enjoyed. Needs more levels, but good work! If you want to expand this in the future, a level editor would be neat.

ilo says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 12:24am

I really liked the card swapping mechanism. It felt a little like lemmings, as I tried to keep the player indirectly out of harm's way, and level 4, in particular was satisfying to beat. Only a shame there weren't more levels.

It worked fine on Windows 7. Did encounter too small bugs - on level 4, one of the enemies got stuck in between cards (I swapped the blank card in the top-right with the card next to an enemy just as it was in-between cards). And on level 5 the player seemed to be walking through the platforms (the player must have started to go down a ladder, just as I swapped the card beneath it with another card).

robcozzens says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 5:02am

Whoa... that went from "this is so easy it's boring" to "I can't figure this out for the life of me" in one level!
I think with a more gradual difficulty curve it could be awesome. It's a fantastic concept.

ehtd says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 4:24pm

Very nice game, I liked the relaxing gameplay. In OS X I had some trouble with the mouse clicks.

mooosh says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 9:53pm

really polished and well made! I would totally buy this as an expanded iPhone game.

amodo says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 3:02pm

Great game concept. Always loved everything with indirect control. Good, solid take on that. What the others said: release it!

May 3, 2012 @ 5:05pm

Nice gameboy like look. Great concept and tricky puzzles, nice work!

Oye Beto says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 4:20am

- I mostly liked the mechanic and graphics. You have a great concept, keep making levels :D

- The sound effect you made the with the broom sounds good! xD

- I guess you didn't have time to add a "win" screen because I finished the 5 levels but nothing happened :P

May 5, 2012 @ 2:00pm

do more with this! great concept. really like everything you did here. :-)

May 5, 2012 @ 4:59pm

In LD #22 i made a game with the same GameBoy-ish style. But your game is far better than mine's!
The concept is pretty solid, you should keep improving this game!

Pierrec says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 2:50pm

This concept is awesome and now I'm SOOOO frustrated. Level 4 was the best! I want to play more level 4!

derosa says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 2:51am

Love the style and polish level. I couldn't pass the 4th level, but well :)

Knighty says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 9:48am

Interesting concept. Level 4 was very challenging compared to the rest. It's a shame you couldn't make more levels.

Datamosh says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 1:21pm

I really like the concept and the art style! It's great! Nice job!

SusanTheCat says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 11:15pm

The art is perfect for the game. Very retro!
Moar!

aramis erak says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 7:23am

Awesome! Needs more levels, but once you have more levels, this would be a good Android market offering. Beautifully done!

Dr.Pingu says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 11:34am

I'm not good enaugh to reach level 5 but it's a great game. Music is pretty nice too :)

good job

azurenimbus says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 10:31pm

Incredibly elegant, meticulously designed, perfect little game.

One of my favorites.

23 says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 7:56am

Really cool idea and good way of presenting it - the GameBoy aesthetic worked just right for this.

I couldn't beat level four, though - enemies were just too tricky.

Dramble says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 7:05pm

Just the right level of difficulty.

jplur says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 1:57am

Novel concept and lots of fun, you must keep working on this!

machinas says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 5:11am

totally solid. i found level 4 to be much harder and more puzzlish than level 5, but both were good. some suggestions for improvements, make the empty tiles more obvious when selected. I had some troubles telling when I had a tile selected, especially when it was invisible. Seems like there are some bugs in the ladders. I had a few times where he wouldn't go up or down a ladder, but got around it by tile swapping a few times. excellent job!

jfroco says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 5:42am

Very original idea. Excellent music. Congrats

noddy2006 says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 11:24am

Excellent game! I agree with others about the difficulty being too easy for the most part, but level 4 was great. You should really consider putting this on the Google Play store if you decide to work on it further!

ghRibacki says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 2:37pm

Nice puzzle! I wish it had more levels! I'm keeping the Android build to try it on an Android, once I put my hands on one! Good work. =)

P.S.: It worked just fine on a 64-bits Windows 7!

Sheep says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 6:10pm

I have 64-bits Windows 7, and it didn't work for me :(

AirRider3 says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 6:40pm

Oh! I love it! And I laughed at myself when I failed (a couple of times) to evade the lava pit, or whatever is it hehe

SonnyBone says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 11:17pm

Windows download link broken? I keep getting an error.

chambers says ...
May 14, 2012 @ 12:19am

Even though it's very short, certainly deserves a 5/5 overall and fun. Very well-polished!

BenW says ...
May 14, 2012 @ 12:40am

Very cool concept. Would love to see more levels.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]