About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 9 days, 13 hours, 34 minutes, 25 seconds
  • October Ends: in 10 days, 13 hours, 46 minutes, 25 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 45 days, 14 hours, 34 minutes, 25 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 23

    April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

    Back to Browse Entries

    Colours in the Void - Benn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Welcome to Colours in the Void, a game where you have to use the surrounding environment to defeat your enemies. Click the bright sections of the map to create a beam, which kills enemies when they cross it.

    View Benn's journal. | View all entries by Benn

    Ratings

    #60Innovation3.86
    #79Audio3.48
    #113Mood3.33
    #244Overall3.29
    #317Graphics3.12
    #383Fun2.91
    #480Humor2.13
    #723Coolness44%
    #793Theme2.18

    Comments

    Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:21am

    I like the minimalistic health-interface.

    LegacyCrono says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:29pm

    Very neat concept, but it's pretty hard!

    ratking says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:30pm

    Very Bennilistic! :-)
    The gameplay mechanic with the laser is nice, but bad for my slow brain ...

    NeiloGD says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:06pm

    Very hard to play, but still didn't stop me from trying! As ratking said, very Bennilistic! Shows people you don't need "fancy" graphics to make a good looking game :)

    fishbrain says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:40pm

    quite a cool concept! i like the minimalist style. quite tricky though - but fun.

    Jacic says ...
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:34pm

    Pretty hard! I like the idea though, well done!

    Pixelulsar says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:10pm

    Cool and interesting, I also thought the graphics were quite nice.

    Apr 26, 2012 @ 7:23am

    liked the music

    Norgg says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 2:33pm

    Ouch, really difficult, got to the boss of the green level, hardly anywhere on any of the others. Having to try and look for something to beam off of, where the enemy is and dodge all at the same time is a lot to cope with. Fun though!

    Fireblend says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 3:04am

    Really fun! And incredibly difficult. I like the nice visuals, and the music feels like a perfect match. Also, loved the level selection screen although for a second I thought it was a loading screen :P

    dr_soda says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 4:47am

    This is a really inventive mechanic, and like your LD22 entry does a whole lot with minimal graphics. The sound is excellent too, adding to the atmosphere tremendously.

    On the other hand I found the gameplay to be very difficult and frustrating. I wasn't able to adapt to the art of keeping one eye on an anchor and another on my character, and frequently ended up crashing into walls.

    caranha says ...
    May 3, 2012 @ 12:26pm

    Frustratingly difficulty, but I loved the game. The idea of the colour shooter is terribly innovative, and the three levels are interesting. The entire game, including the level selection screen, has a very palpable "feel"

    Only two complaints about the game: The music started to get on my nerves after a while, and it could do with a better tie-in to the theme.

    Thanks for the game!

    Jeffalisk says ...
    May 3, 2012 @ 12:29pm

    I'm a sucker for little abstract boxes, so I enjoyed this a lot even though I had to use a laptop trackpad to play it (which is never ideal!)

    Dan C says ...
    May 3, 2012 @ 2:05pm

    Very difficult! But nicely put together.

    The level select screen is clever but a bit annoying. It's difficult to tell what you're supposed to click on at first, and the click targets are too small. Also, it's a bit mystery-meat, there's nothing to indicate the difference between levels except trial-and-error. I don't think it would be much fun trying to choose a level if I were colour-blind, either.

    Audio is lovely and well-suited to the game. I like your no-assets graphical style but it's not so interesting as in RGB which made such good use of motion.

    As usual you seem to have ignored the theme totally, which is fine by me :D. You could have put a kitten in or something, though.

    zdanielz says ...
    May 3, 2012 @ 4:14pm

    That was very nice! great gameplay (though VERY hard), excellent audio and slick graphics. It didn't really feel TINY WORLD to me though... anyway, Thumbs up!

    KungPhoo says ...
    May 3, 2012 @ 4:34pm

    The idea is something new. The mouse-key interaction is very hard for me. I'm not a good player, though.

    The graphics fit together, even it it's "just" blocks. Good work.

    Monkey Armada says ...
    May 4, 2012 @ 2:02pm

    Altought hard is a really nice piece of code.
    I like the mood!

    Valeour says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 3:42pm

    Very clever, really enjoyed it.

    Wyzfen says ...
    May 6, 2012 @ 8:37pm

    Wow, that was hard. I liked the different levels, and the music.

    castor says ...
    May 8, 2012 @ 7:01pm

    Incredible game, seriously. One of my favourites.

    matt says ...
    May 8, 2012 @ 8:34pm

    Cool twist on the genre. Pretty awesome game.

    aquasheep says ...
    May 8, 2012 @ 10:16pm

    Nicely done! I like the graphics, and I especially like how you made each level a different paradigm of arcade shooter (moving up, moving sideways, and free form).

    From what I could tell, playing this game is essentially like playing as Karma in LoL: you're always underpowered, your most powerful attack is hard as balls to coordinate, you're squishy, and you have an awesome time playing regardless!!!

    Good stuff!

    Misfit says ...
    May 9, 2012 @ 5:18pm

    Neat game. I liked the minimalist graphics, music and gameplay.

    JonathanG says ...
    May 12, 2012 @ 7:57am

    It's a nice idea, but it's really difficult! There's tons of stuff to collide with, and the bullets are homing :( Very innovative though, and good use of simple graphics!

    May 12, 2012 @ 10:16pm

    Very fun, top marks for mood, audio, graphics, everything really, except for the theme, maybe :)

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]