Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Tiny World!

by unicornpooping - 48 Hour Compo Entry

YELLOW ARROW GIVES YOU DOUBLE JUMP! SORRY FOR NOT MAKING IT MORE OBVIOUS :-)


follow me on the twitters!
@briancavallaro


I was only able to work on this for half the time. Not making excuses! Happy with what I did. This is my first competition, and if it weren't for the fact that I had to go to work I would have done a LOT more. As it stands it is a fun metroid-vania styled game set in a house. Hope you enjoy it! See you at the next ludumdare!!!


What to do!
So you move with arrows left and right. Then up to jump.

You collect keys to match to the colors of the doors. If you get stuck and can't get through a door you've already been through, don't worry! Keep going! You'll find another key eventually!

You will also get a yellow arrow that gives you double jump at some point to allow you access to other areas.

The main thing is, if you get stuck, keep going! There is always a key to collect!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#289Graphics3.18
#408Fun2.87
#409Overall3.01
#475Mood2.62
#520Humor2.07
#565Audio2.13
#691Theme2.49
#776Innovation2.12

Comments

Evgis says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:12pm

I like the simple graphics, and controls works well. Theme fits okay. Good work!

davidllanos22 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:24pm

Great graphics :)

jeroenimooo says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:24pm

Love the jumping on beds!

Tumaini says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:25pm

The game ran well and the controls worked fine, although I was unsure of what to do.
After getting a yellow key in the first room, I went out to the right to explore and when I got back I couldn't open that door anymore (it was not closed again).
The sounds were a bit random (not everytime you jumped e.g.), but a nice game none the less!

TenTonToon says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:36pm

The controls and the concept are both quite solid.
The 'jump' sound effect ended up being quite grating. And the backtracking after jumping down "the pit" and getting the double jump is a total turn off. Also, I think it would have benefitted from a more forgiving bounding box.
By the way: that's QUITE a house the guy lives in! :)

aaronsnoswell says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:46pm

These graphics are incredible (in the first room, at least!) Love it! Sounds match perfectly. Gameplay was a little shaky (I also got stuck outside the first room) - but more time and you would have fixed all that. What game engine did you use?

Amazing work!

Andrew Marsh says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:46pm

Works reasonably well, the sounds were slightly annoying though.

Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:49pm

Lol. And I just played through the game for the first time on my own. Only one spot was messed up just after you get the white key when you go to the next room it puts you at the wrong entrance. But other than that, everything works! And I was able to collect all the collectibles too. I'll chalk this game up as a success! Yay this was so much fun to make. :-)

Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:51pm

I used Multimedia Fusion 2 to make the game. And the sounds I guess get repetitive. Sorry :-/ This was my first game, so I didn't know what to expect. I also agree that the graphics in the first room are awesome. They are the only ones I had to time to really complete because I was only able to work on the game half the time instead of all 48 hours. But i'll finish the rest of the graphics eventually.

Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:53pm

Where are you guys getting stuck? You should keep going right and when you reach the orange room there is a blue key. Then you use the blue key to get the red key, then the red key to get to the basement, then in the basement you get the double jump, then with the double jump you can get anywhere. You can then collect lots of keys and should be able to access everything.

Kitch says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:53pm

The graphics work great for the game. Solid controls/collision for a platformer.

Toast says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:59pm

Hey man this was a fun little game, the overall concept was a little safe but it was still enjoyable.

Kane says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:10pm

I like the design and the size of this "tiny" world :3

ahm99 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:52pm

Great game. Good job

Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:55pm

Def played it safe Toast. I knew I was limited in my time, only had 20 or so hours in which to actually do anything. And it was my first game too. But thanks! Also your game was fantastic. Played it some more a few minutes ago :-)

ahm99 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:00pm

I just finished and I really liked it.

Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:54pm

Thanks! :-) What did you like and not like about it?

the8donut says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:08pm

Very polished retro-looking platform. Good job!

matheus23 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:18pm

would be fun, if you would have continued that graphical style.. but as I read it seems that that was, because of your missing time...

Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:22pm

Yup. I had planned on doing more, but my work schedule got screwed up and I had to do that instead :-/ I'm still really happy with the outcome :-)

chinchang says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:34pm

the small lil character was good. Nice effort on the level design.

AlwaysGeeky says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:56pm

Simple but nice graphics.

graytest says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:58pm

Simple and fun with nice graphics. Good job!

piterlouis says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:31pm

Nice, good control but where is my gold arrow???! XD

Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:03am

Wait, what is the gold arrow?

Lidfrid says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:00pm

Love the graphics...but fire damage is too sensible :( I rage-quit after the fifth time!

Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:04pm

What would you rather have instead? Three hearts or something?

Gornova says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:58pm

I don't like level design, levels seems to be empty

Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:02pm

Yeah, that's due to lack of time to do the graphics i had planned. If you get down to the basement it's quite lovely I think :-)

Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:34pm

Nice, simple graphics but the stages are so empty and long and without any music they become bit of a chore to travel around.

omaha says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:03pm

I could get the character to jump once or twice, then he would be stuck and I had to restart the app.

Seemed to get stuck in difference places each time i tried. I really wish i could have picked up that key!

Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:38pm

really? you got stuck? weird. do you know which key you got stuck trying to get?

marudziik says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:34pm

Graphics certainly fit the theme! As others had pointed out, some music would make this game much better.

jrasmussen24 says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:53am

Lots of content in there, especially considering the time limit. Really nicely done!

blob says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 8:48am

Got stuck with the golden arrow too ( when you get to the basement on the way to acquire the double jump, there s an arrow that makes you jump high once. After it disappears, forever).

Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:36am

Wow, despite you making this in only 24 hours, this game seems pretty big!

I liked how I could explore the vast worlds, and even if one way was blocked off, I could still keep going. I only quit at the part where there was that arrow that launched you into the arrow for only one time, and I didn't feel like backtracking all the way to choose another path.

Awesome job though!

Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:56am

Oh! The arrow! That's when you acquire double jump! Yeah rushed through that part.

ghRibacki says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 2:59am

A piece of piano music with it would go great! I love the graphics! =)

hamburger says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 6:01am

Hey man, really nicely laid out levels! I happily played to the end. I'd enjoy seeing a post-compo version with music and hopefully more levels.

dukope says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 8:50am

Fun little platformer with solid controls. I enjoyed exploring. Would've liked some way to see what keys/coins I had. Great pixel art.

Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:22pm

All the data is in their to tell you what keys you have and coins and such. I just didn't have time to implement it. The game actually keeps track of how many times you die as well as what you collect. I'm thinking of implementing it at the end of the game which would give you something to shoot for. With 3 different endings depending on what you collect and maybe how many times you die. I'd really like to actually tighten all the levels up too. We will see. I'm glad you liked it though!

daandruff says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 5:16pm

Not bad at all for 24 hours. I like this kind of graphical style and it felt like a solid entry :)

uuav says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 5:20pm

enjoyable little game

wademcgillis says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 8:00pm

YOUR DOUBLE JUMPING ONLY WORKS FOR CERTAIN THINGS IF YOU HIT IT AT THE EXACT TIME, OTHERWISE YOU GET ONLY ONE PIXEL OFF AND GRRRRRRR!!!!


I like the game though. Could have used some music.

Apr 26, 2012 @ 8:47pm

Yeah. I only entered at last minute know full well I'd only be able to work half the time. Music went by the wayside :-(

Evil Cult says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 9:09pm

[Comments and ratings from this account come from various team members]
Simple but nice graphics. Good sound except double jump sound got a bit annoying. The level design was a bit too open for my tastes as it got overwhelming and I felt like I wasn't sure if I was going the right way or not most of the time. Lots of cool little gameplay elements packed into 48 hours that were quite fun to play with. Good work getting this out there!

Apr 27, 2012 @ 2:14am

Thanks! I agree with everything you said :-)

ehtd says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 3:11pm

Good game! Liked the control feel, very responsive.

Maybe throw in some enemies.

summaky says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 4:30pm

Your "tiny" world is quite big, huh? I think it is impressive for a game made in just 24 hours. I whish it had some music, though.

May 5, 2012 @ 9:38pm

I whish it had music too :-/

PIXEL^3 says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 10:02pm

wow. for being made in 24 hours, it sure is a long game.

derosa says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 2:16am

Nice retro style, but I'm not very good at this kind of games :)

azurenimbus says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 2:48am

Yo dawg I herd you like precision jumping.

ahm99 says ...
May 14, 2012 @ 8:22pm

I just beat it again and it is still fun : )

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]