Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Toad Warrior

by SpaceToaster - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Toad Warrior!

You are a scientist who has been in a terrible shrink ray accident. Mount your trusty toad and set forth to find the missing uranium crystals that can bring you back home!

* Hand painted graphics
* Three challenging platformer levels
* Jungle beats

Tools:

VisualStudio, Unity3d, 2dToolkit, FruityLoops, Bfxr, As3sfxr, Photoshop, Audacity

Bacon: 12
Sandwiches: 4
Espresso shots: 8

If you spot any bugs/crashes, feel free to email them to [email protected]

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#29Graphics4.23
#89Humor3.26
#166Audio3.15
#271Mood2.98
#285Theme3.30
#353Overall3.11
#376Innovation3.06
#503Fun2.68

Comments

Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:52am

I like it :) A little frustrating with the pacing, but art and concept is good.

greg20man says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:59am

Looks fantastic and the audio blends seamlessly, great job.

Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:59pm

Hard, but works really well. Good job :-)

Toast says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:59pm

Really nice concept and graphics, but I wasn't as excited about the gameplay, animation or interaction. Still, this is an excellent prototype with which to make something great.

JaJ says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:01pm

This looks amazing and the controls are very original. I got stuck behind the glowing crystals on the right of the first level, though.

Lidfrid says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:01pm

very cool art work! But i can't change direction when i'm jumping on a mushrooom :(

piterlouis says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:04pm

Nice concept. Ideal to phone game but with more speed in the jumps, please, are so slooow :). Graphics are wonderful!. Good work.

dray says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:07pm

Really nice game, maybe to slow so any miss jump is painful to wait. But the idea is really nice, you think about an extended version?

dr_soda says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:07pm

These graphics are splendid. I really like your style and your music composition sense.

The game's controls though feel a bit too "outer space". I wished that the frog's jumps took less than 1/3 the time they actually do, and I found that you can get "trapped" on the mushrooms and just bounce up and down endlessly. It also would have been ideal to let the user pass through the bottoms of those leaves when they jump upwards and then land on descent.

KevinWorkman says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:07pm

Interesting idea and control scheme, but it was a little arbitrary whether a jump would result in victory or death.

SpaceToaster says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:13pm

Thanks for the feedback guys! I really appreciate it.

@JaJ - you can press 'p' or 'esc' to bring up the pause menu and retry the level or game. I did my best to clean up the physics kinks before submission but there are sill a few I couldn't fix in time :-/

@dray/piterlouis - definitely had iOS in mind.. my goal before starting the compo was to have one button/swipe controls on whatever concept I came up with. Definitely taking note of all suggestions here for a future version.

Jeremias says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:17pm

Funny game. Here my feedback:

- the last level is hard
- second level... last mushroom... I hate you :D
- short screen flickering after level changed (level first showed and then camera and character moves)
- no pants but a cape xD
- sometimes you get on leaf and the frog stands still and after a short time, he is gliding and then you fall...
- really nice graphics
- good sounds and background drum music

Hazard says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:01am

Great art and nice control concept. The mud pits of insta-death are incredibly annoying, though.

LukeRissacher says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:03am

Cool, really liked the art style. Re: gameplay - would be nice to speed things up, I made a lot of crappy jumps and had to wait 2-3 seconds to get control again. And would be cool to show the center point of the "rubber band" so I can gauge direction better (maybe it's the dude's "rubber band" :).

BenW says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:12am

I wish I had some sort of control while I was in the air. Getting stuck jumping endlessly was frustrating.

10WonXero10 says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:14am

Nice game, a little tricky.
Would work well on mobile devices, actually you could probably charge real money for this on iTunes/Play.

My only concern: Where is the guy's pants? LOL, it disturbs me to think that there might be an uncensored version out there somewhere :)

Zamando says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 8:05am

Great concept, and I like the art style! A little hard to estimate how the frog jumps sometimes. Good job! :)

joshimoo says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 7:45pm

I like the art style and sound scape, overall the experience was pretty polished. The things that need some more work are the control schemes, particularly the physics.

Got stuck multiple times, also ended up infinity jumping on a mushroom.

Overall I like it, and see potential for expansion.

Rectifier says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 8:44pm

The character has a single scrap of fabric, which he uses to make a cape while riding a toad naked.

Glad he has his priorities straight.

Oye Beto says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 8:49pm

I couldn't beat level 1... I can't get to the green crystals :(
I'd prefer an easier level and then move to something like this.

The hand made drawings are pretty cool and I also liked the music.

AlwaysGeeky says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 9:21pm

Woah... sweet graphics dude, I love the shading on your art style! :) Well done

PIXEL^3 says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 9:56pm

...why is the player nude?

caranha says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 4:39pm

Awesome graphics, and I liked the controls a lot too. The game itself is a bit too difficult - I couldn't for the life of me get up even to that first crystal :-/

Also, if you miscalculate the jump, you can get stuck in a mushroom for a long while.

Still, it is quite fun to just jump the guy around - he seems so happy in his toad :-D

moop says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 7:16pm

A fun and original game if a little frustrating at times. The hand painted graphics really make it.

Catman says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 7:33pm

Awesome graphics and nice music. I also liked the originality of the controls, altough it gets a little hard to go where you want and you et frustrated that you cannot di anything after a jump!

summaky says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 8:18pm

It is a little too slow for my taste, but the graphics are nicely done and the music is perfect. I didn't understood why I died when jumping on the mud, though.

derosa says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 8:44pm

Haha, loved the hand painted art! Also the controls are perfect for a mobile device (not that I could try...). I laughed when I saw the pixelated zone of he guy :)

ericdpitts says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 10:34pm

Really amazing artwork and graphical design, but the gameplay is a bit frustrating. Maybe allow for more precise movements, lower jumps, etc. In the second level, I could not get up on the leaves at all, I just kept jumping all the way across the level. But, if you polish up the gameplay a bit more, this would be a great game to have on my phone!

johanp says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 6:12am

A bit slow paced and sometime I had the feeling it didn't really jump as I intended to. But very nice graphics!

Apr 30, 2012 @ 8:27pm

I like the graphics, however, the inconcistant controls made it pretty frustrating.

Gornova says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 8:29pm

nice entry and timelapse shows us how much effort you put in this game (perfect for a tablet)

Tourgen says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 11:51pm

That is some great looking art. Nice work. I didn't do too well at the game but it was fun.

Puzzlem00n says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 12:53am

For me, what was really missing was a death animation.

May 2, 2012 @ 9:13pm

Interesting concept and very nice art ^^
Pity the controls didn't work too well for me :/ I guess it was mainly frustrating that you only had control while you were on the ground and not in the air (which makes sense of course), but because the jumping was quite slow it left you feeling very helpless when you made a wrong jump :3

jimmypaulin says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 7:49pm

Superb entry! The graphics are exceptional, so polished and very funny. Intuitive controls, perhaps slightly higher gravity would be good as I got a bit frustrated waiting for my next go after a bad click. It's not quite obvious which direction it'll go in at first either. Good sound and a good difficulty curve, really good stuff thank you

Tom 7 says ...
May 14, 2012 @ 12:08am

The graphics are really great, and the game plays smooth. It's so hard though! In particular, since I can't control myself once I take off (even with bounces) I suffered a bunch of deaths that seemed unfair. You have to be patient in the air no matter what. I love that frog's gape though.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]