Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 23

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Face The Truth - Evgiz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The aliens are invading earth!

For long the humans thought they were alone in the universe. They were terribly wrong.

In this space defence game you defend your home, earth, against the alienships that attacks with 6 different kinds of satellites and one super attack.

Its mostly mouse controlled,and made in java.

Tools:
Eclipse for coding
Paint.NET for graphics
Sfxr and Audacity for sound
Chronolapse for timelapse

Thanks for playing!


View Evgiz's journal. | View all entries by Evgiz

Ratings

Coolness72%
#96Overall3.62
#97Fun3.51
#125Humor3.05
#264Theme3.33
#295Mood2.93
#342Innovation3.13
#415Graphics2.91
#471Audio2.38

Comments

seigenblues says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:09am

awesome work! Loved the timelapse too :D

yanmania says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:39am

Great game, I loved the chat between the aliens and the humans, a great way to introduce the new weapons!

derdragon says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:52am

Definitely my favorite entry so far.

Jan Willem says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:53am

Very fun game! Sometimes the dialog seems to hang, takes a few seconds before it continues after multiple mouse clicks. Also just got laser sattalites for one minute and now the complete games stops working, it just froze! :( Fun game anyway.

jeroenimooo says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:54am

Made it to 3:20. At the start i thought it would be easy. i was wrong... wronggg... Good game!

Evgis says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:59am

"now the complete games stops working, it just froze!"
That seems very wierd, i tested it alot of times. But glad you liked it!

Suese says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:13pm

I played this game 5 times to understand the strategy. It was fun and relaxing invasion of earth. Would be great deployed on a tablet.

Could have been improved by 1. music, and 2. if the talking bit didn't interrupt the gameplay. 3. if the menu didn't use the keyboard, really threw me off. If presentation were a category I would have given this a 2, fun and innovation deserve 4's.

Thanks for this.

Gemberkoekje says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:15pm

Pretty funny and well working game, though not very innovative, in my opinion.

Madball says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:16pm

I found it rather difficult. Maybe you could make an easy difficulty.

Sanguine says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:18pm

I love the dialogue! The game lacks some interactivity though.

stromchin says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:57pm

It was kind of laggy, but besides that it's a great game.

cornedor says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:04pm

Very nice game. I like it how they communicate during the game when stuff changes.

Kimau says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:09pm

Really loved the gameplay with just enough humour and backdrop to give it reason. Really well thought out fun and enjoyable entry. One of my favourite so far.

aaronsnoswell says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:16pm

Java finished loading, then the screen just stayed blank (white)? Using Chrome on Mac Lion :( Sad - I was looking forward to trying this!

----

Update: Retried and it worked - perhaps add a preloader? WOW - this game is awesome. Hands down my favourite! Dropping a 5/5 here! Possible improvements:
* Being able to chose what orbit the satellite goes into (higher orbits -> slower speed -> less expensive)
* Music

I love how the costs are actually realistic - kind of gives a grim reality check on the space industry :P The dialog as the humans get defeated is hilarious!

AMAZING WORK!

aaronsnoswell says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:22pm

Question - did you use a game engine? Or just write it from scratch?

Evgis says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:25pm

I wrote everything from scratch. And if i get time, i might just add orbit-choices. Not in the LD compo of course, just for fun. Thanks for the response!

bms says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:26pm

Loved it! kinda like tower defense but more awesome xD

netmute says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:12pm

The screenshots sure look awesome! But I couldn't get it to run on Chrome/Mac :(

Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:49pm

Poop! It froze on me. I was having so much fun! Great work on this!

Drabiter says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:40am

I found a bug, where I had more than 400 millions but couldn't bought a 300 million laser satellite although only one satellite left in my orbit. Love the gameplay though.

Cyboot says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:47pm

A great game :)
I liked the (simple) gameplay, the graphics, the humor and the game in general.

BUT:
the Game crashes or freezes everytime for me before i could finish it. Very disappointing for me :(
I tried to run it in Eclipse (using your sourcecode) to figure out if an exception occurs, but it starts with the GAME OVER screen and I don't have time to figure it out :P

It would be great if you figure out the Problem!!!
But good rating is guaranteed.

Evgis says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:05pm

Thanks! I now see that the source i provided was from when i fixed the ending, and I had set it to instant game-over. Now the source is updated, and ready to be used! Also, about the freezing: it never does that on my computer, maybe you need to update your java?

AlwaysGeeky says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:11pm

I really liked this, well done! :)

Bei says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:32am

Cool game! Easy to understand and get into. I also had the dialog hang a few times, which was frustrating, but not enough to make me quit! Saw the game out until I lost at 4:40!

johanp says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:06am

Slightly glitchy and eventually froze, but I really liked how the gameplay escalated until then (6.16 I think). Cool game!

Evgis says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 8:39pm

I made another version outside the competition with bug fixes and improved performance. For you facing freezing and lagging i hope this fix will help you!

robbiehunt says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 1:39am

This was good! Honestly, I didn't think much of it at first but then suddenly I was 15 minutes in... I don't know how that happened!

Clearly you've got something with this game! Good work!! Also, I laughed at the dialog so good job there too!

Danik says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 7:58pm

This game was really challenging, I had to play it a few times to get the hang of it!

bitslap_ says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:13pm

Best time sink so far

31eee384 says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:15pm

Dang it! Got pretty far, starting to get massively powerful... but then it crashed, with just a white screen and intermittent sound effects. Oh well. Was fun while it lasted!

Cyboot says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 6:10pm

Ok the improved version works better, at least for 6:57 min ;)

I run it in eclipse to find a possible Exception and here it is:
Exception in thread "Thread-3" java.util.ConcurrentModificationException
at java.util.ArrayList$Itr.checkForComodification(Unknown Source)
at java.util.ArrayList$Itr.next(Unknown Source)
at com.evgis.tinyworld.gameplay.Sattelite.findTarget(Sattelite.java:69)
at com.evgis.tinyworld.gameplay.Laser2Satellite.tick(Laser2Satellite.java:26)
at com.evgis.tinyworld.Game.tick(Game.java:87)
at com.evgis.tinyworld.App.tick(App.java:102)
at com.evgis.tinyworld.App.run(App.java:79)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)

for-each loops and Arraylist are dangerous, its funny because i had problems exactly like this in my own games.
So i always use something like this (not so nice but safer ;)):
for(int i=0;i<array.size();i++){
array.get(i).dosomething();
if(something)
array.remove(i);
}

jeffz says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 12:47am

froze for me after awhile, otherwise very cool!

dr_soda says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 3:24pm

What a fun little defense game!

My only criticism is that I wish the "locked" items had been more obviously unavailable from the beginning. Maybe a big red strike, or an alpha transparency would have helped. I felt like I spent too much time just clicking those items because I coveted the power without seeing the tiny lock icon.

A couple of more sound effect would go a long way too. A confirmation that you successfuly purchased a defense system would be most beneficial.

Niavlys says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 11:48pm

Challenging game. I liked it a lot. :)

Apr 30, 2012 @ 1:34pm

I like it :)

Shadow says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 3:47am

Stuttered a bit (sometimes I just thought it froze but then it kept going), perhaps java wasn't the best choice, but it's fun as hell! Loved the game. Amazing work, really.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]