Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 23

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Circus Flea - Oreganik - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Complete an ever-escalating array of trick challenges with your highly-trained and super tiny circus flea!

Lots of fun dialog in this one! My kids and I had a blast talking in the background. It might be unique in this compo, but with 1000 games, who can tell?

Sorry I didn't make this a full flea circus simulator like I was hoping for. But this one "sideshow" is a bit Tony Hawk Pro Skater in its move combinations. I hope you enjoy it!

I wrote this in Processing, which does not handle audio on web versions very well. I didn't have time to solve that problem before the deadline, sorry!

Tips:
* You can safely mash the spacebar to skip the yappin', or tap once, sit back, and enjoy the 5 second interludes of comedy!
* Practice jumping into the wee lil' bucket for a while. You aren't penalized for missing tricks, just missing the bucket!
* How high have you jumped? Have you touched the light?

View Oreganik's journal. | View all entries by Oreganik

Ratings

Coolness53%
#12Humor4.07
#13Audio4.07
#108Theme3.70
#108Graphics3.80
#116Overall3.57
#125Mood3.30
#207Innovation3.40
#273Fun3.10

Comments

j_peeba says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:07am

Hahah, I loved the voices and the presentation. The first game I've rated this time around that made me laugh out loud. :)

Monomer says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:10am

The VO was a really welcome change of pace, and was used in a really entertaining way. Bravo on that; game mechanics seemed decent, but the audio was really what kept me playing it.

Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:37am

That was beautiful :D

robbiehunt says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:07pm

Haha, wow with 1000+ entries you really can never tell what's going to come out! Another game that takes the flea circus idea and mashes it with Tony Hawk - I love it!

Really excellent presentation, dude. The whole thing really is fantastically executed but the graphics especially contributed to the whole vibe.

Good job!

KevinWorkman says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:26am

You might want to check out the Minim library for sound in Processing, it's served me pretty well so far. Also, you might consider using the free Java and Processing hosting at http://StaticVoidGames.com. I'm the creator of the site, but I think it looks better than dropbox.

Jezzamon says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:11am

I love the voices in this game so much!

Playing this game made me really happy. :D

My criticism is that when you are holding down space you instantly skip the "congratulations" screen, and miss out on the good job message.
I found the game fairly hard too... and I didn't really enjoy it when I kept getting gameover. :C

Oreganik says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:09pm

@Kevin: I actually did use the Minim library, and it fell short when I had to load a bunch of audio files up front. After a certain point, file handles were simply "dead" (e.g. not null, but not playing, either), so I had to scramble to load samples just before playing, etc. It was a massive headache. And it doesn't work at all in the HTML5 / Javascript mode. FML. :|

However, I like your website! I'm actually using Processing to teach high school students how to program games, so I think we see eye-to-eye there. I'm really sad that Processing and Java prevent it from being a one-click web thing like Flash, but I guess that's the tradeoff for initial ease-of-use.

Oreganik says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:11pm

@Jezzamon: These fleas are hardcore!

j/k! Thank you for the feedback. I'm sorry it was frustrating. I was going to make it so the flea survived if it fell from a low height, but the tradeoff -- at that point -- was getting more sounds in the game, which I was doing up to three minutes before the contest ended! Ah, well. Stupid reallife, getting in the way of Ludum Dare! :D

bburbank says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:10pm

I love games where you are one pixel! Had fun doing stunts in this, had a nice challenge progression.

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:52pm

Loved it! Great graphics, great sound, great sense of humour... and like all flea circuses most of the detail takes place in the audience's mind! Great little game all round.

Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:11pm

Love the flea.

jrasmussen24 says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:56pm

Great work-- quite humorous concept. The audio really sold it for me. I only made it to performance 8/10 (my fingers are just not nimble enough), but that was a really solid game.

trylle says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:16pm

Nice. :) But I wish there were subtitles, as I have difficulties hearing. Guess I can't really expect accessibility from a ld entry, though. :p

Pierrec says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:36pm

I don't know why, but Circus Flea is something that always made me laugh. When I was a kid, I loved to feign I got a circus flea and that it was doing tricks, I guess everybody did (or I am THAT weird ?). Obviously, I really really loved this game, lot of memories, lot of smiles and the gameplay is actually good!

Pierrec says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:53pm

Oh, and because some people found it hard, I just want to add that I didn't.

Jiddo says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:19pm

Simple yet effective idea which has been very well realized and feels complete. The little fleas feel very alive despite just being a tiny dot, and the whole setting made me smile. Judging by the VO you had a lot of fun making it, kudos for being an awesome dad making games with your children! :)

davisan says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 1:58pm

Good game. The audio has charisma. :)

Bemmu says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 6:15pm

Well polished

seagaia says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 1:07am

I thought it was quite cute and appreciate the humor :)

rik says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 11:47am

Amaaazing presentation. Gameplay was kind of boring, but still scored it quite highly on 'fun' because it was still incredibly entertaining. Great job!

dokidoki says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 5:49am

Awesome audio & humor. I was happy to see that jumping into the light worked as I expected. :)

gritfish says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 12:10pm

First game with v/o I've come across (done about 85 now..) and it's SO well done. You are such an awesome parent getting your kids involved in stuff like this!

The difficulty in getting in the tub IS pretty high, I couldn't quite get that figured out...

MrBarnslig says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 1:39am

Great take on the theme. The narration and sounds of the mom and kids were really charming and fun. Nice work!

Sestren says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 12:00am

The voice-over was adorable and entertaining. I gave you 4 stars on Audio only because the jump sound became rather annoying fairly quickly. Other than that, an excellent game all around!

Puzzlem00n says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 8:38pm

I still haven't beaten it, but I've seen enough to rate it. I gave it 5/5. I love simple little games like this without too much going on, and seriously, nice voice acting. It worked out on your part, too, because it seemed really polished to me just because there was very little to polish, which is a nice benefit you got. Seriously, I think this is only the second or third game (out of 65) I've given a full five. Sweet game.

Tomalla says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 9:04pm

Truly made me laugh! Amazing idea, voice acting and visuals.

Sadly it's really unbalanced. If someone wants to play this game legit, he'll brake his fingers. If he wants to cheat - well, he'll break the fingers anyways. Mashing all of the arrow keys rapidly *is* enough to pass every level in a game. I couldn't get past Stage 16 in Challenge Mode only because my hands couldn't make it on time ;)

Cheers!

You must sign in to comment.

[cache: storing page]