April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Space Dozer

by desmarkie - Jam Entry

A simple twitchy shooter. Destroy everything on the planet before they destroy you. Topple multiple stories to get big bonuses. Use the enemy ships to your advantage, explosions cause damage too.

The list of stuff I never had a chance to add is endless and the source is a disgrace! But I guess there's a lot of people in the same boat :)

Used:
Flashdevelop
Nape
as3sfxr (which is awesome)
Flash
Photoshop (not that it shows :P)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#22Innovation(Jam)3.78
#40Theme(Jam)3.56
#48Fun(Jam)3.36
#66Overall(Jam)3.42
#84Graphics(Jam)3.64
#111Mood(Jam)2.90
#124Audio(Jam)2.87
#139Humor(Jam)2.23

Comments

azurenimbus says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:12am

Fantastic job, I absolutely love it. Zero complaints, zero recommendations.

Fireblend says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:54pm

Nicely done! A complete and quite fun experience, all in all. It's one of the games I can see myself coming back to! Bookmarked for further playing later :)

samwoakley says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 8:28pm

Really love the art style and the gameplay! Kinda tricky for me, but that's just me being rubbish I imagine. Nicely polished game and great fun too :)

youdonotexist says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 8:31pm

I really enjoyed this game.

My only complaint is the height of the builds seems superflous. You CAN shoot the other floors of a building, but I spent the majority of the time down at the planet surface, shooting the first floor.

raarlac says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 8:44pm

Very polished game and beautiful grafics. The controls are a little tricky

whitebird says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 9:04pm

Superb game. I really liked the usage of gravity. No bad remarks.

desmarkie says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 9:32pm

Thanks for the comments all! :)
I sadly left the building-ship collisions disabled when I submitted, hence the ease with which you can finish it at the moment. Will update after the 20 days is up.

Jiddo says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 9:45pm

I'm impressed. At first the game didn't look like much on the screenshot. The game mechanics are really simple but also very unique, and fun. The graphics are simplistic but they fit the game perfectly.

Unfortunately it didn't take many attempts before I realized that you can pretty much cheat, making the game way too easy. Oh well. It is a great game anyways! :)

castor says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 9:57pm

Wahay! I finished it. Cool stuff. Really nice retro feel.

Jeremias says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 9:59pm

A bit too easy ^^. You can press down to move to the planet and than slowly rotate so you shot the basics of the towers. Enemy ships will fly into your shots or damage you a bit. You should make a minimal flyheight. Or the other gameplay ideas are annuled. But very nice implementation.

natpat says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:54pm

I'm awful at it, but I really enjoyed it nonetheless. I loved the simplistic graphics!

derosa says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 11:23pm

Great retro feeling! Loved it!

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:02am

Very enjoyable game. Neat concept :)

Digitalis says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:18am

I really enjoyed the loose, fluid controls, simple visual style and the way the bullets fall. But due to the structure of the game, I only ever aimed for the base of the tower. It would be even greater if that could be balanced out :)

ChrisWhitman says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 1:01am

Neat idea! I had some trouble with the controls as sorting out clockwise from anti-clockwise was at times kind of tough, although I did eventually start to sort of get used to it. Also some weird difficult/mechanics issues. I.e. I was losing pretty hard every time until I dropped right down to the planet surface and just fired away at the bases of all the buildings, at which point I breezed through the game quite easily.

Still, in general acceleration and steering and such were good, and it looked pretty nice in a minimalist way, so it's definitely on the right track. With more content and balancing and with a few fixes to some of the gameplay issues this would work really well.

Kassoon says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 1:01am

Wow, cool idea. I love how the motion works. At first I just held down right and spacebar and made a dizzying (and pretty) colour show until I finally died. Then I tried playing it properly and it was pretty fun and intense but I still couldn't beat the first level. Then on my third go I realized you could press down to descend and it became sort of trivial.

JustinMullin says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 1:04am

Pretty fun - it was a lot more interesting when I forced myself to fly above the ground, so I'd definitely like to try the game out again when building collisions are back in. The art style was neat, and I love the gravity on the shots - adds a lot to the gameplay.

FredericRP says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 7:14am

Very good game ! It's very well done, I liked the graphics and the whole game. Too bad it's very challenging: I kept down the right and weapon keys and it ran in circle until everything was destroyed (it was fun to watch, though). Add some different worlds and weapons and it will be a complete game !

Norgg says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 10:13pm

Picked up on the same tactic which others have where you just shoot out the bottom of the buildings, which makes the game a bit short, very nice and simple and polished otherwise though.

bms says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 12:00pm

kind of hard to get used to the controls but really interesting game dynamic. I also like the polished graphics. congrats!

cadin says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 5:01pm

Nice work. I like the art style and gameplay concept. I found the controls a bit tricky. Most of the time I was moving too fast to be able to really aim or dodge very well. Some more glowy, particle-y effects would fit nicely.

summaky says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 12:31pm

Pretty fun, but without collisions between the player and the buildings it is far too easy as I only have to move close to the tiny planet and shoot the buildings' base.

Cosmologicon says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 8:44am

Maybe I'm just not very good at this kind of game, but I found it pretty hard to keep track of my ship if it was going anywhere near full speed. I did win by sweeping the surface, but I don't think I would have been able to if I was actually trying to avoid shots or something. Cool mechanics, though.

May 9, 2012 @ 7:08am

Awesome -- I think it could do with some balance in control & min/max between stationary and full throttle, but great idea nicely done.

TyrusPeace says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 7:06pm

Slick and fun! Slimplistic sounds and some music would clearly help things, but it's very fun to play. I was very tempted to just zoom around the surface of the planet mashing the fire button as fast as possible, which would get me killed if I did it for the whole game but serves as a nice way to get big combo scores at first.

I was a little disoriented and things seemed ridiculously fast at times, but that's part of the fun, too. Having so much of the game be handling momentum and speed remind me of asteroids, although I'll admit aiming got awkward/difficult feeling at times.

May 13, 2012 @ 9:15am

Very innovative! It reminds me of a round-world galaga. I felt a little powerless, so maybe it could use some tighter controls (which were already pretty tight), or a more powerful way to deal with those guys? Amazing that you managed to get winning conditions *and* bonus conditions. Top marks for theme, graphics and innovation.

chambers says ...
May 14, 2012 @ 12:51am

Wow, this game was absurdly beautiful and fun. I wish I had found it earlier!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]