April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

The Last Rainbow

by Vandash - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The game was designed with iOS in mind. You can play with the mouse or with the arrows. There is an online leaderboard. Thank you for playing :)

Thanks to Isart Digital in Paris for welcoming us for this event :-D *hugs*

note: removed music after finding out it's not allowed if not created by me :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#18Graphics4.33
#116Overall3.57
#117Mood3.31
#146Theme3.58
#165Fun3.31
#176Audio3.12
#239Innovation3.34
#471Humor2.14

Comments

Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:30am

Loving the art style!

LiquidAsh says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:56pm

Very pretty game... Although it took several tries before I figured out what I was supposed to do (and more importantly not do). Overall very nice though :)

gritfish says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:41pm

Really good looking, simple game. Tons of polish. Well done!

dx0ne says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:41pm

Great graphics. Took me some time to know how to score but it was quite fun.

Thotor says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:21am

Very polished game with very nice choice of sound and music

Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:26am

Excellent game! I really like the trail on the ball, and the presentation in general.

According the the game, someone else made the music. Aren't all assets supposed to be created by one person for the compo?

omaha says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:26am

This game is incredible. I had so much fun once I figured out what I was supposed to be doing.

The music is amazing. Are you sure this shouldn't be in the Jam category?

Blengineer says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:30am

Digging the art style and mood. Fairly good gameplay too but I got up to about 15 points before I had to actually move the rainbow. (it just kept bouncing on the same building). You could provide a slight random direction on each bounce to fix this.

I got really really frustrated whenever my rainbow hit the wrong spot and I had to re-try. The reason for this I think is that your game is wonderfully immersive and I hate that I get broken out of that after I lose.

I suggest that you consider an alternative to the "hard-reset" model you have currently. What if hitting the planet simply reduces my score or gets rid of my score multiplier? This is the sort of game people could get lost in for a long time if you stop forcing them to stop.

A metaphor I just thought of is...imagine your rainbow is like a tennis ball or basketball. When the ball slowly stops bouncing it is sometimes fun to add a bit of bounce to it by pushing and then slowly get it back up to a high bounce rather than bending over and picking it up.

So maybe hitting the planet simply reduces bounce and you have to do something to pick it back up again?

Vandash says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:43am

Thanks guys for the feedback.

About music and compo category : I didn't realize you had to make your own music :) I will update the web version and remove it.

I like the idea of an alternative to the hard-reset. Not sure i will continue working on the game tho :)

FrederickK says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:31pm

Wonderful!
One of the most polish games so far. Just add an BGM and it is done!

Orni says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 11:52am

what a great idea
one of the best polished entries I've seen

oddgoo says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:41pm

Fantastic concept and pretty execution! Sad to know that the music had to go.

tequibo says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 6:24pm

Very nice visuals and sound. Great feel. Mechanics is nice too. Shifting camera on game over is a bit annoying though.

AirRider3 says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 7:44pm

Amazing. But, even though it's great, it got repetitive after 2-3 min or so. However, big piece of art!! :D

Gabriel says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 9:58pm

I like it! And very well polished, as Orni said. This reminds Flow a bit, with its contemplative nature. It's just a little too fast in comparison, but this is an action game after all! :)
Kudos for the innovative mechanics too! Congrats!

Digitalis says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 9:14am

Great little game.
Having different shaped buildings with different collisions made it interesting, as well as the secondary objective to click on stars.
This could be pretty cool on iOS, as you intended.
Looks nice too, good job

Patacorow says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 1:13pm

Great game, I got a score of 850!
Things I didn't like is how there isn't an effect for blowing up asteroids and how you have to click stars.

For some reason music didn't play for me either so I just opened it on youtube and played with it, and it fit nicely :)

Great game! Adn as Digitalis said, it would be great on mobile.

Alexandre says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 6:31pm

Nice game!
Just one thing: sometimes to ball orbits the planet for a long time without touching it, while you can't do anything...

MrBarnslig says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 5:16am

Great graphics, the stars and the meteorite effects are awesome. I felt like there were a lot of separate things going on - you're trying to bounce the ball, and then suddenly there's this separate game of shooting the meteorites that comes in. And like some other players it took a long time before I figured out why I was losing - I think the white continents on the planet do a disservice to the white buildings you're supposed to hit. Nice entry, it was fun.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]