Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 23

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

boing SMASH - dokidoki - 48 Hour Compo Entry

boing SMASH: Fix the buildings that the ball smashes while staying alive.
Supports two players, but if you're playing solo you can ignore the other player and play until you get squished. Or you can "cheat" and kick him to death to win!

This is my first time entering Ludum Dare, and I'm pretty happy with my result, warts and all.

View dokidoki's journal. | View all entries by dokidoki

Ratings

Coolness87%
#68Humor3.36
#178Fun3.27
#227Innovation3.37
#252Mood3.00
#257Overall3.27
#259Theme3.34
#261Graphics3.27
#367Audio2.62

Comments

Skully says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:50am

Sounded like my kinda game
Played it: my kinda game.
Love the kick mechanic, makes stealing a fix that bit sweeter.
Great concept and fun implementation

deps says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:34am

I came for the retro looks and stayed for the humor! Good work! :)

Lidfrid says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:35pm

i want to play this with a friend!!!

Forever alone T_T

davidllanos22 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:53pm

Nice game! Control the two players is quite fun haha good job :)

lapogo says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:01am

Wish i had someone to play with, it was really fun playing both people! my only suggestion(and it's a big one) would be to add either online multi-player/single-player where i have to fix as many building in a time limit or something.

pmcp says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:10am

Loved this, I kind of think you should only get points for completing a building - so that stealing someone else's work was more fun.

angrygeometry says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:50am

nice! i can imagine this being really fun to play with a friend.

robbiehunt says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:30am

I like it! There's a lot of room to grow this out, as others have pointed out but as it is it's good too :)

Would have liked music for sure!

dukope says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:45am

Had fun playing as both characters. Pretty tough when player 2 is on the left side :)

robcozzens says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:45am

Really cool. Nice that it's somewhat playable by one player, but considering how few users are going to be reviewing games with someone else, it probably wasn't worth making it multi-player.
Loved the Amiga bouncing ball!

xBlinkedx says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 5:35am

This is interesting. I feel like it would have been better for me if I had someone to play it with :/ But overall it seems like a pretty cool little game.

madflame991 says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 5:37am

I recognize that ball

FireSlash says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 6:36am

I laughed for a good minute when I heard the sfx. "Boing smash? thats a weird na-OHHHH."

My only complaint is that it's somewhat hard to tell exactly where the ball is going to hit.

also +cool points for the amiga ball.

Endurion says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 6:38am

Nifty!

However somewhat boring with only one player. It really needs an AI to fight against.

Morgawr says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:45pm

Absolutely lovely. I loved the retro style that isn't your usual pixelated platformer.

Nice job.

hungyg says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:58pm

had a lot of fun playing with my sister :D thanks! the ball could fall on your head more easily, and the kicks could be stronger, but nice game!

YMM says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 1:31am

Hah this is awesome! Gives off old DOS-shareware vibes.

vitou3d says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 4:39am

So addicted to this game!!! Well done

madmaw says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 5:52am

Love that old school 2 player action

olav_st says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 1:23pm

Fun little game. I played it alone, but i still enjoyed it.
+1 for amiga ball

Apr 27, 2012 @ 5:15pm

Fun stuff! Really dug the graphics: the mix of faux-3D and 2D give it a really interesting look, and the mechanics make for a game that's genuinely competitive.

Jedi says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 8:33am

It looks very fun! It's a shame there isn't some AI though. It seems like it would be fun to have to balance out the kicking / fixing / dodging :).

The graphics, audio, and gameplay fit the mood of an oldskool arcade game perfectly.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 6:49am

"I recognize that ball"
+1

Plus points for 2-player action! xD

Ryusui says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 10:07am

Excellent arcade-style game. I just wish there was some kind of AI to play against - or, alternately, a genuine co-op play mode.

iximeow says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 7:38pm

That was pretty fun. My friend came over and wanted to play after I mentioned I was playing a two player game myself (moved both characters together and played as if it was one)

He got mad when I kept kicking him away from buildings. :D

Then the ball came down and crushed him, and we had a good laugh.

DaveDobson says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 4:14am

Cool, fun, and stylish, although not very deep. The art and name are neat. Gameplay is fun, but it would need to be more detailed to have staying power - maybe levels with different goals?

summaky says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 6:15am

That was fun, but unfortunately I don't have anyone to play with and I presume it would be even funnier that way. I guess a simple AI would also be OK :-)

dokidoki says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 5:05am

Thanks for all the replies/ratings! Some overdue replies...

@lapogo I haven't really done networking in Flash... I doubt I could get online multiplayer/matchmaking working in 48 hours. Better singleplayer would be good but (like many others) I ran out of time.
@pmcp Well it's only 10 points per hit as opposed to hundreds for completing a building. But in retrospect I think maybe healing should only have worked on finishing a building.
@robbiehunt I'm no musician :( and I only found out about music generating tools after the contest was over. (haven't tried any yet)
@dukope That confuses me too. :)
@robcozzens It really wasn't hard to add multiplayer and I just wanted to do it.
@FireSlash heheh. I find you learn, with practice.
@Endurion Maybe at a later date. (AI)
@hungyg The ball-on-your-head radius is actually supposed to be the width of a building, not the person, so I tried to make it more dangerous than it might have been.
@FunkyDelPueblo faux-3D? But I'm doing 3D rotation! :) I get what you mean though.

In short, I realize there could be more, and I might develop it further.

s0ulcrusher says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 8:01pm

Playing both characters at the same time was a fun brain twister. Smashing fun wotwot!

moop says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 8:37pm

Cool game. Unfortunately didn't have chance to play with a second player.

netmute says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 4:11pm

Graphics are cool, sound as well. Cool idea ;)

Rex Peppers says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 7:56pm

Fun game! Main menu is awesome and wins you 5 stars for mood!

voxel says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 6:05am

Amiga forever

OrangeeZ says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 7:59am

nice old-school style :D but kicking could use more raw power, i think. and two hands gameplay is a kind of intresting idea - think there can be done a game that makes use of both hands controlling different characters?

You must sign in to comment.

[cache: storing page]