Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 23

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Honey Heist - CappaGames - Jam Entry

This Game requires Microsoft .NET 4 and Microsoft XNA 4.0. If you don't already have them, you can download them at the links above. Both files are under 8 MB.



Concept: This game is a mix of Metal Gear Solid and arcade style gameplay. You must avoid enemies, gather pollen and return it before your energy runs out. Pollen is your score and you must meet a minimum amount before the wave timer runs out. You can return to the honeycomb at any time to drop off pollen and recharge your energy, but you may run out of time if you waste it carelessly and return too often.

View CappaGames's journal. | View all entries by CappaGames

Ratings

Coolness100%
#134Theme(Jam)2.94
#143Innovation(Jam)2.82
#151Graphics(Jam)3.00
#156Fun(Jam)2.63
#157Overall(Jam)2.82
#172Mood(Jam)2.51
#191Audio(Jam)1.77
#198Humor(Jam)1.81

Comments

Flyboy says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:46am

It's kind of frustrating how hard it is to dodge the bees once they target you. Cool game though.

Endurion says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:59pm

Why'd you put an installer, a direct archive would've been nicer (for others, simply remove the extension .deploy on every file and it works without installing).

Nice idea, however the controls are weird. And the time limit is incredibly tough!

CappaGames says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:56pm

Thanks a lot for the tip Endurion! We've fixed the problem and now the game is an executable! That's much better.

pbackx says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:27pm

The game doesn't want to start for me: double click or run from the command prompt: nothing happens, no error message.

Raptor85 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:45pm

Tried to test but crashes trying to load XNA4, can't do XNA4 on my box, sorry :/ (would be cool in future compos too if you add the tech you used to your description, helps save a lot of time sorting through this many games for those of us who can't run it)

Alink says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:31pm

Very fun game and nice level variety. I like how you can run to escape when detected. Adding some sounds would make me jump from stress.

Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:53pm

The idea is good but controlling your bee is pretty darn hard.

CappaGames says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:14pm

Thanks for all the feedback everyone. There is now a link to any extra software you may need to run Honey Heist.

devwil says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:44pm

***I'm posting this on all non-browser games I bring up in an attempt to encourage folks to make browser games next time around. Do not take it personally.***

When hundreds of people make non-browser games, that means that, to play all of the entries, I would need to download hundreds of games to my computer. I typically use OS X, so Windows-only entries are particularly inconvenient.

Please consider making a browser game next time.

Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:07pm

Sooo difficult to control the bee. Rage quit.

pdyxs says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:51am

The background is a little too noisy (its too similar in texture to the bees themselves, and makes it oddly hard to focus on them).

I thought the gameplay idea was solid, though the controls needed to be smoother (I didn't feel in control of my bee, and I didn't think that was the point), and the timer was somewhat unnecessary.

robcozzens says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:22am

I would have played it if there was a Web or OSX version.

attagcatc says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:56am

The controls are pretty difficult to use. I think it would be better if up arrow accelerated in the direction you are facing, down decelerates and left and right turn.

Dr.Pingu says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:42pm

Cool game, good work :)

bitslap_ says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:47pm

Neat controls, they added to the immersion. Now where can i find a window to bash myself against?

PabloAM says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:51pm

I like the strategic games.
Good graphics and game. :)

jwolf says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 7:08pm

It's a neat idea and the graphics aren't half-bad.

I'm running into some collision detection issues though...I think if something chases you and you escape, the next time you enter something's range you die automatically. Or maybe something else is triggering it.

Anyway, thank you for the entry!

Rex Peppers says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 8:37pm

Can't play... no winders

Wampus says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 8:55pm

Good fun game. The difficulty ramps up a little too quickly imo.

Jeremias says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 9:07pm

The inertia of moving makes it too hard to really control it, so you can collect the polls in time. But good graphics :)

summaky says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 9:27pm

It is extremely hard to control the bee. When it collides with the screen's border, then pressing up moves backwards! To confusing to finish even the second level (the first was luck, because I could only do it once.)

demonpants says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 9:53pm

Will it be possible to run this on Mac through Mono?

Shadow says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 12:57am

Controls are a bit hard (it gets specially confusing after hitting a wall) and since it's already difficult to move around the timer seems like an overkill. I quite liked the graphics and the idea though. It's not half bad as a game, I would like to see it polished (a bit of balancing and serious work on the controls mainly).

FrankTheTank says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 2:55am

Nice game, I enjoyed the first levels but it gets a bit hard (and that's an understatement :D) later on.

Permanent7 says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 8:08am

Really couldn't get my head around the controls. I think it was that the bee would turn faster depending on what direction I was moving to. It made it feel like there was some sort of physics involved. :/ maybe it was just me.

tcstyle says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 3:48pm

I like the basic idea but the controls are not what I excepted. Some accelerate/decelerate/turnleft/turnright controls would probably work better.
As it is this game is far to difficult to play. The graphics are nice.

spiral says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 2:11am

Good concept but a painful control scheme.

Waynetron says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 6:45am

Not running for me (Windows). No error message.

emongev says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 8:44pm

Great game, i have no complaints. Except lack of a level editor. =) Multiplayer would also make this game great! :)

kirbytails7 says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 7:33am

I really like the idea, but the controls make the game brutally difficult.

billknye says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 2:36am

Pretty decent, a bit of a steep difficulty curve, interesting gameplay though.

mneubrand says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 7:45am

Nice game concept! Only made it to Level 5. Couldn'd make it to the labyrinth anymore. Controls could use some fine tuning but otherwise great game.

Johnicholas says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 12:07pm

The controls seemed awkward.

Jeffalisk says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 5:13pm

This was a fun game, the time limits were a bit tight though. Not sure it really needed a time limit at all, might have been more fun without.

davidwparker says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 6:05pm

I'm sorry, I can't play your game as I don't have Windows.

Jezzamon says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 4:54am

Can't play this game on my mac. :C

You must sign in to comment.

[cache: storing page]