Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 23

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Mr.No's Laboratory - Helco - 48 Hour Compo Entry

[Description]
You are a 'volunteer' in a laboraty.
You want to get out?
Hack yourself your way through consoles and doors to the freedom!

[Keys]
<ARROW KEYS> - move
<SPACE> - activate
<ESCAPE> - escape (from the game for the moment)

View Helco's journal. | View all entries by Helco

Ratings

#201Humor2.77
#424Mood2.69
#425Innovation2.94
#432Fun2.81
#511Audio2.27
#524Overall2.81
#602Graphics2.56
#656Theme2.56
#980Coolness22%

Comments

lanoiadimuu says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:11pm

Nice and fun game, i loved the "hacking" system.

Oh, and there's a typo in your readme: You are a 'volunteer' in a "laboroty".

MurrayL says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:55pm

Definitely took lots of inspiration from Portal ;)

Pretty anticlimactic at the end, but that was a very fun, original puzzle game!

My only complaint would be that it was sometimes quite difficult to get through the doorways - especially the very last one (before the final room).

Tom 7 says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:05am

The chip puzzle was a clever one, and I had fun with that. Moving around the game world was frustrating because my dude moved so fast (2,600 fps!) and even lining my character up with 1-width corridors was hard. Same went for the chip editor (is that an AT-AT walker? :)). The puzzles would have been more pleasant if I had just moved in discrete increments! Also, I didn't understand why the puzzles often involved symmetric pieces, like I was solving the same puzzle twice.

Portal influence is transparent but I do like the talking computer. :)

Helco says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:26pm

@lanoiadimuu: Oh thanks :) I'll update right now
@MurrayL: I planned to make the end longer but I could start just 3-4 hours for ending, but I'll try to make the collision for the player smaller.
@Tom7:
Thanks to you for reporting this bug, cause I use a similar timer system in another game, but with the other updates I'll enable VSync (60-75 FPS).

Helco says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:30pm

Just saw that I can not submit a patch without changing the original file link (I think that would not be fair) ?
But I'm updating and submit right after the judging ends.

blob says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 9:01pm

Very nice puzzle. I wished they were getting a bit more complex near the end, but it was fun to go through.
The controls were a bit glitchy and too fast.

You can put a separate download ( i think you can rename the download links, just rename it to post mortem version.)

Helco says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 6:47pm

You got an upgrade!
I changed the whole movement system to the system I original wanted to do but I was too lazy to implement it, but here you have it: a smooth tile-based movement
And please say if the speed bug is gone.
Tomorrow (UTC+01:00) I will make a blog post for the timer problem because of other games of mine which use it, because I don't have an idea to solve it forever without using the non-cross-platform nanosecond API of windows

triplefox says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 11:41am

It was a faster process to place wires before the post-compo version.

The speech is only playing on the left channel. Painful on headphones.

Puzzles were okay, I got through them without any trouble, but this type of puzzle and scenario has definitely been done before.

BlackBulletIV says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 3:54am

Nice! The hacking system was clever, though it took me a while to figure out its rules. Tiled movement would've greatly decreased the frustrations I had with moving around. For example, I had trouble placing connectors in the right spot when hacking, and trouble getting through door ways.

The Microsoft Sam voice was a bit annoying, and the game would've definitely benefited from some ambient sounds or music.

Anyway, the game definitely needs some polish, but its got some good concepts.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]