Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 23

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Lost Oxide - SidetrackGames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Note: Runs best with Chrome!

This is my entry for Ludum Dare 23. The game was made in roughly 20 hours of work.

- Whats it all about?
--- You control a surrealistic character which resides inside a blood cell
--- Within each blood cell of our body, there is a tiny litte world
--- These worlds vary in size (different levels)
--- Blood cells real function is to deliver oxygen around the body. So..
--- The character in the game's function is to gather the oxygen bubbles within a blood cell, so that the blood cell can successfully do its job.

- How do i play?!
--- Use the arrow buttons to navigate. While next to a wall, press left/right to jump off the wall. Hold the arrow down key to slide fast down the walls!



The game was obviously rushed, thus some introductional features didnt make it in. Additional levels, mechanics, polish and some time pressure was planned but didnt make it in. The music and the menu were created within the last hour, which is fairly reflected in the demo!

Tools used: Aviary for music, Photoshop for art, and the Construct 2 engine for everything else.

Hope you enjoy it!



- Read more here:
--- http://sidetrackgames.wordpress.com/2012/04/23/ludum-dare-23-participation/

- See my post-mortem post here:
--- http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/04/24/lost-oxide-post-mortem/

- Try the tool i used to make my entry for free here:
--- http://www.scirra.com/?a=1k2

View SidetrackGames's journal. | View all entries by SidetrackGames

Ratings

Coolness100%
#47Graphics4.10
#94Mood3.40
#211Overall3.36
#315Fun3.03
#511Audio2.27
#540Theme2.81
#603Innovation2.57
#619Humor1.87

Comments

JustinMullin says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:49am

Nice art! And props for getting wall-jumping right...too many platformers completely botch the wall-jump, causing no end of frustration.

Shackelford says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:55am

One of the most graphically impressive games I've seen on here so far. The lighting really adds to the mood. Its too bad you didn't have more time to add the features you mention.

Rybar says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:58am

Nice lighting effects, elegant minimal color palette. Good platforming action overall. Didn't care for up arrow being jump.. IMO there should always be a jump button separate from the arrow keys, especially in a game dependent on wall-jumps.

LukeRissacher says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:01am

I beat it! :) Like the artwork, simple and clean, captures the style / feel of Limbo.

RandomOutput says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:04am

Really enjoy the visual aesthetic of the game. The wall jumping is pretty cool as well. I found the path to reach the top left orb frustrating. The other two when I messed up, it felt like a mistake on my part. Some of the obstacles on the top left orb felt were trickier. Probably mostly a taste thing on my part. Again, really love the visuals! Great work!

cirolve says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:09am

overall, a very nice looking game, I especially enjoyed the lighting effects throughout the level. The only qualm I have with it is the level design, sometimes there were spikeys that I could not see because it was too dark. other than that though, its a nice and fun to play platformer, good job!

BlackBulletIV says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:22am

The graphics and lighting were great, although the character felt under-animated. I found the gameplay to be a bit boring, and slightly frustrating at times.

The music became really annoying; I ended up turning it off. As you say, it was rushed. I think some background ambience would be better. Also, the music kind of ruined the mood that I was getting from the graphics.

Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:22am

Thanks for the comments, warms my heart :) Had a blast working on the concept this weekend, and will try to take the game a step further in the future!

Tulrath says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:44am

Great artwork, and nice lighting effects. The wall-jumping was eventually good once I got used to it - I don't think you really needed the slow sliding down the walls, the levels were difficult enough without the time pressure :)

nornagon says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:50am

Gorgeous graphics! Hated having to go back to the beginning every time I died though :(

Cidolfas says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:13am

No sound and the wall slides were a bit buggy on Chrome :O
Beautiful graphics! The platforming was solid if a bit frustrating. It took about 10 runs at the last bubble until I decided that I wasn't going to be able to hit the gap in the anemones and just needed to backtrack.

Beanalby says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:17am

Definitely one of the best I've games I've played in LD23, love the walljumps.

Jezzamon says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:19am

This game looks pretty good, but I didn't enjoy it that much :C

spacerumpus says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:23am

Cool gameplay overall. The walljump worked pretty well although at times it would stutter or clip a bit. I think this is a job well done considering the 20 hrs.

keely says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:24am

Very cool and only 20h of work! Awesome graphics. Controls were very tight. I love sliding down the wall mechanic. It matches the darkness/light mechanic nicely.

Not much innovation and only vaguely in the theme, but super cool overall.

Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:24am

Nice look, reasonable feel; good work, but it's very frustrating to play. Exploration game with darkness, hidden spikes, and no checkpoints? Ouch! I couldn't stick it out to the end.

Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:25am

Thanks for the feedback :) @Cifolfas, hmm weird.. The sound volume is rather low though, but not exactly a selling point with the current music. I should have made some fancy SFX!

aaronsnoswell says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:44am

Nice job - I remember seeing the animation work in progress yesterday :) Good to see how it turned out. Love the use of vertical space (gripping to walls) in a platformer - don't see that often. Also love the use of lighting, and the player's belly as a light :)

Would have been better with some creepy music (and squelches in the background - it's a blood cell :P).

Awesome job.

robcozzens says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:05am

Simply fantastic! The only thing that would have made it better is a separate jump button.

Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:07am

Thanks! Wish i could update it, could add several inputs for jump easily :(

ineap09 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:12am

Loved the graphics of your game!
I also used Chrome to play it. The sliding down walls on the right worked perfectly, but whenever I was sliding down walls on the left, the character was constantly going between hugging the wall and slightly in the air next to the wall. It made jumping of left walls very difficult and frustrating at times. Finished the game anyway. xD It was great! Great job on this beautiful game!

chartinboy says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:13am

Cool! Tricky to know what kills you at first, and i had some trouble getting off the loading screen, but once i was in there it's kinda like the original meat boy game in it's control - Which is definitly a good thing!

neosam says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:15am

It took a while to get what I have to do but now I made id! :) Really cool graphics and lighting and smooth gameplay! Awesome!

brianshaler says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:07am

Love the graphics!

Getting around was pretty intuitive, too. I guess my main critique would be of the level design. It was pretty frustrating to navigate all the way around a huge level only to bump into something that I couldn't see, even after bumping into it.

True Valhalla says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:25am

I thought it looked nice but I didn't enjoy it much...frustrating deaths really got to me. The occasionally glitchy platform mechanics broke the immersion a bit for me too. But, overall I liked it - good work! :)

23 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:36am

Really nice graphics, and the lighting is really cool!

Maybe it's just my computer, but though the lighting was cool, I thought the game was too dark, and I could barely hear the audio.

Evgis says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:36am

Good graphics, especially the lighting. The character sprite bugged alot on the edges of the ground. Otherwise, great work.

ncannasse says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:50am

Nice mood !

bms says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:06pm

I love the lighting effects and the art, good job!

uberneen says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:07pm

The lighting was a really nice touch. It was generally dark, but I got used to scrutinizing the corners for hazards.

NefariousZhen says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:59pm

Fantastic work.

Shigor says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:03pm

Visually very attractive, but for me it's too frustrating to play. I have up after a while, couldn't finish

Pierrec says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:35pm

It's lagging like hell on my computer, I don't know why. I only can rate the graphics (which are great by the way)

graytest says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:13pm

Really nice. Good controls, nice art, great mood through the use of lighting and the music.

the8donut says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:52pm

I really like the art style, and controls feel good. It's a bit hard but overall great job!

matheus23 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:54pm

I like it, but I don't get, how it fits into the theme. Also, its kind of really short. There are no more levels...

Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:03pm

Very nice game! Great graphics! The controllers needs some calibration and the character speed is constant, would be better if it fade from speed zero to the maximum speed.

Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:53pm

Love the light-mechanics. Gameplay is solid, but the movement feels a bit lightweight.

Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:18pm

great graphics.. found it abit too dark in some places but think thats just my monitor.. good job :)

royvanrijn says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:43pm

Very nice game, cool art! Jumping is sometimes a bit buggy if you hold down the keys.

Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:00pm

Okay, creepy game... But I liked it. Felt compelled to play to the end. Was hoping for some kind of creepy ending to compliment the rest of the game. But good job. I enjoyed it. :-) Also I like when you jump, you fly through the air like Little Nemo! :-)

Zathalos says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:33pm

Good graphics. Too bad it was rushed.

vigrid says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:16pm

Great artwork - very consistent. The controls are really smooth. The game itself is a bit hard, I didn't beat it :)

davidllanos22 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:20pm

The collisions are not working ok...the character can easyly stand up in the air xD anyway I love the art and the lighting fx ,it gives some king of mysterious felling! :)

FaBrito says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:50pm

Great game! As everybody else noticed, nice art and lighting effects! Thanks for paying a visit to my game, also! ;)

mattchu says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:40pm

Nice job. Very, very smooth feeling. Very nice graphics to match. :)

Obstacles blend in a bit too well with the background, though. It took me a minute to realize that any of the spindly, needle-shaped objects would kill me.

azurenimbus says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:32am

Plays really well! If you wanna work on this later, just add some more animation frames and add to the audio.

firstrowgames says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:33am

nice art and great game.
Also really like the lighting.

LeReveur says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:34am

I like this one, lights effects give an interesting mood, graphics and palette are well choosed.
Thank you for this game. :)

mneubrand says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:59am

Nice game. Graphically one of the best LDs I have seen so far. Looks very similar to the screenshot of Cliffrunner from your page at http://sidetrackgames.wordpress.com/games/

johanp says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:07am

Very nice and works without problems. Some of the spinning obstacles were a bit hard to see before it was to late. Ending was a bit anticlimatic. :)

attagcatc says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:23am

The graphics and lighting are really nice and establish the mood really well. The music - not so much, but it was only created in an hour, so good job.

davidwparker says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:39pm

Great overall!
The wall jumps were smooth.
Graphics remind me a bit of Limbo... but were very well done (good choice of colors).
The world felt pretty big to me :)
Didn't have any sound?

Fireblend says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:04pm

Nice! I loved the splash screen where your mouse was used as a light source :) the graphics are great, and the controls are incredibly tight! Walljumping was pretty sweet :D

omaha says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:43pm

not only is this game nicely polished and fun, it has a ton of potential still left in it. the graphics are beautiful, love the lighting.

jeroenimooo says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:15pm

Damn, that last ball was hard. THe lightning was indeed really cool :)

Transmit says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:35pm

Fantastic game, love the lighting.

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:16pm

I had to switch browsers a few times until I found one that liked your game. :p

I dig the limited colors!

Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:45pm

What a gorgeous game. I love the lighting, the character design, and your general visual aesthetic.

CuberToy says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:48pm

Great arts and animation, cool light concept. A little bit hard to understand what to do though...

Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:03pm

This was really cool, I loved the character's design, the game play is bit glitchy but it works and climbing and jumping from walls was fun. Nice use of light and darkness! I didn't hear any sounds though, the description seems to say there was supposed to be music.

schizofunky says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:05pm

Lovely atmosphere and very engaging I kept dying but was determined to complete it!

dray says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:05pm

Really nice game,
I was sad to finish it so quickly :)

derosa says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:36pm

Really nice ambientation! Smooth gameplay.

bburbank says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:18pm

AMAZING LIGHTING. Also, nice large map. Congrats!

orangepascal says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:15pm

as others before, really liked the lightning, nice game

bompo says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:19pm

Nice art direction!

strega says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:49pm

Pretty cool. I liked the art, especially the player's jump and run. I died while holding one of the bubbles and it disappeared from the world so I couldn't finish the game :\

Darkfrost says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:41am

Really nice Mood & Style you have going on! Pity some of the killing.. things? Were completely unexpected, so when you fell on them, you didnt get time to react, just had to learn the levels, but good fun :) Controls were nice, but it might've been nice to have them feel a bit smoother instead of so sudden!

Managed to beat it, pity there was no ending scene or anything though! :(

Mrnewt says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:46am

Nice use of lighting, and the music seemed appropriate.
Could not do wall jumping on the left well.

Apr 25, 2012 @ 8:49am

Thanks again for all the nice comments! Greatly appreciate it.

I'll go through and test all of the games of the ones who comments :)

Jhelle says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 8:00pm

Wall jumping seems off and sometimes hard to see what kills you. The graphics are nice and rest of the gameplay is solid. Good job.

Hume says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:00pm

The level design shows you a shortcut from the third orb, then punishes you for your laziness if you try to use it! Sadistic Hume like!

Seriously, this is a very solid entry. It feels like level 1 of a game. I'd like levels 2-n as soon as possible, please ;)

ghRibacki says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:15am

I love the mood! I could sure use some 2 or 3 more levels. It left me wanting more. It was challenging too. Good work! =)

Tokken18 says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:38am

Awesome! The style and theme were really interesting. The character was intriguing and lured me to try and figure out more about the strange creature and the world. The wall jump mechanic was nice but was a little cumbersome to use which was made more frustrating by the fact that it was seemingly the main way to traverse the world. Well done though! Lighting and style were very cool. There was an odd thing that happened when I was trying to get one of the orbs in the top right, the screen went blank then i suddenly saw the character in the middle of the screen and nothing else around him and I couldnt move. Not sure what happened. I also did not have any sound for some reason.

CireNeikual says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 2:18am

Really nice, I like the artwork. However, the physics were super glitchy.

Rabbits... says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:23am

amazing...I was on the edge of my seat the entire time! i'll have to look at the source for this to find out how to make games this awesome.

leafo says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 6:17am

Pretty cool. Wish there were more levels. Also saw some issues with the collision detection and my character bounding around. Not bad though.

seagaia says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 6:38am

Digging the graphics (like everyone else!)

mess110 says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 7:38am

loved the gfx

Apr 26, 2012 @ 7:31pm

really good jumping controls, and the mood was great

ratboy2713 says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 9:50pm

I like what you did with the graphics, but the wall jump is a little hard to control and I'm not entirely sure where I'm supposed to be going or why these blue things are attaching to me.

Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:03pm

@ratboy2713 Yeah its not that clearly conveyed, but i wrote a few lines explaining it at the entry :)

netguy204 says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:27pm

Garraaaahahaha! Daggum last stinking orb!

it took me quite a while to figure out why I was dying. The lighting, which does wonders for your overall mood, also made it very difficult at times to figure out what was happening.

The animation was very well done. I loved the feel of the wall jump (though, strangely, it seemed to offer more height per bounce than a normal jump.)

The music was... terse.

If I hadn't read the intro text in this post I would have no idea ho this related to the theme of tiny world. Who knew that the insides of red blood cells provided such hazardous working conditions? I hope they at least have good health insurance.

Nice game and well done.

BenW says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 1:15am

Platforming elements were good and I liked the coherent color scheme. The hitboxes could use a little work though.

Topaz says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 9:25am

Very nice graphics and mood to it :D

BlackDogg says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 8:30pm

I liked the art a lot, especially with the lighting that works well. Controls where cool, but I would have prefered to use the up key to jump even against the walls. My biggest problem with the game is that I didn't understand a thing about the story and the setting until I came back here and saw the text, and it's "sad" because it's a great idea. Cool entry anyway, I had a good time.

Waffenwars says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 8:51pm

nice game, the mechanic is well executed. The art style is great, and the lighting, but it's a bit too dark which resulted in some frustration when I just couldn't see the enemis before I jumped into them (especially on the light orb to the left (up and to the left). I thought it was possible to jump down on the right after that left orb as well which resulted in dying some times. Other than that, great, also loved the animations.

jeffz says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 11:44pm

Found the lighting distracting but interesting, controls felt a like they could be tweaked a bit. Would have been good to see how you could make it relate to the theme if you had more time.

alexlarioza says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 12:57am

I love your lighting system! I also have to agree with the first commenter about getting the wall jumping right. =] I only had problems with getting between those two spinny spikes.

Pixelulsar says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 2:23pm

Cool, I liked the organic art style and the lighting, but sometimes your character's animation would glitch out.

Mesene says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 5:31pm

I enjoyed it a lot, thanks ;)

jfroco says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 4:16am

Nice graphics. It was fun but short. No music in Chrome 18.0.1025.162 m

Jigxor says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 11:26am

Nice atmosphere with the lighting effects and the graphics and animation is very good too. Ran well on Firefox 13.

Fun game! Great job.

racarate says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 1:39am

The monochrome look was great, and the belly-flop animation was cute and whimsical. The lack of audio jumped out a few minutes in, when I realized the deaths were silent. I like how big the levels were, though I didn't understand how anything fit into the theme. The spotlight effect was really neat in the darker areas, and the running animation was cool but I think my ten-year-old computer gave me some foot-slip. The music loop was waaaaay too short though, it got repetitive. Overall, fancy stuff!

VoidChronos says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 8:38pm

Really cool game. Graphics are so beautiful (wish i could do so). Really great game. Great Job!

tcstyle says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 12:28pm

Great visual style and concept and very good level design. Pity there is no sound here (Firefox).

Izzimach says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 4:01am

The color palette and animations were great. I usually don't like wall-jumping platformers but the controls here worked well for me.

Datamosh says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 7:10am

LOVE the art style! The whole world you managed to create, it's truly amazing. Worked slow on Opera, but tried it on Chrome and it was good. And the character was attractive to play with! Grabbing to the walls, running (I remember seeing your postmortem post and the little sketch animation keyframes were lovely) Overall, stunning work, congratulations!

angrygeometry says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 1:41pm

ran really bad on my pc (my fault, its old as hell) but from what i could play it wasn't bad. lighting effects were nice.

May 5, 2012 @ 2:36pm

Good, but the music a little too soft and the controls are little jerky. I think up should've been the button to rebound off walls instead of left or right.

Make A Game says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 10:39pm

Cool game, nice art and ambient.

Thotep says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 7:21am

I loved the art! Physics are pretty solid too. Good and fun game!

Toast says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 10:11pm

Character reminds me of the rabbit dude from Donnie Darko for some reason. I liked the mood and stuff.

Could have been more of a reward at the end. The death collision were a bit annoying sometimes. There could have been more variety of obstacles.

tomhunt says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 8:35pm

I liked the blood cell theme. The graphics fit nicely. Music was alright but got repetitive after a while. The first level is was pretty hard.

You must sign in to comment.

[cache: storing page]