Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Lemming Apocalypto

by 10WonXero10 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Lemming Apocalypto is about a lemming that has to run somewhere very fast in order to save the lemming princess before something bad happens to her. Evil lemmings will try to prevent you from reaching her, jump over them and conserve your momentum to succeed. Choose your jumps wisely.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#287Humor2.53
#342Audio2.70
#556Graphics2.66
#701Mood2.23
#732Fun2.24
#749Innovation2.19
#777Theme2.26
#782Overall2.38

Comments

datahaven says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:47am

+Liked the music
-Found the player slow-down a bit frustrating. Would perhaps be more fun if player could get more speed up, but not jump so far, to make it easier to control.
-No option to restart game when time runs out?

jeroenimooo says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:13am

She died D: how sad... hahah weird resolution but worked well with the game.
Sometimes i got stuck sort of ontop of characters, not being able to jump away :s

sdwil2k5 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:16am

Thanks for the feedback. The slow down is intentional to make you think about keeping up momentum by choosing your jumps well.

I tried putting a reset option and multiple levels but I was learning the basecode framework on the fly and things started getting quite crashy and buggy, so I chickened out and left it as single level.

I had massive plans for this one (guns, knives, bad guys that hurt you, mario-style platforming. But yeah, none of that happened. :)

Anyway thanks for playing and rating!!!

Also if anyone finds the secret message at the end, let me know.

sdwil2k5 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:20am

@jeroenimooo yeah, princesses huh? always in trouble...

The getting stuck on other characters is like they are trying to hold you back so that you can't save her.

kinda frustrating I know, maybe I should have added some kind of effects to let the player know it's intentional.

davidllanos22 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:02am

My character got stuck and wasn't able to move for the rest of the time...xD yeah, I finally saved the princess! :D

oddgoo says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:13am

I actually found the idea interesting, enemies that don't kill you, just slow you down. But I kept getting stuck above and in-between them!

MaskedPixel says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:26pm

Good job. I got hooked trying to get as far as I could.

De10ter says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:56pm

Fun.
Could use a bit more variety in the backgrounds/levels. Momentum seemed weird though, he runs like he's skating on ice but jumps like he's swimming through tar.

bms says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:56pm

:D fun little game, but the controls are a bit stiff.. Maybe intended difficulty?

10WonXero10 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:58pm

I experimented by using a rigid body physics engine for the character movement, everything is controlled by adding force vectors.

Zed says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:05pm

Managed to get myself stuck in a group full of enemies. It was like crowdsurfing. I found that hilarious.

De10ter says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:33pm

...why are there two people in the comments talking like they are the developer?
10WonXero10 says ... "I experimented..." (Submitter)
sdwil2k5 says ... "I tried putting a reset option..." (???)

10WonXero10 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:09pm

Lol, yeah I changed my username, didn't update in the comments. Oops! Sdwil2k5 is me on this same account. Sry for confusion.

Law says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:56am

Getting stuck on other lemmings is the one big thing, but other than that, I had little issue with the game's mechanics. Slight eyebrow raised at the timer beginning immediately, though it didn't do much to my time. It's pretty good.

rvmook says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:15pm

It was quite tricky to get the right momentum sometimes. But that's also what made it fun. Hated to get stuck between 10 bad Lemmings though

evilseanbot says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:16pm

When I tried to run the game I got an error warning about one of the library files.

schizofunky says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:16pm

Very cute graphics and the music was perfect!

10WonXero10 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:17pm

@evilseanbot Sorry that you had a problem. Could you tell me which library it was complaining about?

devwil says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:28am

***I'm posting this on all non-browser games I bring up in an attempt to encourage folks to make browser games next time around. Do not take it personally.***

When hundreds of people make non-browser games, that means that, to play all of the entries, I would need to download hundreds of games to my computer. I typically use OS X, so Windows-only entries are particularly inconvenient.

Please consider making a browser game next time.

uberneen says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:48am

Not bad. The blocking mechanic works, but it's really easy to get hung up to where you can't get free.

jrasmussen24 says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:41am

Music was fun, and the gameplay mechanic felt somewhat novel (I was surprised when I didn't die after hitting an enemy). Good work!

steamgirl says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:32pm

I liked the idea and the velocity of the character. I didn't like that the countdown started before I even moved, though... I was reading the instruction message and not running.

One problem I ran into is that on the bit where the evil lemmings were one on top of another, the second one stood on top of my head so I couldn't even jump out of the crowd. I don't know if this was intentional or not? Either way, it was a bit annoying.

The speed is really fun though and I like the idea of having to time my jumps. Good job.

Catman says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 8:07pm

Cool, pretty tiny! I kept getting stuck in the lemmings, tho!

Andrew says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 9:10am

Getting on top of the other lemmings was really frustrating cause it took a while to get free again. I'm guessing that was the entire point.

10WonXero10 says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 9:31am

steamgirl said: "One problem I ran into is that on the bit where the evil lemmings were one on top of another, the second one stood on top of my head so I couldn't even jump out of the crowd."

LOL, I love hearing about things like that. I used an unseeded rand() function for placing the bad guys, so each player gets different attack waves. I got the double-up guys a few times while testing and I thought it was cool, didn't think about the possibility that one could step on your head and stay there.

This game really has a life of it's own.

pighead10 says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 5:41pm

I liked the idea, but the speed was too low and the momentum loss was too great. If it was based around massive speed this would have been really enjoyable.

Skully says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 3:43am

Good concept, though the gameplay needs slight refinement, the change in momentum from jumping and colliding with the evil lemmings makes it seem jerky and unpredictable. The collision was also making it not possible to jump or even move in some cases. Other than that, twas a great game

galman says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 12:51pm

Great concept!
I really like this idea!
It is a very fun game and I'll be really happy to see a sequel for it :-)
+ I found the secret message!

10WonXero10 says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 1:11pm

cool. did you jump?

Apr 29, 2012 @ 1:57pm

Liked the lemmings theme, definitely got the bouncy animation right :)

Controls were frustrating though as it just felt like I couldn't do anything to get out of the stickiness. I also had no indicator of how far I still needed to get, therefore no measurement of how well I did.

However, I like the simplicity of the idea, just the implementation is lacking a tad :)

Ranoka says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 2:03pm

I love Lemmings, but maybe it would have been better to make up your own character. Feels like the game is a little unfinished with just one long stretch of ground with other Lemmings that you get stuck on, but I did get to the end (after the princess died). Is it possible to get to the end on time?

trylle says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 2:12pm

Cute little game. While I understand why the player movement behavior is as it is, I still think it could be improved. I got completely stuck at least once, probably because I was stuck a couple of pixels above the ground and could seemingly not jump anymore. Did manage to save the princess after a couple of tries, though.

AlwaysGeeky says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 7:26pm

Realy nice. I liked this game!!

Endurion says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 3:11pm

Score: 23

A nice idea, near hopelessly killed by the controls. It's really annoying getting far and then getting stuck without any chance to get out.

Raptor85 says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 10:46pm

crashes on startup under WINE

10WonXero10 says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 7:52am

Sorry about that Raptor85, I didn't test for other platforms. Thanks for giving it a try though!

JellyFame says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 9:53pm

don't have windows

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]