April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Tiny Black Hole

by Ymihere - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first time entering an LD contest. yay!
Tiny Black Hole

You are a tiny black hole living in a tiny world. You hate it. You hate being the
smallest one around. Everything around you must die so that you can become the largest
black hole in the world. Start your campaign of destruction, but make sure you pick
on the little guys who are much smaller than you. If you even get close to a square
that is larger than you, he'll ruin a bit of your consumed power.

Use the arrow keys to move around.
Press the space bar when on top of a small triangle to eat it.
Don't run into the moving squares.
Try to eat as many triangles as you can to grow huge.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#370Fun2.93
#543Mood2.50
#573Theme2.73
#628Overall2.67
#710Graphics2.33
#725Innovation2.27
#874Coolness32%

Comments

wademcgillis says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:55pm

On the first playthrough, I had no idea that I was being timed.

It would be nice if the game had some sort of scoring, like "Maximum size achieved" or something.

Permanent7 says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:25pm

Pretty fun. I don't know how I feel about the timer. I think if you took away the timer and added some levels along with some sort of size goal for each level then it would be more fun. That is just my opinion though. :) Besides that pretty good for your first LD!!

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:20pm

Nicely done! I like the different color schemes, gets weirder and weirder :-)

MurrayL says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:50pm

Was quite fun, and an interesting take on the 'eat things to grow' theme that many games have used in this LD. I didn't realise there was a timer, though!

Jezzamon says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:26pm

Alas, this game doesn't work on my mac.

It looked interesting from the previews, though. :D

Cyboot says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 6:29pm

good game, and congratulation for finishing your first ludumdare.

it reminds me a little of Fishy (http://www.addictinggames.com/action-games/fishy.jsp)

iximeow says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 6:38pm

I had a lot of fun playing this! I sort of wondered what the white bar at the top was about until I saw "TIME'S UP" at the end, and proceeded to try four more times to not be a horrible black hole. I'm bad at being a black hole.

That said, I thought the timer was a fun challenge to work against. I didn't really notice, but does eating things give you more time? If not, I think that would be really fun. If so, I think they should give a bit more time.

A restart button at the end would be nice too :D

someone says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 3:40pm

Failed to get it running on Linux.
Not sure why, got other games using lwjgl working.

pbackx says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 4:02pm

Good fun.
Add some graphics and maybe levels and you've got a nice casual game.

samwoakley says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 4:42pm

Had a decent time playing, but as others have said, a score of some sorts would be nice. But nice work; I love the idea!

robcozzens says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 3:12am

I would try it but I'm on an iMac.

Raptor85 says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 9:13pm

Can't test on linux since the required lwjgl wasn't packed with

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: no lwjgl in java.library.path
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary(ClassLoader.java:1738)
at java.lang.Runtime.loadLibrary0(Runtime.java:823)
at java.lang.System.loadLibrary(System.java:1028)
at org.lwjgl.Sys$1.run(Sys.java:73)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.doLoadLibrary(Sys.java:66)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.loadLibrary(Sys.java:95)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.<clinit>(Sys.java:112)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.<clinit>(Display.java:135)
at pack.GLDraw.<init>(GLDraw.java:25)
at pack.MainWindow.<init>(MainWindow.java:14)
at pack.Driver.main(Driver.java:9)

Ymihere says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 10:52pm

Sorry everyone about the linux problems. Being my first LD, I had a hard enough time trying to figure out the proper packaging for what I do have.

@Raptor85, I did package lwjgl in the jar file so I'm not sure how that error could be coming up.

Thanks, anyway, to everyone who was able to play my game and rated it. :)

JellyFame says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 9:53pm

don't have windows

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]