April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Millinaut

by Throbbery - Jam Entry

What do you do when your beloved little home planet has to find a new place under the sun? You zoom it over to a new galaxy with your rocket, then shrink both and carry them around on your ahead until you come across a spot that looks juuuust right. It's a big universe out there, and it'll take a hero with a big heart to save his world.

A game by Shaun Inman + Neven Mrgan + Alex Ogle.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#11Innovation(Jam)3.98
#23Mood(Jam)3.63
#24Overall(Jam)3.86
#32Fun(Jam)3.53
#53Audio(Jam)3.47
#56Graphics(Jam)3.94
#92Humor(Jam)2.64
#97Theme(Jam)3.14
#705Coolness45%

Comments

drmanitoba says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:03am

Really outstanding. I'm hooked.

homnom says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:39am

Played to some of the obstacles/puzzle elements. I'm sure I'll be coming back for more.

Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:01am

This is really cool! Took me a few minutes to get the mechanic but it was worth it.

Peter Cooper says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:10am

Very well put together, though I found it REALLY hard. But maybe I'm just being dumb..

homnom says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:42am

It captures some of the kookier gameplay elements of both Metroid and SMB2.

bburbank says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:24pm

Great job, guys! Mechanic is really entertaining, and I love the palette.

Rusty Moyher says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:26pm

Well done! Has that real NES feel. The "swap, drop, smash" mechanic is clever and fun. Pretty touch there at the end, but the difficulty curve doesn't feel too steep.

mnem says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:11pm

Nice little game, but I do find it quite hard. I'll be back later to practice more :)

kibertoad says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:21pm

Would be nice if some play instructions would be included in-game :)

Throbbery says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:57pm

Play is a process of discovery, if we explained it you'd be performing instead of playing :) —Shaun

derrickdool says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:59am

A lot of love went into this one.
I spent a lot of time trying to figure out the controls.. maybe part of the fun?

AlwaysGeeky says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:05am

Good stuff! :)

gritfish says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:02pm

Oh wow - something about that music sent me straight back to playing old dos games as a kid... Really cool mechanic with the three heads. I kept trying to ride the rocket but I don't think I was meant to... :P

I got to the level where the 3 monsters were sort of in a step formation and there were some stars above them, but I couldn't figure it out. I'll come back and try again after I've played some more games.

This is honestly the most polished game I've played so far.

orgarus says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:09pm

Nothing like a awesomely done retro stylish game, if in addition the game is fun, you have all that is needed.
Very pleased to play it. I'll be back soon to give it another try (or two, or three... or thousand :D)
Congrats!

Codexus says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 9:32pm

An innovative game concept but all that gray is depressing. Add some color! :D

seagaia says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 4:35am

I felt a little exhausted after playing a few stages. Maybe I'm not able to think at the moment with the mechanics o_O. But what I managed to figure out was neat. And nice overall aesthetics!

dukope says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 5:03am

Love everything about the visuals. Perfectly charming and really captures the gameboy aesthetic. The puzzle mechanic is also very good. Nice work.

BNeutral says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 6:17am

Those last two levels were so hard.

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 7:36am

love those graphics! gameplay is also interesting

onehandclap says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 7:58am

Amazing! Nothing more, nothing less. =)

bompo says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 8:34am

Outstanding! Very creative concept and the graphical style is just lovely!

summaky says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 12:54pm

Outstanding!

Apr 29, 2012 @ 5:52pm

Beautiful visuals, interesting gameplay and quite a bit of polish. Great job!

tinymagus says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 5:18am

96 reviewed and this is probably in my top 5.

jimmypaulin says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 7:47pm

Great mechanics, so many puzzles in so little time! very impressed. I love the art style and the controls are crisp and sure. The difficulty ramps nicely, but I got stuck, oh well! The story was a bit confusing, but cool in a random kind of way ;)

marudziik says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 8:38am

Feels very polished. I especially like the palette choice & audio.

deejorg says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 4:55am

Nice concept! The music feels very right and the mechanic is fun.

nornagon says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 7:30am

What an odd mechanic! I felt like I was exploiting it.

ratking says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 2:22pm

Mh, maybe the controls are too strange or I was too dumb or the game was too hard or I didn't get what this game is about :/
But the graphics and the overall style are awesome!! As I read in the comments more people have this problems. Maybe you can fix those (people XD) problems to make it more accessible.

May 6, 2012 @ 11:00am

Nice idea! Love the music and gameplay.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 8:57am

Level design is a little suspect at some points, but the aesthetic here is very charming :)

SonnyBone says ...
May 14, 2012 @ 12:26am

Really friggin' fun! Like... REALLY. I could totally see myself playing a full-featured version of this for hours. Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]