April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Angstrom

by Daniel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

EDIT: Some players had problems to finish the game. To kill the last boss, get close to it and shoot INSIDE it.

Arrow keys/ ASDW to move, space to jump.

Timelapse: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8ciCatH2dNM

This is it :) It's my limit... I have to go to sleep
I've put my heart and soul in making this game.
The engine is Unity3D.
Besides the Unity Standard Assets, everything in this game (art, programming, etc) was made by me in the last 48 hours.

It's a short game. I hope you can enjoy it as much as I enjoyed making it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#82Graphics3.95
#117Mood3.31
#134Overall3.52
#169Theme3.53
#211Humor2.73
#305Audio2.78
#354Fun2.96
#543Innovation2.68

Comments

Ivsucram says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:19am

IUHOAiuhouai very cool. And when I was playing I was really imagining that the way that the main char speaks its the same at the author of game XD

Congratulations Daniel :) Very cool.

Beanalby says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:54am

Quite an impressive amount of content for the short amount of time.

ineap09 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:15am

Wow, fantastic game! The game was fun to play, and the dialog was very entertaining. I admire your art style, and you set the mood in the game perfectly. Excellent work!

Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:15am

Nice one, i like the lighting effects!

cirolve says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:26am

graphics were great! gameplay felt a bit wonky at times, but given the timeline for this competition, this is fantastic! you really can see how much time was put into this submission :D

robcozzens says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:53am

Holy moly! That is impressive. It was a little hard to control, but other than that, I'm blown away!

triplefox says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:06am

This game was good but felt "overscoped" in a few ways that were detrimental:

The art style had a nice manga feel, but it didn't translate to paperdoll animation well.

The physics didn't add a lot of substance to the game and the platforming felt sluggish. Mouse aiming was made quite difficult since backward firing was restricted.

The sound was mostly excellent but felt sparse during gameplay.

The cutscenes and story did a good job of drawing me in, but lacked a good conclusion.

Overall it felt like the game was building towards potentially interesting gameplay and story, but ended too quickly.

steamgirl says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:55am

Really liked the game initially, great intro, nice graphics. The physics were a bit iffy at times, but kind of contributed to the weird feed of the world. The characters were fun and I liked the gun effects!

I got stuck on the level with the big red blob though. Reset several times. Tried to jump onto the black platform through using the blob thing, but it didn't work - just got stuck in the middle of the air. After about 15 resets or so I gave up. :(

Still, great job! Very impressive game for such a short amount of time!

Daniel says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:53am

Thanks for the comments :)
To tell the truth, I'm quite satisfied with this game. And for most of its flaws I can effectively blame the time limit.

@triplefox: I agree with you, I think I overscoped it. The thing is that I was not 100% sure of what I could finish in the 48hr time.
Originally I intended to have a "run" button so that the platforming would be more dynamic. Backward firing was also a TO-DO feature, but didn't have time to implement it.

@steamgirl: that's strange. I never ran into that problem. When you defeat the boss, an event that should make that platform accessible. Maybe it's a problem with the web-player (sometimes it works strangely). In case you meet that problem you can try the windows version.

Pierrec says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:48am

Weird controls : you can't use the arrow keys AND the space bar AND the mouse. Human beeings only got 2 hands. Up to jump would have been better.

Aside from that, it's a nice game and the jumping animation is funny

Daniel says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:29am

@Pierrec: good point, I should have added the jump function to the UP key as well since it is unused.
Nevertheless, you can also use A&D to move, press space with you thumb, and use the mouse to shoot like in Counter Strike.

steamgirl says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:53pm

@Daniel
Ah... There was a boss? Was the big blob thing the boss? I thought it was a kind of trampoline. >_<

Daniel says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:20pm

@steamgirl
ohhh that explains it! You have to kill it first before using it. To kill it you have to get close to the cell and shoot inside it. I should've displayed a message on the screen saying it a boss ;)

angrygeometry says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:02pm

got stuck in the same area as steamgirl. the graphics are great, but the game feels slow and the story very forced. still, impressive work.

strega says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:22pm

Very nice! I liked the way you rigged up the characters. The bullet effects are awesome, too. Well done!

Shigor says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:26pm

First impression was very good, but similarly to other reviewers i found controls extremely clunky. What REALLy annoyed me was that I had to "listen" to dialogues every time i had to retry. I got stuck on the level with red cell "boss", unable to kill it or do anything else. Gave up after about ten tries. I'd like to finish it, but it was just too annoying :/

GOOD: art (althout character movements don't look that good), mood

BAD: controls (getting stuck to walls, some times it stopped responding at all, inability to shoot backwards), inability to skip dialogues, pretty forced level endings.

Overall quite good despite the controls.

karnakgames says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:26pm

With a bit more of work, this game has an amazing potential. Keep working on it and release :D

firstrowgames says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:29pm

Awesome game! Its amazing you did it in 48 hours.
Really liked the art,levels and the lighting effects.
My only complaint is that the character moves a bit slow.
Would love to play more if you decide do add more to it.

Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:48pm

It's a beautiful aesthetic! especially the particle-work.

Orni says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:04am

I like the premise of the story and the opening was great.
very awesome indeed

edbadiux says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:09pm

A very complete game =). I liked the story but felt that the physics were very floaty, overall I really enjoyed playing through your game.

AirRider3 says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 8:19pm

"Don't worry, this is not the end yet"
Game ends. LOL

I really like the game. Cool characters and graphics, amusing shoot sound, awesome effects. It could be extended!

ratboy2713 says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:02pm

The character moves far too slow and I got killed because I couldn't move in a cut scene. Very pretty, however.

Shadow says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:09am

Interesting. Liked the art style and the story progression, although I didn't manage to finish it, sadly :/

Jedi says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:07am

This one is awesome! +5 overall!

john_conder9 says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:56am

The ending! AHH The worse ending yet! You tricked me ! :( Pretty great entry though, as everyone else has said: I loved the graphics and the sound and the story and the gameplay...the physics and movement was a bit dodgey but otherwise...excellent!

Oh and also it could have used a fade-to-black or something transition for those in-game "cuts" or "teleports" - took me a while to figure out what was going on.

Codexus says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 10:02pm

Super-awesome game. It has everything I like. I loved how you did the characters. The weapon effects were also super cool. Clearly a game I wish I could have made.

PoV says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 10:14pm

Very nice. I enjoyed it.

AD-Edge says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 12:08pm

Well done, a fun game! My only crit with the whole thing, is that you cant shoot forwards whilst running backwards, which lead me to die a few times. Makes the combat a bit clumsy.

vitou3d says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 12:46pm

Pretty cool graphic! The speed of the scientist is a bit slow though. Anyway, Good Job!

ilo says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 2:56am

Argh! Not the dreaded restart before a cutscene/dialogue! :)

Interesting way of animating the character. With more joints and attention it could work quite well. I liked the gun light + particle effects, and the dialogue was enjoyable too.

As john_conder9 said, some transitions between levels would make it feel less disjointed. I also got confused when the mouse was behind the character so the gun would point up instead of the character turning to look in that direction.

But a good effort, definitely.

mooosh says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 2:20am

holy god this rules. really impressive graphics, and fun gameplay. you should expand this.

Danvil says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 10:30pm

Very much like it! Nice graphics and a lot of content for the short time. Where is more?!

Monkey Armada says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 8:39am

I like the particle effects. The overall is quite good!

Madball says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 2:10pm

Great game, but it feels undone. It has several physic(cell)/graphic(layers) bugs. And, you know, it's, well, undone, I mean, unfinished. It feels like you tried to be the best at everything and couldn't do everything.

May 7, 2012 @ 2:17am

I wish the characters would walk faster, and I was only able to beat the boss by taking advantage of a bug, but you created quite an impressive game!

marudziik says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 3:58pm

Found some bugs, but the graphics and audio are fine. It's an impressive LD entry, but seems buggy and levels transition is something I wish was there (in the beginning I thought it's a bug). I like the story idea, but after loosing a couple of times, didn't continue. Plus for the title and particle physics references. :D

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]