April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

The borders of Tiny World

by AngelDE98 - Jam Entry

You are " Blob #23105 " . You come from the " Tiny World " to search for lifes outside of it . You get trapped into an tunnel system - the borders of Tiny World . You are the last living blob sent to the search for live . Why living ? You've got the power to twist Gravity . But you are weak , and you know it . You notice your short-distance-teleportation-device is working well , but you must get outside thru the small holes in the tunnel . It won't be easy .

Controlls ( standard ) :
Up : Up
Down : Down
Left : Left
Right : Right
Enter : OK
Space : Twist
F2 : Screenshot
R : Use short-distance-teleportation-device , also known as " Retry "

Yellow Beams will absorb your health and also drop you back . Watch out ! When you just can't do other , or are trapped , use the short distance teleportation device . Then it's my fault . Any other use of the sdtd is " cheating " ... and removes the fun of this game .

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#189Audio(Jam)1.80
#221Humor(Jam)1.45
#235Mood(Jam)1.58
#235Fun(Jam)1.93
#245Theme(Jam)1.86
#250Overall(Jam)2.00
#252Innovation(Jam)1.80
#253Graphics(Jam)1.80
#851Coolness33%

Comments

PabloAM says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 7:28pm

Hello, I can´t open it. Any suggestion?
I have try with all my browsers as well.

Thanks in advance.

AngelDE98 says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 1:11pm

Hi,
* gah , I would like email notifications *
Have you installed Java 7 and tried launching with it ? I would like to downgrade it to Java 6 , but just found a solution after the deadline ;(

Apr 28, 2012 @ 1:30pm

The level generator kept me playing "one more level", but some levels were almost impossible because of odd collisions. Overall it is a simple and fun game.

RHY3756547 says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 5:00pm

Won't run for me.

dr_soda says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 6:53pm

Could not play because the .jar file did not execute.

AngelDE98 says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 7:12pm

When it won't run , just install java 7 . I would like to port it to java 6 but I can't : Jam is over :(

AngelDE98 says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 7:12pm

btw : When you get black screen , just wait . It downloads all needed libraries and files , fonts , sounds , ...

andrebessa says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 6:35pm

Not performed. error-free

ExciteMike says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 10:44pm

The .jar doesn't seem to do anything, just exits immediately. (I'm on Win 7 64)

May 4, 2012 @ 10:06am

Your jar doesn't launch for me either, I get an "Unsupported major.minor version 51.0".
I think you can do ports after the deadline.

AngelDE98 says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 12:52pm

Dont want to risk disqualifies ... but I may try soon .

ghRibacki says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 8:23pm

Please, port it to Java 6 so I can play!

May 6, 2012 @ 9:19pm

The game crashed a few times on me when I pressed R to restart. I like the gravity flipping mechanic but it's hard to track where your character will end up with the way the screen flips.

Vilborg says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 10:01pm

I'm pretty sure I have updated Java, and jar doesn't run.

skyboy49707 says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 3:48am

Does not run. What OS did you make this on?

Jedi says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 5:52am

Porting to another platform IS allowed in the rules. Just don't change the game in doing so. I'm sure nobody would be offended by a port from Java 7 to Java 6!

Patacorow says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 6:16pm

Jar doesn't execute, please fix it, I really wanna play this :)

PaulSB says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 8:36pm

Couldn't open it either

AngelDE98 says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 6:41pm

Sorry because of the delay but I had to checkdisk my partitions multipile times to make the compiler work without BSOD .

Short : It is uploading to the DropBox Servers . Wait a moment .

Changelog :
- JRE6 Support
- Added notification on beginning that libraries are initalizing .

johannhat says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 2:10am

Pretty simple, but I like there this was going! Some of the odd hanging collision problems left me hanging on walls from time to times. Also, what is that world that you enter into when you hit Retry in the very beginning? :O

AngelDE98 says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 12:23pm

@johannhat , You had to complete the first level . Because of collision bugs you have mentioned it is hard ... After on every level is random . BTW good to know it works now on JRE6 machines and the black screen at beginning is no more scaring someone that the game crashed ...

oldtopman says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 8:54pm

Cool game, but all I get is a black screen. Console output is here: pastebin.com/9scJPDMk

asfdfdfd says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 9:00pm

Black screen. :C

AngelDE98 says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 4:12pm

It extracted files , oldtopman ~.~

You just had to wait sooome more . It should have told you that you need to wait around 10 minutes because of initalizing libraries . Now get to your .TBOTW folder ( usually where .MINECRAFT is , too ;] ) and then remove everything in it . Then retry .

tcstyle says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 7:03pm

Actually this was more frustating than fun. The basic idea is pretty interesting but the level generator gives some rather unsolvable levels too often.

JaJ says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 4:50pm

The first level showed the game's potential best. Even though the concept of flipping the level isn't new, there is still a lot that can be done with it. The randomly generated levels did generate a lot of frustrating situations, though some were quite fun/ funny as well. If you tweak the level generator this could be a lot less frustrating an a lot more fun.

Jedi says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 10:06pm

I still want to play it but don't want to install Java 7 just for it.

AngelDE98 says ...
May 14, 2012 @ 2:29pm

I know it's already post compo , but I already commented I added JRE6 ( Java 6 ) support ...

BTW : For the first compo I just set myself no big goals excepting creaing the post-mortem version . I also have said I will get one of latest places . I am right ;)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]