April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Exciting Electrons

by Tumaini - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Sounds made with the excellent sfxr.
Engine used: jMonkeyEngine 3.
Run with java -jar excitingElectrons.jar
You can also use the run scripts provided:
* run.bat for Windows
* run.sh for Linux
Alternatively, you can use the Java Web Start link to start directly from the web.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#148Innovation3.54
#314Theme3.25
#519Audio2.26
#652Graphics2.46
#688Coolness46%
#774Mood2.06
#802Humor1.10
#828Overall2.21
#886Fun1.48

Comments

V0ID says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:11am

I like that game :)
The graphics/sounds are neat and I like the scientific background. Electrons are so tiny that it fits very well into the theme.
Sometimes it felt like my clicks where not registered properly but that has not been a big cutback.

SBareS says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:23pm

The game throws an exception when I click start.

Suese says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:34pm

Got a menu and a crash. Sorry.

berkano says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:35pm

Neat idea, but found it a bit frustrating! (but I'm a bit impatient)

De10ter says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:37pm

Hmm, I get that it's based on real data and I like the concept but it seems needlessly fiddly :/
It wasn't clear at first to use the mouse wheel but even after reading that, the default setting moves the electron but obviously isn't the (whole) answer/solution but _any_ other value I use either has no effect or sends it flying off :(

caranha says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:41pm

That was a very interesting idea. I liked the concept, the sounds and the interface.

But there are some problems that prevent the game from being very fun: It seems that passing to the next level is simply a question of luck -- you excite the electron to the highest level, and hope that it decays to the correct level by itself, generating the light that you need.

Also, I got dozens and dozens of "level complete" message, but the game didn't seem to change at all.

Well, it was a great idea anyway, and I hope you take the time to polish it!

Evgis says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:49pm

Interesting concept!

Tumaini says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:08pm

Thank you all for trying it!
There was a critical bug with a shader for OS X that should now be fixed - it could perhaps explain the crashes on "Start".

@De10ter: Unfortunately I started on in game docs too late and never had time to finish them properly. This is also why the Credits button does nothing.

@caranha: Thanks for the feedback!
Indeed, advancing to the next level depends fairly much on luck, but you have a greater chance if you excite the electron to certain levels.

Unfortunately there are only two levels, so after you complete the second one, it just loads that one again and again. If it had only been a 49h compo! :)

I will most definitely work more on this, as I had several more ideas on how to make it better and more research to do and I didn't have the time for it during the compo.
This game will probably be a mini-game (along with other mini-game ideas I have) in a larger game I'm working on, in the next version.

MarekkPie says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:09pm

I think the computer I am using sucks to hard to play this.

cornedor says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:13pm

Very hard to understand.

Raptor85 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:35pm

interesting concept but the controls/what to do is a little hard to figure out. The text at the beginning also is black on black so it's really hard to read.

piterlouis says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:48pm

I don't understand the gameplay very well, It isn't funny :(. The interface is Ok and the effects of particles are good. Credits in main menu not working, right?.

ComaToes says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:04pm

I want to like it because it's science, but it seems too fiddly to absorb a gamer. Keep it up though, cos I'd love to see a fully-fledged version :)

Mach60KAS says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:32pm

Overall a very interesting game - as someone who id deeply interested in physics they concept seemed very innovative and appealing! My only gripe is that there seem to be at most 2 levels built in, and that the game is unfortunately not that fun. However, it is indeed a very interesting toy!

Tumaini says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:29pm

@MarekkPie: It requires OpenGL2.

@Raptor85: Yes, the tutorial was thrown together in the last minute and was unfortunately not finished.

@piterlouis: No, credits are not working.

@ComaToes: Thanks! I agree that the game mechanics can be improved quite a bit and I hope to be able to do that soon. A fully-fledged version will be available at a later time! :)

@Mach60KAS: Thank you! Indeed, only two levels, that was the thing I think I would do differently if I did it again - set aside time for making more levels.
I hope it can in the future become a small educational game to be used in schools (and elsewhere) to get more people interested in science.

whitetigle says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:53pm

I could not test your game : Opengl2 crash on my netbook :(
(java.lang.UnsupportedOperationException: GLSL and OpenGL2 is required for the LWJGL renderer!)

Apr 28, 2012 @ 5:33pm

A nice idea, but not really a much challenge to it. You simply excite the electron to its highest energy state and wait for its random path down to give the correct wavelenth to 'complete' the level.

ericdpitts says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 11:58pm

I loved the idea of this game, but I couldn't get it to do anything meaningful. When exciting it with to first energy level, it just flies off the screen. Cool cursor effects though, and a great idea!

azurenimbus says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 3:01am

Fascinating concept. This was quite unique. You should polish the gameplay to make the experience more accessible and fun.

gormio says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 7:49pm

I just couldn't figure out the game mechanic at all. I got the electron to excite twice with pure luck during the 15 minutes I tried. I can't say whether I'm supposed to touch it with the mouse pointer, click a mouse button, both at the same time or what. Just way too hard to get the electron excited.

The graphics and "poing" sound was cool though.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]