April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Tiny Drop

by Lobster Games - Jam Entry

Every drop can make a difference, and you can be it

Controls:
Walk with Left, Right
V = Jump, continue pressing to fly
C = "Heavy mode"
R = Reload

Lobster Games -
Nuno Dias
Tiago Marques
http://www.facebook.com/LobsterGames

Art by - Leandro Reis
http://www.leandrosoaresreis.com

Game Optimizationeer - Alexander Kustov
http://www.alexkustov.com

A few pictures from the development process -
http://ludumdarelisboa.tumblr.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#92Humor(Jam)2.64
#116Innovation(Jam)3.00
#147Fun(Jam)2.67
#153Audio(Jam)2.43
#170Graphics(Jam)2.85
#184Mood(Jam)2.38
#190Theme(Jam)2.52
#194Overall(Jam)2.59
#705Coolness45%

Comments

edbadiux says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:11am

Its a nice platformer game, I enjoyed playing it but I got stucked on walls several times. I think this game has the potential to be something even better, good job.

Pixelulsar says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 8:16pm

Cool idea with the three states of water, but I just randomly appeared in the wall in the middle of a level once...

free_napalm says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 4:19pm

Good idea with the different states - Gish meets Kirby?
But I could not really enjoy the game because of the bugs. Once I had to spawn four times in a row until I even had the possibility to move.

DainVadda says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 3:50pm

I liked it. Sometimes I got resporned directly above an enemy or hole.

dacap says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 5:10pm

I like the idea to control a drop and the possibility to change it between different states (+1 innovation). Anyway the gameplay needs some work and there are some bugs that don't make me enjoy it at its full potential. Also when the drop touches some enemy, it would be great to see some kind of feedback to know that you die and why you die (sometimes the collision is so far away that I see a screen fadeout but I don't even know why I die). Some stuff to continue working on: gameplay, graphics, and bugs. Anyway it's a good concept in general.

May 2, 2012 @ 8:28pm

Lovely character-work! The cube is great.

Lobster Games says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 8:39pm

Thanks for all the comments. We knew about that bugs everyone is talking, but since ludum dare 23, we hadn't any time left to improve the game.
The main idea for this game was the 3 states(solid, liquid and gas).
We had a feature when the drop hit an enemy, but appeared only sometimes, that was the drop disintegrating in smaller drops.

Thanks for the opinions.

mimshwright says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 8:54pm

I love the water state change mechanic.

tcstyle says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 9:07pm

Good basic idea but too much glitches to be really playable. I got stuck in the solid envorinment (walls/floors) more than once. The re-entry point after a dead seemd quite random.
With some bugfixing this has a lot potential.

PIXEL^3 says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 9:12pm

I like it but your going to have to fix the spawning errors. Several times I would spawn in a wall or over nothing and die.
Other then that and some other errors I think it's a good game.

CireNeikual says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 12:00am

Nice idea, but very glitchy. I keep dying from touching walls for some reason. Also, the rats are often upside-down.

Valeour says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 2:39pm

Very quite, nice graphics, the mechanics are quite poor at times, but the concept is good all the same. Well done.

Hume says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 6:26pm

Ahaha, he can't play Diablo...good opening sequence

Stencyl and Unity plugins both make my browser show "stuck plugin" dialogs, which make them really annoying to play, so I didn't play this for as long as it deserved. I won't penalize you, but I can't rate what I didn't see. More mature plugins like Flash and Java do not have this problem.

Great graphics and premise. Good use of theme. Love the changes of state. Lots of promise. Wish I could have played more.

Nolan C says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 8:46pm

Another Stencyl game, cool. I like the concept of the three different states, it can get pretty glitchy though, especially with respawning after deaths.

derosa says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 8:59pm

Nice platformer, reminds me of Gish.

summaky says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 7:43am

Re-spawning is kinda confusing because the player does not start at the same position all the time and often you can start over an empty space… Other that that, it is a nice platformer game and I loved the state-changing mechanism.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]