April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Minilization - Dawn and Fall of Man

by jarnik - Jam Entry

In several generations, your world will die.
Choose your own path - use your science or religion to find a way to escape the Cataclysm.

In a mix of a roguelike and a turn-based strategy, it's your destiny to guide a single lineage of man in gathering resources, developing cities and researching new technologies.
As the size of your world is limited, you have to plan your development thoughtfully.

Tip: YOU CAN ONLY EXPAND VILLAGES TO CITIES ONCE YOU GOT ENOUGH SPACE AROUND IT.

Made in less than 48 hours.
idea, design, graphics, music - @PetrAugustin
coding, sfx - @jarnik

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#26Mood(Jam)3.62
#28Overall(Jam)3.78
#30Audio(Jam)3.75
#49Innovation(Jam)3.54
#50Theme(Jam)3.46
#56Graphics(Jam)3.94
#67Fun(Jam)3.15
#144Humor(Jam)2.18
#1178Coolness0%

Comments

LeReveur says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:12am

Really good entry, good job guys ! \o/
Simple, easy to understand and fun to play.
Music and graphics are just fine, and no bug found while playing.
Thanks for your game. :)

Rybar says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:34am

Awesome work, as an atheist, I was truly hoping for some twisted no-win situation on the religious tech chain, but fun game either way. :D

metalmichael says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:52am

Start screen artwork is a great introduction. Instructions are decent. Simple gameplay and easy to understand. Out of the LD games, this one was pretty enjoyable.

metalmichael says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:56am

Although, what would be funny if there was a third path. Corporations: You did your best to silence the small inventors and technologies that harm "progress." The planet dies and so do all the people, but you die rich and they die poor.

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:27am

Nice, simple mechanics. Great presentation. Congratulations on a job well done!

Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:24am

A very nice game, i enjoyed the visuals as well as the old school feel of it.

Empty The Sea says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:26am

Very good job! Simple, short and enjoyable game.

Pierrec says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:16am

As I already told you : I love this game!

Nocturne says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:31pm

Well made, well presented, but a bit too easy, with very limited gameplay. Like a lot of games in this comp, I'd love to see this expanded on and made bigger...

karnakgames says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:02pm

Limited, yet deep. My favorite compo game so far.

gecko says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:14pm

the game looks great, also the story and concept are very good.

I'll love to see an expanded version.

Gremlin says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:25pm

Clever. I'd love to see more depth to the choices and systems. There are a lot of directions the basic idea can expand towards.

Oh, and for those who have trouble figuring it out like I did: you can only upgrade a house/city to a higher level <i>if it has enough room around it</i>. A grid of houses right next to each other can't be upgraded!

jeffreybiles says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:39pm

Pretty good. I loved the music. Unfortunately, there was little strategy in the gameplay, nor a real sense of progression.

Johnicholas says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:29pm

Good job!

Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:48pm

Great! I lost bad though!

KevinZuhn says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:51pm

I damned my future generation on the first playthrough with poorly-thought-out city planning and wasted lives! Once I had a handle on what to do, though, it felt a little tedious getting to the end, but it's still a cool concept and well implemented at that.

A lot of my wasted lives were due to the lifespan bar. Because of the way it's segmented, I often misjudged how much of it was left right before the final few steps.

Zathalos says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:24pm

Nice art and gameplay. A little short lived but well worth it. The gameplay is on the simple side but it's a great concept. There's a little humor worked in which I like. If this game was expanded upon, I'd definitely play it again. Nice job!

gritfish says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:21am

Enjoyed the mechanics, but i couldn't figure out cities and upgrades? I could expand a building once, but then nothing...
Looks like other people have figured it out.

Great graphics and sound, the interface is solid (even if it could be more obvious), and the concept is really cool. It'd make a great mobile game. I'd happily tap away at this for a while.

bompo says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:53pm

A bit to easy, but other than that well done!

Danvil says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:41pm

Very much liked the idea and how you implemented it! However I missed the eXterminate aspect of a typical 4X Civilization game.

LukeRissacher says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:40am

Interesting one - really impressive graphically and audio-wise. Reached both endings - I like the concept of a lifespan in a few turns, and taking on a global / human condition subject matter.

I didn't feel like I had much agency in the outcome - once I figured out how far apart to space my cities it was pretty routine to reach both endings. But with only 48 hours involved, really impressive effort.

Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:14pm

Thanks to everyone who played our game, we forgot to mention important thing in the game tutorial: YOU CAN ONLY EXPAND VILLAGES TO CITIES ONCE YOU GOT ENOUGH SPACE AROUND IT.
Sorry for everyone not being able to figure it out, we should have made it more obvious. -@PetrAugustin, graphic and design

orgarus says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 5:55pm

I liked VERY much!
Great graphics! Simple gameplay (when you get it :P)! And great theme (appropiate with this apocalyptic mayan times :D)! An excellent 48 hour (!!!) entry.
Great is the word to define this game.

jeffz says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 5:02am

great music, great titlescreen, loved it.

nihilocrat says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 4:14pm

I wasn't able to win, I ran out of space and kept respawning at a location where I couldn't move far enough to try to create a new city. Neat idea, though.

Lythom says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 11:58am

I found the game pretty easy in fast : (move 6, build up to city), repeat and research when you can. Had the science and religion endings, loved both. In my opinion, this is more a philosophical game than a strategy game. This is the only thing I don't like about the game : it looks like a strategy/management game but lacks some depth. i.e. I couldn't find out if swtiching branch (when possible) has an interest (except changing the ending if you took the "wrong" branch first).
Besides, got enchanted by the game : very nice story, enchanting atmoshpere, exhilarating music... good job guys !
Thanks for the game =)

Rabbits... says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 3:22pm

wow...I just wish that I was better at playing this...

leanderCorp says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 4:59pm

the map could be bigger, and different types of terrain would be nice(ovarall too easy - bad balance?). and i like the path of corporations idea :D. Well overall the author is a very spiritual person as reincarnation is a big thing in this game(and the religious ending). very inspirational.

ratboy2713 says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 5:20pm

I got stuck because I had a bunch of cities in a row and I couldn't move far enough to create another one. You should be able to live in another city so you can make progress like that.

saint11 says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 7:26pm

Awesome idea and great execution! Congratulations!

davidllanos22 says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 9:40pm

Awesome game! Loved everything!

CappaGames says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 9:54pm

Really good game. You guys should definitely continue on with this idea.

ilo says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 11:18pm

City planning - the future of mankind depends on it!

I must say, the idea of limited turns and descendants is really interesting, and the art and sound is very polished.

However, the theme or message of the game is a little confusing to me. The lack of any middle-ground seems to imply that spirituality and science are ultimately incompatible, that mankind can choose one and reject the other, but not survive happily in which which nurtures both.

dr_soda says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 5:08am

This was a great mechanic and a great take on the theme. I have to say though that I totally missed that I could press the R button while on a city. I didn't even know you could research until I came to the comment thread.

Jigxor says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 11:03am

Very unique and cool mechanic. Graphics were beautiful. Awesome game! :)

May 7, 2012 @ 5:16pm

@ilo Thanks for your kind words and a great thought, we meant to say that you can either concentrate on one thing and go for it, or not. The middle ground is the bad ending I guess, when you cannot progress enough. It's all pure nonsense and I advice to take it easy with the hardcore interpretations, although they are always encouraged, of course!

May 8, 2012 @ 3:26pm

Overall great experience! I love the music!

May 11, 2012 @ 8:46am

Ended up playing this a few times in the last few weeks but not scoring it -- I've no idea how, it's great. Good combination of optimisation & 4x.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]