April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

A Tenthlings Quest

by zenasprime - Jam Entry

The QuadraTron team was:

Idea & Design: Zenas Bellace, Travis Carter, and Christian Plummer
Programming: Zenas Bellace & Christian Plummer
Pixel Art: Travis Carter

Soundtrack provided by DeadBeatBlast, "Kiras Quest" & "This Might be the End" from the album Splatter Happy.

Our intention was to have our hero hacking his way through the innards of a giant who stomped on his village and ate his princess bride. Unfortunately we ran out of time and our destructible environments and enemies didn't get finished in time. Still, give it a good run through for the awesome 8bit style cut scenes and music. WASD to move and Arrow Keys to attack. Enjoy! :D

For more about us please visit our site at www.quadratron.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#12Audio(Jam)4.02
#15Theme(Jam)3.85
#47Humor(Jam)3.15
#48Graphics(Jam)4.04
#69Mood(Jam)3.27
#98Overall(Jam)3.21
#158Innovation(Jam)2.75
#167Fun(Jam)2.58

Comments

azurenimbus says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:21am

Hahaha, I didn't read before I clicked, so I was hacking away at that heart for a good five minutes or more.

I actually really enjoyed it, the opening was really stunning and I really wanted to see more of the game. Please finish it sometime.

Orni says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:22am

so many people confused tiny world with tiny person - I don't understand it , yours has a giant in it - so it's not as bad as in other games

concerning the game itself: brilliant opening and the music is just insanely good - graphics aren't to shabby either, liked the style

controls were also fine - overall a very good job
everybody should give this game a try

MrEvilGuy says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:29am

Brilliant idea! Too bad you didn't make it happen. The cutscenes were cool.

emongev says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:30am

Loved the graphics (although the ant seemed too real to be pixel art xD) and the cutscenes, but i think next maybe focus a bit more on the main game than the cutscenes, but nonetheless they were pure awesome. If you don't mind me asking, what did you use for the graphics on unity? or was it pure textures?

zenasprime says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:35am

Thanks guys. The awesome music was provide by DeadBeatBlast (www.deadbeatblast.com) I fixed the heart. There was an issue with loading the next scene. We're talking about trying to finish it off after we have a few days to recover. ;)

zenasprime says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:40am

@emongev: we imported textures create by Travis into unity for the hero and the enemies. Travis built the cutscenes in unity using some simple script for moving the scene pieces around.

zenasprime says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:42am

Also, the ant wasn't suppose to make it into the game... we had some multicolored blobs for enemies but at the last minute Christian realized that the ant's war running around instead. Ultimately our idea was to have the player hacking through destructible environment elements while avoiding the enemies all together.

MrBarnslig says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:12am

Wow, what an intro! You guys must have spent tons of time on that. It was really high production value. Wish that more time had been put into the game - I got to the princess in about two minutes, but it was really nice. The lighting really makes this game shine (no pun intended!)

zenasprime says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:19am

Thanks MrBarnslig. We learn a lot by doing these Jams so perhaps our next one we will do better with our time management. I suspect that after some rest we may try and finish up the game play. Stay tuned. :D

homnom says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:21am

'grats on making a complete game! Fun gross-outs realizing what I was doing to the giant.

Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:52pm

Lovely graphics! The gameplay was a bit wonky though :P it felt really freaky when you entered the giant through his toe nail xD
And my gawd I love DeadBeatBlast! ^^

johanp says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:52pm

Great intro and cut scenes. Gameplay was a bit shallow and could use some spicing up.

kutuup1989 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:57pm

Superb! The music really made it complete, only downside was its short length but what a game!

zenasprime says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:49pm

@Johanp & Kutuup Gameplay was indeed a bit shallow, if not lacking completely. We were all very pleased with Travis' art, however, and thus we wanted to submit what we had anyway. We will probably try and come back to finish up the game play in some fashion.

soy_yuma says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:34pm

Nice music and introduction! But as @kutuup1989 said I missed more adventure. It'll be great to have some more if you polish the gameplay.

FrederickK says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:01pm

I loved the music and liked the concept!

zenasprime says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:01pm

@Soy & Frederickk: Thanks :) You can find out more about the fellow who wrote the music on his webpage... http://www.deadbeatblast.com

CappaGames says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 11:58pm

I liked the intro.

Datamosh says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 8:44pm

Overall, looks really finished for a 48 hs. game! But it's really really short and, at least to me, presented no challenge at all. That being said, the intro was great. BUT the "room" with the big giant heart was straight AWESOME.

zenasprime says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 8:53pm

Thanks Datamosh. :D Unfortunately we didn't finish the game play element. Maybe in the future we will.

evilseanbot says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 1:20am

Fantastic intro. I was a little confused about what to do at the start until I just started knifing around.

gritfish says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 1:21am

The light showing through the skin was a great touch. Would have appreciated a sound during the intro screen (I cranked my speakers right up during that time). I was confused by the ants, but you've explained that in the comments.

Tourgen says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 3:33am

The destructible giant inards gameplay idea sounds cool and could be fun. the graphics and music were very good.

Ryusui says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 4:46am

Great idea - sorry you couldn't finish it in time. I had no idea you could make 2D games in Unity. The collision detection seems a bit spotty, though - were you supposed to be able to walk through walls like that? Also, the dark "blood vessel" area isn't much fun to navigate - the whole "claustrophobic dungeon crawl" feel clashes with the "lighthearted hack-and-slash" suggested by the intro.

dukope says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 4:50am

The gameplay's not really there, but great presentation. Intros, art, and music are all awesome.

davidpeter says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 5:40am

This was an interesting game! What would make it even better is better transitions between levels (it felt like it was transitioning too quickly).

JaJ says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 8:30am

Great mood and I liked the long cutscenes a lot. Combat could have been better (monsters kept running through you after you hit them), but there wern't that many enemies anyway.

tinymagus says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 10:55am

More than 80 games played so far, best intro yet.

moop says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 11:21am

Nice concept and looks and sounds great.

Jigxor says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 1:29pm

I really loved the concept of this and the concept of a "tenthling". The name of the game, and the intro cutscene made me laugh! The visuals were really nice and the gameplay was pretty fun, even without the destructible environments. The music was also very cool.

You should definitely add in the features that you wanted to, and make a post-jam version.

Overall, awesome job! I enjoyed that a lot.

dr_soda says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 5:48pm

I was a big fan of the lighting effects you have in this game, and of the cutscenes and sound effects. A lot of polish there! Unfortunately it did come at the cost of an actual game. I was mystified by the ants, and was frustrated by the fact that you and the enemies simply pass through each other. It makes them deadlier than they probably should be.

I'd say you could drop the concept of separate sentient enemies and simply have the game be nothing but avoiding the hazards in the giant's body as is.

Apr 29, 2012 @ 8:49pm

Wonderful opening sequence, great visual aesthetics, catchy music and fine controls. Quite enjoyable. Out of curiosity, did you use an existing 2D library for Unity or did you roll your own? I'm wondering because your lighting was very well-done.

pawlmurray says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 9:59pm

Great graphics and music.

A couple of small complaints about gameplay however. Collisions with enemies should give the player some invincibility frames and it should give a little knock back as well in my opinion.

Great game

vipah says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 12:00am

Great music and graphics. Good presentation. A little short as I finished it in one life and under 5 mins. All in all a good effort and enjoyable.

zenasprime says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 4:39am

Wow, thanks for all the feedback folks! :D If the team is able to get together in the near future we may try and fix some of the issue mentioned in the replies.

@Julian - I modified an animation script I had written for an earlier game. Basically we change the texture offset depending on what frame of animation we want to use. All the game objects are textured Unity planes.

May 10, 2012 @ 8:03pm

That was WEIRD!!! I loved it! Amazing tunes :D

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]