April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Tiny Visitor

by 01010111 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

[INSTRUCTIONS!]
SPACE - enter Levels, Skip cutscenes, JUMP
LEFT/RIGHT - Move

This is my first entry to LD! I started off way too ambitious, and the end product isn't as glorious as I envisioned, but I the game is playable to the end - through 9 stages and two boss fights!

There are a lot of feature that I really want to come back to, like .XMs for music, better sound effects, slicker Boss fights, better animation, and the list goes on...at first I thought "Maybe I could do all of this for a Jam entry" - but then I realized that in 72 hours I would find another 24 hours worth of things to add.

I used Flashdevelop, Flixel*, Flixel Power Tools*, TweenLite*, FLStudio, Famitracker, Photoshop and DAME making this.

*(required to build source)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#22Audio3.90
#42Graphics4.14
#152Mood3.22
#155Overall3.47
#178Fun3.27
#361Humor2.36
#450Theme3.00
#839Innovation1.95

Comments

Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:19pm

Link not working?

davidllanos22 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:20pm

Nice art and smooth controls, well done!

Sanguine says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:23pm

I really like the music and the graphics, really amazing for just 48 hours! I don't think the game is really innovative though

23 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:25pm

Beautiful graphics! I also enjoyed the music and level design.

It was kind of weird that I didn't know how much health I had left, though.

The ant animation was particularly fun, and I'm surprised you managed to fit in so many levels. Good stuff!

yanmania says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:25pm

Really loved the graphics, music and animation. Very cute. Perhaps add something to collect if you keep working on it?

Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:43pm

YES! Freaking love it! Music is fantastic. Well done!

De10ter says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:03pm

Very slick.

Magnega says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:04pm

Great job and great graphics!

bms says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:05pm

Really nicely done, music, art.. one of my favorites

smvilar says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:06pm

Loved the moonwalking ants!!

kddekadenz says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:07pm

Remembers me really at CaveStory.
And you seem to robbed the melodie of one track from the song 'The Final Countdown'.
But I enjoyed playing it.

stromchin says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:09pm

I wish I could draw like you :(

marudziik says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:20pm

Didn't work for me in Firefox: after a while I could hear short music loop and that's all. Then I clicked "play flah in the full screen", I saw a star field just for a fraction of second... and still doesn't work (flash movie not loaded). I tried downloading the file and other stuff, but nothing helped. Download link gave me error message, so I figure there is something wrong with the server: I tried to play other games there - they work but only when fullscreen. Damn, I wanted to see those beautiful graphics in action.

Andrew says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:33pm

Great art and music but jumping some gaps seems much more frustrating than it should be.

Danik says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:40pm

That's very impressive! I love the cutscenes, especially the one where he drops off a cliff and you realise how tiny he is. That was funny.

When you die at the second boss, you have to play the last level over again, which is annoying.

Music is awesomely retro, graphics are nice.

Not innovative, but a very solid entry!

01010111 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:47pm

Thanks everyone! For people that have had problems on MegaSWF I've uploaded the SWF to NewGrounds, I've never had trouble with them in the past.

marudziik says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:53pm

Thanks, Newgrounds link works for me. The graphics are indeed awesome, music too. Great entry.

ncannasse says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:14pm

Enjoyed it ! Nicely timed / balanced !

d_durham says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:36pm

Very nicely presented simple platformer with lots of content and well balanced.

kylerhoades says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:14am

That was totally sweet! Nice work, man.

sharbelfs says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:36am

Really good game!

jerombd says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:56pm

A nice classic platformer! I wish you put more enemies, sometimes the levels look empty; by the way, did you make the chiptunes ('cause they are all great)?

agnulf says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:20pm

Love it! Where can I get the music :D?

01010111 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:16pm

Here's a link to the two main music tracks. They're pretty unfinished since I had no time for guitar solos and the like :)
http://www.mediafire.com/?1nmx91kf0t0cq4c

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:08am

Amazing! Simply Amazing!

seagaia says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:36am

Digging the Chicago.

Kharza says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:52am

I'm so terrible at platformers, but like the movement and pretty art

Orni says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:54pm

very classic experience - sound and art design is very charming

cutscenes are great too

Keirua says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:51pm

Rah, you clearly have a lot of imagination and a great talent for making pretty pixels, but why, WHY ?!? Why did you make such a classic plateformer ?..
Anyway the game is really complete, good and consistent, not too easy/not too hard, and quite old school (yeah, maybe that's the reason).
I'm impressed by your talent anyway.

castor says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:43pm

Super cool game.

ratboy2713 says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:41pm

Is that a rendition of 25 or 6 to 4? I'm not entirely sure that is strict to the rules.

Either way, fun little platformer. Simple, but that isn't necessarily a bad thing.

CuberToy says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 5:59am

Just really great.

Pierrec says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:50am

Funny! At first I thought I were on the top of somebody's head. The moonwalking ants are the best! ^^

Pixelulsar says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 11:55pm

cool. I really loved the graphics in the first stage, and the music.

bytegrove says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 1:24pm

Really nice music, some of the graphics and animations could do with some polish though. Killing enemies was a little finicky in my opinion, sometimes I got hurt even if I jumped on their heads, and sometimes I managed to kill them even though I hit them from the side, at least, that's the impression I got. Maybe try making the main character jump higher or make the enemies smaller and the hitboxes a bit larger than pixel perfect.
Really impressive work for 48 hours, though! Could have some potential should you choose to expand upon it. :)

edbadiux says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 7:06pm

A little bit to easy but overall great. Looks and feels polished, great job =).

jim3wg says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 11:20am

Mignon !

Sodaware says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 5:28pm

Nice graphics and idea, although I would have liked to see a little more added to the gameplay (powerups or abilities). Collision detection was a little picky at times, but otherwise this is a really solid entry with some great potential.

pizzalicious says ...
Jul 10, 2012 @ 3:57am

awesome game!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]